Rico Abreu wins Wednesday night feature in bid to repeat as Chili Bowl champion

1 Comment

Rico Abreu moved a step closer to repeating as Chili Bowl champion after winning Wednesday night’s preliminary feature.

Abreu took the lead on a restart just past halfway in the 25-lap feature at River Spirit Expo Center at Tulsa’s Expo Square and led the rest of the way.

He earns a spot in Saturday night’s 55-lap feature. Also qualifying for the Chili Bowl Nationals feature was Tyler Thomas, who finished second on Wednesday, and Thomas Meseraull, who placed third. The top three in each of the four preliminary night features advance to Saturday’s main event.

Abreu’s victory came hours after a report that he’ll have a full-time ride in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series this season for ThorSport Racing. An official announcement will be made Friday.

NASCAR TIES: J.J. Yeley had a tough night. He was involved in a crash in the B Main after three laps and did not continue, placing 15th. Troubles in his heat race forced him to have to race his way from one of the two C Main races. He won that to advance to the B Main before he couldn’t avoid a spinning car and was hit from behind as well.

NOTABLE: Austin Prock, a development driver for Tony Stewart Racing, finished 12th in the second B Main to see his night end. … Five-time Chili Bowl champ Sammy Swindell raced his way from the C Main and B Main to make it to the night’s preliminary feature but was involved in a couple of incidents late that kept him from a potential top-10 finish. He placed 18th in the 24-car A Main.

NEXT: Thursday’s qualifying races feature NASCAR drivers Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Justin Allgaier and Christopher Bell in action, along with IndyCar owner Sarah Fisher.


1 – Rico Abreu

2 – Tyler Thomas

3 – Thomas Meseraull

4 – Parker Price-Miller

5 – Austin Brown

6 – Chase Stockton

7 – Blake Hahn

8 – Jake Swanson

9 – Brenden Bright

10 – Alex Sewell

11 – Daniel Adler

12 – Steve Buckwalter

13 – Alex DeCamp

14 – Josh Lakatos

15 – Daniel Robinson

16 – Gary Taylor

17 – A.J. Fike

18 – Sammy Swindell

19 – Colby Copeland

20 – Tyler Courtney

21 – Jason McDougal

22 – Payton Pierce

23 – Larry Wight

24 – Kyle Clark

Full results from Wednesday’s races

IndyCar releases schedule for 2023 season

IndyCar schedule 2023
Douglas Stringer/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

The NTT IndyCar Series’ 2023 schedule will feature the same number of races and tracks as this season with some minor reshuffling of dates.

IndyCar will open the 2023 season March 5 on the streets of St. Petersburg, Florida, and will conclude Sept. 10 at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca in Monterey, California. The 107th Indy 500 will take place May 28 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

The 17-race schedule will conclude with a stretch of eight races in the final nine weeks.

“The NTT IndyCar Series is on an impactful upward trajectory, making progress at a pace that befits our thrilling style of competition,” Penske Entertainment Corp. president and CEO Mark Miles said in a release. “The 2023 season provides an opportunity to further build on this trend, bringing our sport and its stars to more markets and households and reaching new consumers across the globe.”

There will be 15 events on NBC: 13 races (including six of the final seven) plus Indy 500 qualifying May 20-21. There also are three races on USA Network and the Toronto race exclusively on Peacock. All races on NBC and USA also will have live simulstreams on Peacock.

In partnership with NBC Sports, the 2022 IndyCar season was the most-watched in six years and the most-watched across NBC Sports on record. The 2022 season also was the most streamed season on record.

“We’re very excited for our 2023 NTT IndyCar Series schedule and to build on this past season’s viewership milestones,” NBC Sports vice president of programming Mike Perman said in a release. “In providing comprehensive coverage across NBC, Peacock and USA Network, NBC Sports is once again looking forward to telling the stories of these world-class drivers and this compelling series.”

Notable elements on the 2023 schedule:

–There will be the same balance of seven road course races, five street courses and five ovals.

–St. Pete will be the season opener for the 13th time.

–The Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix will move from Belle Isle to the streets of downtown.

–The NASCAR doubleheader weekend at the IMS road course will shift to mid-August.

–The World Wide Technology Raceway event will move from Saturday to Sunday.

Start times for the 2023 events will be announced at a later date.

Here’s the 2023 IndyCar schedule:

Date Race/Track Network/Platform
Sun., March 5 Streets of St. Petersburg NBC, Peacock
Sun., April 2 Texas Motor Speedway NBC, Peacock
Sun., April 16 Streets of Long Beach NBC, Peacock
Sun., April 30 Barber Motorsports Park NBC, Peacock
Sat., May 13 Indianapolis Motor Speedway (Road Course) NBC, Peacock
Sun., May 28 The 107th Indianapolis 500 NBC, Peacock
Sun., June 4 Streets of Detroit NBC, Peacock
Sun., June 18 Road America USA Network, Peacock
Sun., July 2 Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course USA Network, Peacock
Sun., July 16 Streets of Toronto Peacock
Sat., July 22 Iowa Speedway – Race 1 NBC, Peacock
Sun., July 23 Iowa Speedway – Race 2 NBC, Peacock
Sun., Aug. 6 Streets of Nashville NBC, Peacock
Sat., Aug. 12 Indianapolis Motor Speedway (Road Course) USA Network, Peacock
Sun., Aug. 27 World Wide Technology Raceway NBC, Peacock
Sun., Sept. 3 Portland International Raceway NBC, Peacock
Sun., Sept. 10 WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca NBC, Peacock

*dates and networks/platforms are subject to change