Where NASCAR, IndyCar stars will start the 24 Hours at Daytona

(Photo by Jerry Markland/Getty Images)

It’s really wet down in Florida, but the constant downpour couldn’t keep qualifying for the Rolex 24 at Daytona from taking place Thursday afternoon.

The field of four classes and 54 cars has been set for the endurance race that will begin on Jan. 30. Included in the race’s field are multiple drivers from the worlds of NASCAR and IndyCar.

The majority of those drivers will be in the Prototype class.

But the best qualifier was the car driven by Russian Mikhail Aleshin. Aleshin qualified on the pole for the Prototype class in the No. 37 SMP Racing BR01 Nissan.

But because of the rain and Rule 40.1.4 in the 2016 IMSA rulebook, the field will start in order of class, meaning Aleshin will have the overall pole.

The car will also be driven by Nicolas Minassian, Maurizio Mediani and Kirill Ladygin.

The No. 31 Action Express Racing Corvette DP, that IndyCar’s Simon Pagenaud will drive along with Dane Cameron, Eric Curran and Jonny Adam, qualified sixth in class.

The Chip Ganassi-owned No. 02 Riley-Ford, which will be driven by IndyCar’s Scott Dixon and Tony Kanaan and NASCAR’s Jamie McMurray and Kyle Larson, qualified seventh in class with Dixon behind the wheel.

Andretti Autosport’s Ryan Hunter-Reay will be one of the pilots for the No. 90 Visit Florida Racing Corvette DP, which starts eighth in class.

Three IndyCar veterans will be in the GT Le Mans class.

Graham Rahal will drive in the Le Mans GT class. The No. 100 BMW Team RLL BMW Z4 GTE starts third.

Sebastien Bourdais will be in the No. 66 Ford Chip Ganassi Racing Ford GT, which rolls off ninth in class.

Ryan Briscoe, a driver for the No. 67 Ford Chip Ganassi Racing Ford GT, will start 10th in class.

Here are how the rest of the IndyCar and NASCAR participants will start the 24 Hours at Daytona

  • Jack Hawksworth in P5 (No. 8 Starworks Motorsport Oreca FLM09, Prototype Challenge)
  • Spencer Pigot in P12 (No. 55 Mazda Motorsports Mazda Prototype, Prototype)
  • AJ Allmendinger in P3 (No. 60 Michael Shank Racing Ligier JS P2 Honda, Prototype)
  • Townsend Bell in P9 (No. 11 O’Gara Motorsport Lamborghini Huracán GT3, GT Daytona)

Here are the full qualifying results for the Rolex 24 Hours at Daytona.

Starting lineup grid for IMSA Petit Le Mans: Tom Blomqvist puts MSR on pole position

Petit Le Mans lineup

IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar championship contender Tom Blomqvist put the Meyer Shank Racing Acura at the front of the starting lineup for the Motul Petit Le Mans at Michelin Road Atlanta.

Blomqvist turned a 1-minute, 8.55-second lap on the 2.54-mile circuit Friday to capture his third pole position for MSR this season. Earl Bamber qualified second in the No. 02 Cadillac for Chip Ganassi Racing.

Ricky Taylor was third in the No. 10 Acura of Wayne Taylor Racing, which enters Saturday’s season finale with a 19-point lead over the No. 60 of Blomqvist and Oliver Jarvis (who will be joined by Helio Castroneves) for the 10-hour race.

PETIT LE MANS STARTING GRID: Click here for the starting lineup l Lineup by car number

PETIT LE MANS: Info on how to watch

With the pole, MSR sliced the deficit to 14 points behind WTR, which will field the trio of Taylor, Filipe Albuquerque and Brendon Hartley in Saturday’s race.

“We really needed to put the car in this kind of position,” Blomqvist said. “It makes our life a little less stressful tomorrow. It would have given the No. 10 a bit more breathing space. It’s going to be a proper dogfight tomorrow. The guys gave me such a great car. It’s been fantastic this week so far, and it really came alive. I’m hugely thankful to the boys and girls at MSR for giving me the wagon today to execute my job.

“That was a big effort from me. I knew how important it was. It’s just awesome for the guys to give them some sort of reward as well. It’s always nice to be quick. If you do the pole, you know you’ve got a quick car.”

Though WTR has a series-leading four victories with the No. 10, MSR won the Rolex 24 at Daytona and has five runner-up finishes along with its three poles.

The strong performances of the ARX-05s ensure that an Acura will win the final championship in IMSA’s premier Daytona Prototype international (DPi) division, which is being rebranded as Grand Touring Prototype in the move to LMDh cars next season.

Taylor qualified third despite sliding into the Turn 5 gravel during the closing minutes of qualifying while pushing to gain points.

“Qualifying was important for points,” Taylor said. “Going into it, if we outqualified the No. 60 Meyer Shank Acura, they had a lot to lose in terms of championship points. So, we were trying to increase the gap over 20 points which would’ve made a big difference for tomorrow. We would have loved to get the pole and qualify ahead of the No. 60, but in the scheme of the points, it didn’t change a whole lot. I’m feeling good since it’s such a long race, and the No. 10 Konica Minolta Acura team does such a good job strategizing and putting us in a good position.

“I’m very confident in our lineup and our team compared to them over the course of 10 hours. I’d put my two teammates up against those guys any day. I think we are all feeling optimistic and strong for tomorrow.”

In other divisions, PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports (LMP2), Riley Motorsports (LMP3), VasserSullivan (GTD Pro) and Paul Miller Racing (GTD) captured pole positions.

The broadcast of the 10-hour race will begin Saturday at 12:10 p.m. ET on NBC, moving at 3 p.m. to USA Network.



Results by class

Fastest lap by driver

Fastest lap by driver after qualifying

Fastest lap by driver and class after qualifying

Fastest lap sequence in qualifying

Best sector times in qualifying

Time cards in qualifying

PRACTICE RESULTS: Session I l Session II l Session III