WATCH LIVE: United States GP from 2:30 p.m. ET on NBC

AP
1 Comment

AUSTIN, Texas – The stage is set for the potential championship-deciding round of the 2015 Formula 1 World Championship, in what is bound to be at least a partially wet United States Grand Prix from Circuit of The Americas.

You can watch it all, LIVE, on NBC and NBC Sports Live Extra (f1stream.nbcsports.com for participating cable providers) from 2:30 p.m. ET (1:30 p.m. CT and local time) from Austin.

Pre-race will be a half hour with the race coverage running for the next two hours, from lights out at 3 p.m. ET (2 p.m. CT) through to 5 p.m. ET. F1 Extra then takes over at 5 p.m. ET (4 p.m. CT) for another hour to run until 6 p.m. ET (5 p.m. CT).

Leigh Diffey, David Hobbs and Steve Matchett have the call with Will Buxton in the pits – all four on-site here in Austin.

The rain has dominated the weekend proceedings thus far and while the grid isn’t jumbled too much at the front of the field, the likes of Infiniti Red Bull Racing’s Daniel Ricciardo and Daniil Kvyat in third and fourth and the two Sahara Force India drivers Sergio Perez and Nico Hulkenberg in fifth and sixth have the potential to spice things up, with absolutely nothing to lose.

But up front, Lewis Hamilton will clinch his third World Championship if he outscores Mercedes AMG Petronas teammate Nico Rosberg by two points and Scuderia Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel by nine.

The full points possibilities breakdown of the top three drivers going into Austin is linked below:

Fin. 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
P # Driver Nat. Car Pts 25 18 15 12 10 8 6 4 2 1
1 44 Lewis Hamilton GB Mercedes 302 327 320 317 314 312 310 308 306 304 303
2 5 Sebastian Vettel GER Ferrari 236 261 254 251 248 246 244 242 240 238 237
3 6 Nico Rosberg GER Mercedes 229 254 247 244 241 239 237 235 233 231 230

Again, that’s 2:30 p.m. ET on NBC and Live Extra for all the coverage from Austin for today’s United States Grand Prix.

Malcolm Stewart sidelined from Supercross by knee surgery for ‘extended duration’

0 Comments

The knee injury that kept Malcolm Stewart from mounting up for Anaheim 2 will require surgery and he will be sidelined for “an extended duration” of the Monster Energy Supercross season, according to the Rockstar Energy Husqvarna team.

“I just wanted to give you guys an update,” Stewart said on Instagram. “It’s not the news you guys want to hear, but I took a spill last week and hurt my knee pretty bad to the point that we’re going to have to get surgery done.

“I’m definitely bummed out about it; I felt we were riding pretty good and were just now starting to get the ball rolling, but it is what it is.”

Stewart’s season started with high expectations until accidents in the first two rounds left him 15th in the standings.

He ended 2022 on a high note, finishing a career high third in the Supercross standings. He then missed the start of the Pro Motocross season with another knee injury.

The 2023 season appeared to live up to his expectations. Despite back-to-back accidents, Stewart contended for podiums at both Anaheim 1 and San Diego. He won his heat at San Diego.

“It was very tough to receive the news that Malcolm will need to undergo knee surgery,” Nathan Ramsey, Team Manager for the Husqvarna team said in a press release. “He has worked so hard to be in a position to win races this year and I truly believe he was ready.

“The Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing program will support him in every way that we can through his recovery and we can’t wait to get him back on track and back at the races.”

Stewart joins 250 rider Jalek Swoll on the sidelines after he broke an arm in a practice session. Swoll will be relieved by Talon Hawkins beginning this week at Houston, Texas.

A replacement rider has not been announced for Stewart, which means the focus shifts to his 450 teammate Christian Craig, who currently sits 12th in the standings with three top-15s in the opening rounds.