#MRTI: 2016 Silly Season Update 1

Photo: Indianapolis Motor Speedway, LLC Photography

Here’s a look at where things sit in the respective Mazda Road to Indy series – Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires, Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires and Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda – for a look at what could be their grids in the 2016 seasons.

There’s plenty more cars and teams that will be announced¬†in the new year, but here’s who is set for the time being going into the Christmas holiday.

Indy Lights

Juncos Racing – Zachary Claman Demelo, Kyle Kaiser
Schmidt Peterson Motorsports – R.C. Enerson
Andretti Autosport – Shelby Blackstock, Dalton Kellett
Carlin – Ed Jones
Belardi Auto Racing – Zach Veach (at least start of year, goal for full season)
Pelfrey – Two cars, drivers TBD

Additional testers include:
Juncos Racing – Jose Gutierrez
Schmidt Peterson Motorsports – Santiago Urrutia, James French (confirmed for Road America), Heamin Choi
McCormack Racing – Davey Hamilton Jr.

Pro Mazda

Juncos Racing – Will Owen, Nicolas Dapero, Jake Parsons, Garett Grist

Additional testers include:
Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing – Nico Jamin
M1 Racing – Max Hanratty, James Dayson, Tristan DeGrand, Jay Horak
World Speed Motorsports – Bobby Eberle
JDC Motorsports – Kevin Davis
Team Pelfrey – Pato O’Ward, Henrique Baptista, Aaron Telitz


Team Pelfrey – Robert Megennis, Jordan Cane
Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing – Parker Thompson
RJB Motorsports – Michai Stephens, Clint McMahan
Pabst Racing – Garth Rickards
JAY Motorsports – Driver TBA
ArmsUp Motorsports – Drivers TBA

Additional testers include:
Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing – Nikita Lastochkin, TJ Fischer, Rinus Van Kalmthout
Swan Racing – Max Mallinen
Afterburner Autosport – Trenton Estep, Kyle Kirkwood, Sting Ray Robb, Rinus Van Kalmthout, Dakota Dickerson, Oliver Askew, Chase Owen
JDC Motorsports – Cameron Hill, Tazio Ottis
Pabst Racing – Aaron Telitz, Yufeng Luo
JCR Motorsports – Andres Gutierrez
Team Pelfrey – Chase Pelletier, TJ Fischer