© AP

Pat Symonds expects F1 engines to be louder in 2016

1 Comment

BIRMINGHAM – Williams chief technical officer Pat Symonds expects the existing V6 turbo power units in Formula 1 to be louder in 2016.

Since replacing the old V8 engines at the beginning of the 2014 season, the hybrid V6 power units have faced all manner of criticism from both fans and those in F1 due to their perceived lack of noise.

Attempts have been made to significantly increase the noise of the engines but have proven unsuccessful, prompting the World Motor Sport Council to amend the technical regulations for 2016 to aid the situation.

While some are still calling for a return to either V8 or V10 engines in the future, Symonds believes that the natural development of the existing power units will result in an increased sound for 2016.

“This is a natural progression,” Symonds said at the Autosport International show in Birmingham, England on Friday.

“A lot of the sound is a function of the cylinder pressure, so the higher that cylinder pressure, the more sound is coming out.

“But of course as the engines develop, the way you get the power is to get the cylinder pressures up. We’ve seen some quite significant increases since the beginning of 2014 with the pressures they were running, so the cars have got naturally louder.

“They will get naturally louder this year as well in addition to the changes that we made to the exhaust.”

Keating stripped of Le Mans GTE-Am win; No. 68 Ganassi entry also disqualified


FIA stewards announced Monday that two Ford GT entries have been disqualified from this year’s 24 Hours of Le Mans, including the GTE-Am class-winning No. 85 entry from privateer Keating Motorsports.

Also DQ’d was the factory No. 68 Chip Ganassi Racing entry of Joey Hand, Dirk Mueller and Sebastien Bourdais, which initially finished fourth in the GTE-Pro class.

Both entries were found in violation of fuel capacity regulations, with the No. 85 entry also failing to meet the minimum refueling time during pit stops.

The refueling system on the No. 85 entry, driven by Ben Keating, Jeroen Bleekemolen and Felipe Fraga, measured a time of 44.4 seconds during a stop, just shy of the minimum required time of 45 seconds.

As a result, the team was initially issued a 55.2-second post-race penalty by officials, which elevated the No. 56 Team Project 1 Porsche 911 RSR of Joerg Bergmeister, Patrick Lindsey, and Egidio Perfetti to the class win.

The time penalty was calculated by the difference in the refueling time (0.6 seconds) multiplied by the amount of pit stops made by the team (23), then multiplied by four.

The No. 85 entry was set to finish second in class, but then received an outright DQ after its fuel capacity was also revealed to be 0.1 liters above the maximum permitted capacity of 96 liters.

As for Ganassi’s No. 68 entry, it was found to have a fuel capacity of 97.83 liters, which is above the maximum allowed capacity of 97 liters for the GTE-Pro Fords.

The No. 67 Ford of Andy Priaulx, Harry Tincknell, and Jonathan Bomarito subsequently moves up to fourth, and the No. 69 Ford of Scott Dixon, Ryan Briscoe and Richard Westbrook moves up to fifth.

Follow Michael Eubanks on Twitter