2016 FIA WEC calendar approved by WMSC


The calendar for the 2016 FIA World Endurance Championship season has been approved by the World Motor Sport Council following its latest meeting.

On Wednesday, the FIA issued a statement on behalf of the WMSC regarding a number of issues across all of the championships which it governs, including a number of changes in Formula 1.

WEC officials confirmed a provisional nine-race calendar for the 2016 season at the 6 Hours of COTA in Austin, Texas in September, adding Mexico City to the existing schedule.

This has now been rubber-stamped by the WMSC, confirming the calendar and also approving “technical measures proposed by the Endurance Commission to make the FIA World Endurance Championship more appealing for new manufacturers to enter in the LMP1 category.

“These include regulations around ICEs, hybrid systems, aerodynamics, wind tunnel use and track test limitations.”

An additional note reads: “To continue the improvement of the safety of GT cars, the installation of racing nets homologated to FIA standard 8863-2013 will be mandatory in LMGTE cars to restrict the range of movement of a driver in the case of an accident. This measure has already been applied to GT3 cars.”

Unlike the doubts over F1’s return to the United States next year, the WEC will certainly be heading back to the Circuit of The Americas in Austin, Texas, fixed for the Lone Star Le Mans weekend on September 17.

2016 FIA World Endurance Championship calendar

1. 6 Hours of Silverstone (Great Britain) – April 17
2. 6 Hours of Spa (Belgium) – May 7
3. 24 Hours of Le Mans (France) – June 18-19
4. 6 Hours of Nürburgring (Germany) – July 24
5. 6 Hours of Mexico (Mexico) – September 3
6. 6 Hours of Circuit of The Americas (USA) – September 17
7. 6 Hours of Fuji (Japan) – October 16
8. 6 Hours of Shanghai (China) – November 6
9. 6 Hours of Bahrain (Bahrain) – November 19

Meyer Shank Racing wins Petit Le Mans to take final DPi championship in dramatic finale


Meyer Shank Racing outdueled Wayne Taylor Racing to win the Petit Le Mans and clinch the championship in a thrilling final race for the DPi division.

Tom Blomqvist, who started from the pole position, drove the No. 60 Acura ARX-05 to a 4.369-second victory over Pipo Derani in the No. 31 Action Express Cadillac.

“That was incredible,” Blomqvist told NBC Sports’ Matt Yocum. “I’ve never dug so deep in my life. The adrenaline. I did that for the guys. I was so motivated to win this thing this weekend. But I’ve got to thank everyone on the whole team.”

With co-drivers Oliver Jarvis and Helio Castroneves, Blomqvist helped MSR bookend its season-opening victory in the Rolex 24 at Daytona by winning Saturday’s IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship season finale at Michelin Road Atlanta.

In between those two victories, the No. 60 earned five runner-up finishes to stay in the thick of the championship hunt and trail WTR’s No. 10 Acura by 14 points entering Saturday’s race.

WTR’s Filipe Albuquerque had a lead of more than 10 seconds over Blomqvist with less than 50 minutes remaining in the 10-hour race.

But a Turn 1 crash between the Chip Ganassi Racing Cadillacs brought out a yellow that sent both Acuras into the pits from the top two positions.

Though he entered in second, Blomqvist barely beat Albuquerque out of the pits, and he held the lead for the final 45 minutes.

Blomqvist said he gained the lead because of a shorter fuel fill after he had worked on being efficient in the second-to-last stint.

“The team asked a big job of me with the fuel; I had a big fuel number to hit,” Blomqvist said. “We knew that was probably our only chance. The yellow came at the right time and obviously we had a bit less fuel to fill up, so I was able to jump him and then it was just a matter of going gung-ho and not leaving anything on the line. And obviously, the opposition had to try too hard to make it work. I’m so thankful.”

Albuquerque closed within a few car lengths of Blomqvist with 14 minutes remaining, but he damaged his suspension because of contact with a GT car in Turn 1.

It’s the first prototype championship for Meyer Shank Racing, which also won the 2021 Indy 500 with Castroneves.

“We’ve had in the last four years, three championships for Acura, the Indy 500 win and the Rolex 24, it doesn’t get any better,” team co-owner Mike Shank told NBC Sports’ Kevin Lee.

It’s the third consecutive runner-up finish in the points standings for Wayne Taylor Racing, which won the first Daytona Prototype international championship in 2017. The premier category will be rebranded as the Grand Touring Prototype (GTP) class with the LMDh cars that will establish a bridge to racing in the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

Kamui Kobayashi finished third in the No. 48 Cadillac of Action Express that also includes Jimmie Johnson and Mike Rockenfeller.

The podium showing marked Johnson’s last scheduled race in IMSA’s top prototype division. The seven-time NASCAR Cup Series champion has raced in the No. 48 Ally Cadillac lineup as the Action Express entry has run the Endurance Cup races.

Johnson said a lack of inventory will preclude him having a 2023 ride in the top category. But he still is hopeful of racing the Garage 56 Next Gen Camaro in next year’s 24 Hours of Le Mans and possibly running in a lower class for the Rolex 24 at Daytona.

“I’d love to be at Le Mans next year,” Johnson told NBC Sports’ Dillon Welch after his final stint Saturday. “I’d love to be at the Rolex 24. The series is going through a shake-up with the reconfiguration of the rules and classes, so I don’t have anything locked down yet, but I’m so thankful for this experience with Action. The support Ally has given us, Mr. Hendrick, Chad Knaus, all of Hendrick Motorsports. It’s been a fun two years, and I certainly hope I’m on the grid again next year.”