WSR: Oliver Rowland sets new win record at Jerez

© Renault Sport

He may already have been crowned the 2015 Formula Renault 3.5 champion, but Oliver Rowland showed few signs of slowing down on Saturday as he claimed a record-breaking eighth win of the season at Jerez.

Rowland followed in the footsteps of Carlos Sainz Jr, Kevin Magnussen and Mikhail Aleshin by winning the World Series by Renault’s flagship series last time out at Le Mans, easing the pressure for the final round of the season.

Pole position went to Tom Dillmann, and the Frenchman led the first half of the race from Rowland and Egor Orudzhev before a puncture caused him to drop down the order.

Having inherited the lead, Rowland duly controlled proceedings at the front of the pack for the remaining 13 laps before crossing the line to claim his eighth win of the year.

The result sees Rowland break Sainz’s existing record of seven wins in a single season from 2014, and extends his championship lead over Matthieu Vaxiviere to 70 points after the Frenchman finished third on track.

“Qualifying was tricky with two red flags that really came at the wrong time and a trip to the pits with a minor problem,” Rowland said. “The performance was there and I knew that if the rain stopped, the tires would suffer.

“We were conservative with the set-ups so that we could be strong late in the race and on lap two, I saw that Tom Dillmann’s tires were already suffering from graining. I have won at every meeting this year, except Monaco. I really hope to finally score the double tomorrow!”

McLaren youngster Nyck de Vries finished fourth ahead of Tio Ellinas and Jazeman Jaafar, while Nicholas Latifi ended the race in seventh. Andre Negrao, Roy Nissany and Yu Kanamaru rounded out the points in positions eight-to-ten respectively.

IndyCar releases schedule for 2023 season

IndyCar schedule 2023
Douglas Stringer/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

The NTT IndyCar Series’ 2023 schedule will feature the same number of races and tracks as this season with some minor reshuffling of dates.

IndyCar will open the 2023 season March 5 on the streets of St. Petersburg, Florida, and will conclude Sept. 10 at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca in Monterey, California. The 107th Indy 500 will take place May 28 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

The 17-race schedule will conclude with a stretch of eight races in the final nine weeks.

“The NTT IndyCar Series is on an impactful upward trajectory, making progress at a pace that befits our thrilling style of competition,” Penske Entertainment Corp. president and CEO Mark Miles said in a release. “The 2023 season provides an opportunity to further build on this trend, bringing our sport and its stars to more markets and households and reaching new consumers across the globe.”

There will be 15 events on NBC: 13 races (including six of the final seven) plus Indy 500 qualifying May 20-21. There also are three races on USA Network and the Toronto race exclusively on Peacock. All races on NBC and USA also will have live simulstreams on Peacock.

In partnership with NBC Sports, the 2022 IndyCar season was the most-watched in six years and the most-watched across NBC Sports on record. The 2022 season also was the most streamed season on record.

“We’re very excited for our 2023 NTT IndyCar Series schedule and to build on this past season’s viewership milestones,” NBC Sports vice president of programming Mike Perman said in a release. “In providing comprehensive coverage across NBC, Peacock and USA Network, NBC Sports is once again looking forward to telling the stories of these world-class drivers and this compelling series.”

Notable elements on the 2023 schedule:

–There will be the same balance of seven road course races, five street courses and five ovals.

–St. Pete will be the season opener for the 13th time.

–The Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix will move from Belle Isle to the streets of downtown.

–The NASCAR doubleheader weekend at the IMS road course will shift to mid-August.

–The World Wide Technology Raceway event will move from Saturday to Sunday.

Start times for the 2023 events will be announced at a later date.

Here’s the 2023 IndyCar schedule:

Date Race/Track Network/Platform
Sun., March 5 Streets of St. Petersburg NBC, Peacock
Sun., April 2 Texas Motor Speedway NBC, Peacock
Sun., April 16 Streets of Long Beach NBC, Peacock
Sun., April 30 Barber Motorsports Park NBC, Peacock
Sat., May 13 Indianapolis Motor Speedway (Road Course) NBC, Peacock
Sun., May 28 The 107th Indianapolis 500 NBC, Peacock
Sun., June 4 Streets of Detroit NBC, Peacock
Sun., June 18 Road America USA Network, Peacock
Sun., July 2 Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course USA Network, Peacock
Sun., July 16 Streets of Toronto Peacock
Sat., July 22 Iowa Speedway – Race 1 NBC, Peacock
Sun., July 23 Iowa Speedway – Race 2 NBC, Peacock
Sun., Aug. 6 Streets of Nashville NBC, Peacock
Sat., Aug. 12 Indianapolis Motor Speedway (Road Course) USA Network, Peacock
Sun., Aug. 27 World Wide Technology Raceway NBC, Peacock
Sun., Sept. 3 Portland International Raceway NBC, Peacock
Sun., Sept. 10 WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca NBC, Peacock

*dates and networks/platforms are subject to change