NHRA: Vote for your top 5 Funny Car drivers in 2016 (Poll)

(Photo courtesy NHRA)

Sunday, we began a four-day series of reader polls on who will be YOUR top 5 drivers in NHRA’s four national professional series in 2016.

We started with Pro Stock Motorcycle riders, and then focused on Pro Stock drivers on Monday.

Today, we move into the third day of voting and who will be your top 5 drivers in Funny Car in 2016.

The Funny Car class in 2015 was anything but funny. It was a tight battle for much of the season between Del Worsham, “Fast Jack” Beckman, Tommy Johnson Jr. and Ron Capps — with Worsham ultimately winning the championship by just 56 points over his fellow southern Californian.

By winning, Worsham became only the third driver (others were Kenny Bernstein and Gary Scelzi) in NHRA history to win championships in both Nitro classes, namely, Funny Car and Top Fuel.

On the opposite end of the spectrum 2014 champ Matt Hagan and 16-time champ John Force both struggled (finished 5th and 7th, respectively) in the six-race Countdown to the Championship, as did other former champions including Robert Hight (6th) and Cruz Pedregon (9th).

One other thing of note: former FC champ Tony Pedregon has hung up his firesuit. But he’ll still be at all the races in 2016 in a new role as an analyst on Fox Sports and Fox Sports 1 telecasts of the 24-race NHRA national event schedule.

Ok, it’s time to put on your thinking cap and vote for YOUR top 5 drivers in Funny Car for 2016:

Follow @JerryBonkowski