Tost: Toro Rosso to retain Verstappen, Sainz for 2016

© Getty Images
1 Comment

Franz Tost has confirmed that Toro Rosso will retain both Max Verstappen and Carlos Sainz Jr. for the 2016 Formula 1 season relying that the team is on the grid.

Toro Rosso’s future has been cast into doubt along with that of parent team Red Bull due to the marque’s ongoing engine saga.

Red Bull had been keen to cut ties with current supplier Renault at the end of the year due to the sub-standard power units that the French manufacturer has provided since the beginning of the V6 turbo era.

However, the team now looks poised to continue with Renault power units in 2016, albeit unbadged or running under a different brand.

Toro Rosso is set to change supplier for 2016 after Ferrari agreed to supply Red Bull’s B-team with 2015-spec power units.

Speaking on Friday in Brazil, team principal Tost said that relying Toro Rosso is on the grid, it will be keeping both Verstappen and Sainz following their impressive rookie seasons.

“If the team is on the starting grid then I consider that both of them will be the drivers of Toro Rosso, because so far they have done a very good job and of course we want to keep them,” Tost said.

When asked about Toro Rosso’s future, Tost added: “It’s not decided yet. We will see. I’m convinced, optimistic, that this will be the case.”

Earlier this week, Red Bull team boss Christian Horner was forced to issue a ‘hands off’ warning to other teams following speculation about Max Verstappen’s future under the marque’s umbrella.

Verstappen, 18, is poised to finish as 2015’s top rookie, and has already been linked with a possible move away from Toro Rosso.

“I’m not going to go into details of their contractual status,” Horner is quoted as saying by BBC Sport.

“But rival teams are speaking to the wrong people if they’re talking to the driver as the driver has a contract.”

Final 2023 Rolex 24 at Daytona results, stats


DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. — The 2023 Rolex 24 at Daytona overall results were all streaks: two consecutive victories in the endurance classic for Meyer Shank Racing and three in a row for Acura.

And Helio Castroneves became the second driver to win three consecutive Rolex 24s and the first to win in three straight years (Peter Gregg won in 1973, ’75 and ’76; the race wasn’t held in ’74 because of a global oil crisis).

Starting from the pole position, Tom Blomqvist took the checkered flag in the No. 60 ARX-06 that led a race-high 365 of 783 laps with co-drivers Castroneves, Simon Pagenaud and Colin Braun.

RESULTS: Click here for the finishing order in the 61st Rolex 24 at Daytona l By class

Meyer Shank Racing now has two Rolex 24 victories and the 2022 championship since entering the premier prototype category of the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship in 2021.

“I think what’s so special about this team is we are a small team compared to some of our opponents, but the atmosphere, the way we work, enables people to get the best out of themselves, and I think that’s why we’re such high achievers,” Blomqvist said. “I think there’s no egos. It’s a very open book, and that just enables each and every one of us to reach our potential. I think that’s why we’ve achieved so much success in really a short time at this level of competition.”

It’s the 16th IMSA victory for MSR.

The 61st running of the Rolex 24 at Daytona marked the debut of the Grand Touring Prototype category that brought hybrid engine technology to IMSA’s top level.

In other categories:

LMP2: James Allen passed Ben Hanley on the final lap and delivered a victory in the No. 55 ORECA by 0.016 seconds. It’s the second IMSA victory for Proton Competition, which last won at Sebring in 2012. It was the first Rolex 24 victory for Allen and co-drivers Gianmaria Bruni, Fred Poordad and Francesco Pizzi.

GTD Pro: Cooper MacNeil won in the last start of his IMSA career as the No. 79 Mercedes-AMG GT3 scored the first Rolex 24 at Daytona for WeatherTech Racing and the team’s fourth career victory.

MacNeil, who co-drove with Maro Engel, Jules Gounon and Daniel Juncadella, earned his 12th career victory and first at the Rolex 24.

“Winning by last IMSA race is tremendous,” MacNeil said.

GTD: The No. 27 Heart of Racing Team delivered the first Rolex 24 at Daytona for Aston Martin, which has been competing in endurance races at Daytona International Speedway since 1964. Drivers Marco Sorensen, Roman De Angelis, Darren Turner and Ian James (also the team principal) earned the victory in the English brand’s 13th attempt.

It’s also the first Rolex 24 at Daytona win for Heart of Racing, which has seven IMSA wins.

LMP3: Anthony Mantella, Wayne Boyd, Nico Varrone and Thomas Merrill drove the No. 17 AWA Duqueine D08 to victory by 12 laps for the team’s first class win in IMSA.


Fastest laps by driver

Fastest laps by driver after race (over the weekend)

Fastest laps by driver and class after race

Fastest lap sequence

Lap chart

Leader sequence

Race analysis by lap

Stint analysis

Time cards

Pit stop time cards

Best sector times

Race distance and speed average

Flag analysis

Weather report

NEXT: The 2023 IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship season will resume with the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring March 18 with coverage across NBC, USA and Peacock.