Photo: Beyond Marketing Group

GRC champion Speed charged to join Rockstar Energy

Leave a comment

Scott Speed is set to defend his 2015 Red Bull Global Rallycross Supercars championship this year, and he has a little more energy to propel him.

Speed is joining Rockstar Energy Drink in 2016. He will carry Rockstar logos on his helmet, according to an announcement made by Beyond Marketing Group. Speed joins teammate Tanner Foust in the sponsorship agreement.

“I’m super excited to be working with Rockstar Energy Drink,” said Speed. “I love what they’re doing right now with us in Rallycross.”

The former Formula 1 and NASCAR driver heads into his third season with Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross this season, and he has already amassed a great record.

Last year he won the championship on the strength of two wins and eight podium finishes in 12 starts. In his first full season with the team in 2014, he won three times and finished third in the supercars standings.

Interestingly, this is not the first time Speed has been associated with an energy drink. He was the only American driver who graduated from the Red Bull Junior Program into Formula 1, racing with Scuderia Toro Rosso for two seasons. He and that sponsor also participated in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series in 2009 and 2010.

Speed and Foust compete for the Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross team of Michael Andretti, racing Volkswagen Beetles.

“Last year was the first full year with the new Beetle GRC and we put a lot of work into making the car reliable and strong,” said Speed. “I think we’ll be on full attack from the first race.”

“Scott is an amazing driver who has been successful at a lot of different racing disciplines,” said Michael Kelso, marketing director at Rockstar Energy Drink. “He’s extremely talented and a great ambassador for our brand. We’re proud to add another champion to our roster this year.”

The season will kick off May 21st, in Phoenix, Arizona.

IndyCar entry lists for Harvest GP at Indianapolis Motor Speedway

IndyCar entry lists Indianapolis
Chris Graythen/Getty Images
Leave a comment

There are 25 drivers on the NTT IndyCar Series entry lists at Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course with a few new yet familiar faces for the Oct. 2-3 race weekend.

Four-time champion Sebastien Bourdais will make his season debut in the No. 14 Dallara-Chevrolet (shifting Dalton Kellett to the No. 41) with AJ Foyt Racing, which he is joining full time next season. James Hinchcliffe, who had run three races with Andretti Autosport, will return in place of Zach Veach in the No. 26 Dallara-Honda. Helio Castroneves will drive Arrow McLaren SP’s No. 7 Dallara-Chevy for Oliver Askew, who is out with concussion-like symptoms.

Sage Karam, who has two IndyCar starts this year at IMS (the road course on July 4 and the Indy 500 on Aug. 23), also will return to the series in Dreyer & Reinbold’s No. 24 Dallara-Chevrolet.


Friday and Saturday of the Harvest GP presented by GMR will mark the second and third races this season on Indianapolis Motor Speedway’s 14-turn, 2.439-mile road course. While the July 4 race on the circuit was 80 laps, Friday’s distance is 85 laps, and Saturday will be a 75-lap event.

Championship leader Scott Dixon led 26 of 80 laps to win the July 4 race at the IMS road course. With three races remaining in the series, the five-time series champion enters with a 72-point lead on Josef Newgarden.

Click here to see who’s on the IndyCar entry lists in Race 1 and in Race 2 for the Harvest GP presented by GMR at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course.



IndyCar NTT Series practice: 2:25-3:40 p.m., NBC Sports Gold

IndyCar qualifying, Race 1: 6:20 p.m. (two groups/12 minutes apiece), NBC Sports Gold


—IndyCar Harvest Grand Prix, Race 1: 3:30 p.m. (green flag, 5 p.m.), USA Network, NBC Sports Gold


—IndyCar qualifying: 10:20 a.m. (two groups/12 minutes apiece), NBC Sports Gold

—IndyCar Harvest Grand Prix, Race 2: 2:30 p.m (green flag, 2:31 p.m.)., NBC, NBC Sports Gold