MRTI: Nico Jamin’s Pro Mazda effort leads trio of recent signings

Photo: Indianapolis Motor Speedway, LLC Photography

The last 24 hours have been busy for Mazda Road to Indy driver confirmations, with Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda champion Nico Jamin’s confirmation of his Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires team leading the way.

Here’s some quick synopses:

Jamin will step up from USF2000 to Pro Mazda with Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing, thus following the identical path ventured by countryman Florian Latorre this time last year. Jamin, who blitzed the USF2000 field with 13 poles and 10 wins last year, will take up residence in the Mazda scholarship “Soul Red” livery.

“I am very happy and proud to stay in the Cape family for my 2016 season and have the opportunity to race in the Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires,” said Jamin. “This team is seriously amazing, we did a great job together in 2015 for our USF2000 campaign, and that teamwork allowed me to get the championship win and the big scholarship from Mazda Motorsports.

“I’m very honored to be a Mazda scholarship driver, and this is a lifetime opportunity for me. We’ll be 100-percent dedicated this year to bring the Soul Red Pro Mazda car in victory lane, as my only goal is to win this championship and race Indy Lights in 2017!”

Cape ran three cars in 2015 and Jamin is the team’s first confirmed driver for 2016. Of the 2015 drivers, Neil Alberico is stepping up to the Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires with Carlin, while Daniel Burkett has moved into sports cars with the No. 33 CJ Wilson Racing Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport in the Continental Tire SportsCar Challenge. Latorre, the third driver from 2015, is yet to finalize his plans.

In USF2000, Brazilian karting ace Lucas Kohl is the second confirmed driver for John Cummiskey Racing, announced on Thursday.

“I’m very excited to work with John Cummiskey Racing, he is well known for his dedication to the Team and attention to every detail,” Kohl said. “The team has Louis D’Agostino, a very dedicate and smart engineer who has helped in the past many youngster in their careers. Roberto Moreno, an experienced F1 and Indy car driver will also be helping me to catch up with the knowledge that I will need in my first year of racing in the USA.

“I’m confident that together we will strive to perform at the top level and achieve good results in this very competitive Championship. I want to thank the team for the chance to race with them on the Mazda Road to Indy.”

Additionally, Team Pelfrey has rounded out its four-driver lineup in USF2000 with the confirmation of 19-year-old New Zealander James Munro.

“I think the team environment is great and that together we can challenge at the front of the field. I feel confident that I’m with the right team to move forward with my career. The ladder provided by Team Pelfrey on the way up to IndyCar is really great. It’s always good to keep continuity with a team so I’m hoping that I can go all the way through the Road to Indy with the team,” Munro said.

Munro, who will drive the  No. 83 Team New Zealand / Team Pelfrey Mazda, is the fourth rookie to sign with Pelfrey. Others are Robert Megennis (No. 80), Jordan Cane (No. 81) and TJ Fischer (No. 82).

Saturday’s Supercross Round 11 in Seattle: How to watch, start times, schedules, streams


With three multiple winners now vying for the championship, the Monster Energy AMA Supercross Series heads to Round 11 at Lumen Field in Seattle, Washington.

Chase Sexton earned his second victory of the season in Detroit when Aaron Plessinger fell on the final lap. Though he was penalized seven points for disobeying a flag, Sexton is third in the championship race. The Honda rider trails leader Cooper Webb (two victories) by 17 points, and defending series champion Eli Tomac (five wins) is three points behind Webb in second with seven races remaining.

Tomac won last year in Seattle on the way to his second season title.

Honda riders have a Supercross-leading 20 victories in the Seattle event but none at Lumen Field since Justin Barcia in 2013. Tomac and Barcia are the only past 450 Seattke winners entered in Saturday’s event.

Here are the pertinent details for watching Round 11 of the 2023 Supercross season in Seattle:

(All times are ET)

BROADCAST/STREAMING SCHEDULE: TV coverage of Round 11 will begin Saturday at 10 p.m. ET streaming on Peacock with a re-air Monday at 1 a.m. ET on CNBC. The Race Day Live show (including qualifying) will begin on Peacock at 4:30 p.m. ET Saturday.

NBC Sports will have exclusive live coverage of races, qualifiers and heats for the record 31 events in SuperMotocross. The main events will be presented on Peacock, NBC, USA Network, CNBC, and NBC Sports digital platforms.

Peacock will become the home of the SuperMotocross World Championship series in 2023 with live coverage of all races, qualifying, and heats from January to October. There will be 23 races livestreamed exclusively on Peacock, including a SuperMotocross World Championship Playoff event. The platform also will provide on-demand replays of every race. Click here for the full schedule.

POINTS STANDINGS: 450 division l 250 division

ENTRY LISTS450 division l 250 division

EVENT SCHEDULE (all times ET): 

Here are the start times for Saturday’s Supercross Round 11 in Seattle, according to the Monster Energy Supercross schedule from the AMA:

4:50 p.m.: 250SX Group B Qualifying 1
5:05 p.m.: 250SX Group A Qualifying 1
5:20 p.m.: 450SX Group A Qualifying 1
5:35 p.m.: 450SX Group B Qualifying 1
6:25 p.m.: 250SX Group B Qualifying 2
6:40 p.m.: 250SX Group A Qualifying 2
7:55 p.m.: 450SX Group A Qualifying 2
8:10 p.m.: 450SX Group B Qualifying 2
10:06 p.m.: 250SX Heat 1
10:20 p.m.: 250SX Heat 2
10:34 p.m.: 450SX Heat 1
10:48 p.m.: 450SX Heat 2
11:22 p.m.: 250SX Last Chance Qualifier
11:34 p.m.: 450SX Last Chance Qualifier
11:54 p.m.: 250SX Main Event
12:28 a.m.: 450SX Main Event

TRACK LAYOUTClick here to view the track map


FINAL 2022 STANDINGS: 450 points standings | 250 East points standings250 West points standings


ROUND 1: Eli Tomac opens title defense with victory

ROUND 2: Tomac ties Ricky Carmichael on Supercross wins list

ROUND 3: Tomac holds off Cooper Webb again

ROUND 4: Chase Sexton wins Anaheim Triple Crown

ROUND 5: Eli Tomac leads wire to wire in Houston

ROUND 6: Cooper Webb breaks through in Tampa

ROUND 7: Webb wins again in Arlington

ROUND 8: Tomac wins Daytona for the seventh time

ROUND 9: Ken Roczen scores first victory since 2022

ROUND 10: Chase Sexton inherits Detroit victory but docked points


Five things to watch in the 2023 Supercross season

Austin Forkner out for 2023 Supercross season

Malcolm Stewart aims for 450 breakthrough

A new attitude for Adam Cianciarulo in 2023

Ken Roczen signs with Suzuki

Hunter and Jett Lawrence walk a fine line with competition and fans

Three talented rookies move up to 450

Jett Lawrence wants to run 450 division for SMX playoffs