WSR: De Vries wins last ever Formula Renault 3.5 race

© Renault Sport

McLaren junior driver Nyck de Vries claimed the final win of the 2015 Formula Renault 3.5 season and of the championship itself ahead of its rebrand for next year.

Renault will no longer promote and run the series from 2016, handing control over to RPM Racing when it will become Formula 3.5.

Series champion Oliver Rowland started Sunday’s finale at Jerez on pole position, but a mistake on the first lap handed the lead to de Vries after the Dutchman made a flying start from third on the grid.

Rowland managed to rise up into second place after getting the undercut on Matthieu Vaxiviere and Egor Orudzhev, and closed up on de Vries at the front when a safety car period eradicated his ten second lead.

De Vries managed to control the gap to Rowland in the closing stages after the race restarted before crossing the line to record his first victory of the season with DAMS.

Rowland finished 2.5 seconds behind de Vries, narrowly edging out series vice-champion Matthieu Vaxiviere for second place at the line. The result saw Rowland pass the 300-point barrier and end the season with an advantage of 73 over Vaxiviere.

In other news, RPM has published the provisional calendar for the 2016 Formula 3.5 Series season:

April 16-17 Aragon, Spain
April 23-24 Hungaroring, Hungary
May 21-22 Spa-Francorchamps, Belgium
June 25-26 Paul Ricard, France
July 23-24 Silverstone, Great Britain
September 10-11 Red Bull Ring, Austria
October 1-2 Monza, Italy
October 29-30 Barcelona, Spain
November 5-6 Jerez, Spain

Kyle Larson wins High Limit Sprint race at Tri-City Speedway ahead of Rico Abreu

Larson High Limit Tri-City
High Limit Sprint Car Series

A late race caution set up a 14-lap shootout at Tri-City Speedway in Granite City, Illinois with Kyle Larson winning his second consecutive High Limit Sprint Car Series race over Rico Abreu.

Starting eight on the grid after a disappointing pole dash, Larson missed several major incidents as he worked his way to the front. On Lap 1 of 35, a five-car accident claimed Tyler Courtney and Michael “Buddy” Kofoid, who both took a tumble and before collecting three other cars. Once that red flag was lifted, it didn’t take long for drivers to get tangled again as the leader Danny Dietrich experienced engine trouble on Lap 8. When he slowed rapidly, second-place Brent Marks collided with his back tire, ending the day for both.

Larson moved up to fourth with this incident.

Another red flag on Lap 21 for a flip involving Parker Price-Miller set up the dash for the win.

“My car felt really good and then we got that red,” Larson said from victory lane. “I was kind of running through the crumbs before that in 3 and 4; I could tell the top was getting really sketchy. Parker was making mistakes up there.

“When the red came out, I could see there was a clean lane of grip – not just marbles. It’s hard to see when you’re at speed. I figured Rico was going to run the top and he did. I got to his inside a couple of times and I was like ‘please don’t go to the bottom,’ and I threw a slider on him. Then he went to the bottom and I thought I was screwed until he spun his tires really bad off the corner and I was able to hit the top okay and get another run and slide him. I got good grip off the cushion.”

The victory makes Larson the first repeat winner in the series’ five-race history. He beat Justin Sanders earlier this month at Wayne County Speedway in Orrville, Ohio.

With 10 laps remaining, Larson caught and pressured Abreu. The two threw a series of sliders at one another until Abreu bobbled on the cushion and lost momentum.

“Anytime you race Rico and he’s on the wall like that, you have to get aggressive,” Larson said. “He’s pushing so hard that just to stay in the striking zone if he makes a mistake, you have to push hard too.”

For Abreu, it was his second near-miss this season. He was leading at Lakeside in the 2023 opener until a tire went flat in the closing laps.

“I felt like I made a lot of mistakes at the end,” Abreu said. “It’s just hard to judge race pace. You’ve got Kyle behind you and [Anthony] Macri and these guys that have had speed all year long. I was racing as hard as I could and the mistake factor is more and more critical.”

Cory Eliason earned his career-best High Limit finish of third after starting deep in the field in 13th.

Macri lost one position during the race to finish fourth with Sam Hafertepe, Jr. rounding out the top five.

Visiting from the NASCAR Cup series, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. finished 19th in the 25-car field after advancing from the B-Main.

2023 High Limit Sprint Car Series

Race 1: Giovanni Scelzi wins at Lakeside Speedway
Race2: Anthony Macri wins at 34 Raceway
Race 3: Kyle Larson wins at Wayne County Speedway