IndyCar drivers sound off on Kenseth vs. Logano, Gordon’s win in dramatic NASCAR race


The beauty, perhaps, of the Verizon IndyCar Series schedule ending when it does is that it frees up the field of drivers to watch – and comment – on NASCAR Sprint Cup Series action.

So naturally, when Matt Kenseth appeared to intentionally retaliate versus Joey Logano – and if we’re honest, the use of “appeared” is to just be journalistically sound and polite – some IndyCar folks weighed in with some opinions.

Here’s some of the thoughts.

Naturally, Team Penske drivers felt fairly aggrieved that their NASCAR teammate, Logano, got wrecked out.

Will Power expressed his thoughts without the infamous “double bird:”

Juan Pablo Montoya’s wife Connie offered this nugget:

NBCSN IndyCar analyst and IMSA GT Daytona class champion Townsend Bell noted how frustrating it gets when your right front tire goes down… allegedly… as Kenseth said during his post-race interview.

Marco Andretti opened it up to the fans in asking their opinions of the contretemps.

Meanwhile, James Hinchcliffe and Josef Newgarden made some astute observations about race winner Jeff Gordon adding another grandfather clock to his collection.

Jo Shimoda joins Seth Hammaker, Austin Forkner on injured list; Musquin remains out

Shimoda injured
Feld Motor Sports/MX Sports Pro Racing/Align Media

Bad news continues to come out of the Monster Energy / Pro Circuit Kawasaki team as they announced Jo Shimoda injured his shoulder in a practice session and will not mount up when the Monster Energy Supercross 250 East division opens in Houston, Texas on February 4. A timetable has not been given for Shimoda’s return, but a press release from the team references multiple weeks.

“I’m doing my best to focus forward on my return to racing,” said Shimoda in the release. “Our goal was to compete for the 250 Supercross Eastern Regional Championship and I know we had been doing the right work to make that happen. Unfortunately, this crash will cause me to miss the start of the season, but I still aim to be back on the track racing for wins before the end of Supercross.”

Shimoda is joined on the sidelines by teammates Seth Hammaker and Austin Forkner, who also suffered injuries in recent weeks.

The news of Hammaker’s sidelining came just two days ago. His wrist injury is sufficient to require surgery, so he too will miss multiple weeks. Hammaker was scheduled to compete in the 250 East division alongside Shimoda.

Forkner was involved in a Lap 1 crash in the 250 West season opener at Anaheim. Multiple injuries, including an ACL tear, will sideline him for the remainder of the season. He described the injury and its aftermath on Instagram.

Forkner will be relieved by Carson Mumford, but not before that rider’s wrist has healed sufficiently. He is scheduled to debut with Kawasaki in Oakland for the rescheduled Round 2 Supercross race on February 18.

Shimoda finished fourth in the 2022 Supercross 250 West division and was second in 2021 points in 250 East. In 2021, Shimoda won his first Supercross race at Salt Lake City. Last year, he scored one podium and six top-fives in nine starts.

Shimoda finished second in last year’s outdoor Lucas Oil Pro Motocross season, where he added two more SuperMotocross wins including the Unadilla Nationals that kicked off a four-race streak of first- or second-place results.

Kawasaki is not the only team facing injury. Red Bull KTM initially reported Marvin Musquin would be out for the San Diego round with a wrist injury and “maybe more”. This week it was announced he will miss this week’s Triple Crown race in Anaheim and “at least the next several rounds.”