Roar Before the Rolex 24 entry features IndyCar, NASCAR stars

Getty Images
1 Comment

When January rolls around, so too does the Rolex 24 at Daytona – among the racing highlights of the year and a perfect kickoff to the North American road racing schedule for a new season.

The timing is usually such that besides the regulars, who you get to see for the rest of the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, there’s always a high volume of IndyCar and NASCAR stars moonlighting for a cameo appearance.

As such, with the official release of the 2016 Roar Before the Rolex 24 entry list on Monday, the 2016 field is no exception.

These drivers competed in at least one Verizon IndyCar Series race during the 2015 season, or are scheduled to compete in the 2016 season. Here’s their IMSA team and class:

  • Simon Pagenaud, No. 31 Action Express Racing Corvette DP, Prototype
  • Mikhail Aleshin, No. 37 SMP Racing BR01 Nissan, Prototype
  • Spencer Pigot, No. 55 Mazda Motorsports Mazda Prototype, Prototype
  • Ryan Hunter-Reay, No. 90 Visit Florida Racing Corvette DP, Prototype
  • Scott Dixon, No. 02 Ford Chip Ganassi Racing Riley-Ford, Prototype
  • Tony Kanaan, No. 02 Ford Chip Ganassi Racing Riley-Ford, Prototype
  • Jack Hawksworth, No. 8 Starworks Motorsport Oreca FLM09, Prototype Challenge
  • Sebastien Bourdais, No. 66 Ford Chip Ganassi Racing Ford GT, GT Le Mans
  • Ryan Briscoe, No. 67 Ford Chip Ganassi Racing Ford GT, GT Le Mans
  • Graham Rahal, No. 100 BMW Team RLL BMW Z4 GTE, GT Le Mans
  • Townsend Bell, No. 11 O’Gara Motorsport Lamborghini Huracán GT3, GT Daytona

The NASCAR contingent is the same three drivers as competed last year and who traditionally compete at Daytona:

  • Jamie McMurray, No. 02 Ford Chip Ganassi Racing Riley-Ford, Prototype
  • Kyle Larson, No. 02 Ford Chip Ganassi Racing Riley-Ford, Prototype
  • AJ Allmendinger, No. 60 Michael Shank Racing Ligier JS P2 Honda, Prototype

There’s a wealth of other notable drivers on the list, beyond the full-season drivers.

The full entry list is linked here. Testing takes place this weekend with the Roar test Friday through Sunday, with the Rolex 24 at Daytona race itself taking place on January 30-31.

Final 2023 Rolex 24 at Daytona results, stats


DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. — The 2023 Rolex 24 at Daytona overall results were all streaks: two consecutive victories in the endurance classic for Meyer Shank Racing and three in a row for Acura.

And Helio Castroneves became the second driver to win three consecutive Rolex 24s and the first to win in three straight years (Peter Gregg won in 1973, ’75 and ’76; the race wasn’t held in ’74 because of a global oil crisis).

Starting from the pole position, Tom Blomqvist took the checkered flag in the No. 60 ARX-06 that led a race-high 365 of 783 laps with co-drivers Castroneves, Simon Pagenaud and Colin Braun.

RESULTS: Click here for the finishing order in the 61st Rolex 24 at Daytona l By class

Meyer Shank Racing now has two Rolex 24 victories and the 2022 championship since entering the premier prototype category of the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship in 2021.

“I think what’s so special about this team is we are a small team compared to some of our opponents, but the atmosphere, the way we work, enables people to get the best out of themselves, and I think that’s why we’re such high achievers,” Blomqvist said. “I think there’s no egos. It’s a very open book, and that just enables each and every one of us to reach our potential. I think that’s why we’ve achieved so much success in really a short time at this level of competition.”

It’s the 16th IMSA victory for MSR.

The 61st running of the Rolex 24 at Daytona marked the debut of the Grand Touring Prototype category that brought hybrid engine technology to IMSA’s top level.

In other categories:

LMP2: James Allen passed Ben Hanley on the final lap and delivered a victory in the No. 55 ORECA by 0.016 seconds. It’s the second IMSA victory for Proton Competition, which last won at Sebring in 2012. It was the first Rolex 24 victory for Allen and co-drivers Gianmaria Bruni, Fred Poordad and Francesco Pizzi.

GTD Pro: Cooper MacNeil won in the last start of his IMSA career as the No. 79 Mercedes-AMG GT3 scored the first Rolex 24 at Daytona for WeatherTech Racing and the team’s fourth career victory.

MacNeil, who co-drove with Maro Engel, Jules Gounon and Daniel Juncadella, earned his 12th career victory and first at the Rolex 24.

“Winning by last IMSA race is tremendous,” MacNeil said.

GTD: The No. 27 Heart of Racing Team delivered the first Rolex 24 at Daytona for Aston Martin, which has been competing in endurance races at Daytona International Speedway since 1964. Drivers Marco Sorensen, Roman De Angelis, Darren Turner and Ian James (also the team principal) earned the victory in the English brand’s 13th attempt.

It’s also the first Rolex 24 at Daytona win for Heart of Racing, which has seven IMSA wins.

LMP3: Anthony Mantella, Wayne Boyd, Nico Varrone and Thomas Merrill drove the No. 17 AWA Duqueine D08 to victory by 12 laps for the team’s first class win in IMSA.


Fastest laps by driver

Fastest laps by driver after race (over the weekend)

Fastest laps by driver and class after race

Fastest lap sequence

Lap chart

Leader sequence

Race analysis by lap

Stint analysis

Time cards

Pit stop time cards

Best sector times

Race distance and speed average

Flag analysis

Weather report

NEXT: The 2023 IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship season will resume with the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring March 18 with coverage across NBC, USA and Peacock.