Rio Haryanto to race with no. 88 in Formula 1

© GP2 Series

Rio Haryanto will race with no. 88 during his Formula 1 career after joining Manor Racing for the 2016 season.

Haryanto will step up to F1 in 2016 after spending four years in GP2, where he claimed three race wins and finished fourth in the drivers’ championship last season.

The Indonesian driver was announced by Manor as its second driver on Thursday, joining Mercedes junior Pascal Wehrlein at the backmarker team.

Manor confirmed on Twitter shortly after Haryanto was announced that he had picked 88 as his number for the entirety of his F1 career.

In a rule introduced for the 2014 season, drivers are required to pick a single number for their time in F1 regardless of the team they are racing for.

The only exception is that the defending world champion has the right to race with no. 1, although this can be passed over, as seen with Lewis Hamilton for 2015 and 2016.


Daniel Ricciardo #3
Sebastian Vettel #5
Nico Rosberg #6
Kimi Raikkonen #7
Romain Grosjean #8
Marcus Ericsson #9
Sergio Perez #11
Felipe Nasr #12
Fernando Alonso #14
Felipe Massa #19
Kevin Magnussen #20
Esteban Gutierrez #21
Jenson Button #22
Daniil Kvyat #26
Nico Hulkenberg #27
Jolyon Palmer #30
Max Verstappen #33
Lewis Hamilton #44
Carlos Sainz Jr. #55
Valtteri Bottas #77
Rio Haryanto #88
Pascal Wehrlein #94

Jack Miller wins the MotoGP Japanese Grand Prix as Fabio Quartararo stops his downward points’ slide


Jack Miller ran away with the MotoGP Japanese Grand Prix at Motegi as Fabio Quartararo stopped his downward slide in the championship when a last-lap accident from his closest rival in the standings caused Francesco Bagnaia to score zero points.

Starting seventh, Miller quickly made his way forward. He was second at the end of two laps. One lap later, he grabbed the lead from Jorge Martin. Once in the lead, Miller posted three consecutive fastest laps and was never seriously challenged. It was Australian native Miller’s first race win of the season and his sixth podium finish.

The proximity to his home turf was not lost.

“I can ride a motorcycle sometimes,” Miller said in NBC Sports’ post-race coverage. “I felt amazing all weekend since I rolled out on the first practice. It feels so awesome to be racing on this side of the world.

“What an amazing day. It’s awesome; we have the home Grand Prix coming up shortly. Wedding coming up in a couple of weeks. I’m over the moon; can’t thank everyone enough.”

Miller beat Brad Binder to the line by 3.4 seconds with third-place Jorge Martin finishing about one second behind.

But the center of the storm was located just inside the top 10 as both Quartararo and Bagnaia started deep in the field.

Quartararo was on the outside of row three in ninth with Bagnaia one row behind in 12th. Neither rider moved up significantly, but the championship continued to be of primary importance as Bagnaia put in a patented late-race charge to settle onto Quartararo’s back tire, which would have allowed the championship leader to gain only a single point.

On the final lap, Bagnaia charged just a little too hard and crashed under heavy braking, throwing away the seven points he would have earned for a ninth-place finish.

The day was even more dramatic for the rider who entered the MotoGP Japanese Grand Prix third in the standings. On the sighting lap, Aleix Espargaro had an alarm sound, so he peeled off into the pits, dropped his primary bike and jumped aboard the backup. Starting from pit lane, he trailed the field and was never able to climb into the points. An undisclosed electronic problem was the culprit.

For Quartararo, gaining eight points on the competition was more than a moral victory. This was a track on which he expected to run moderately, and he did, but the problems for his rivals gives him renewed focus with four rounds remaining.

Next week, the series heads to Thailand and then Miller’s home track of Phillip Island in Australia. They will close out the Pacific Rim portion of the schedule before heading to Spain for the finale in early November.

It would appear team orders are not in play among the Ducati riders. Last week’s winner Enea Bastianini made an aggressive early move on Bagnaia for position before the championship contender wrestled the spot back.

In his second race back following arm surgery, Marc Marquez won the pole. His last pole was more than 1,000 days ago on this same track in 2019, the last time the series competed at Motegi. Marquez slipped to fifth in the middle stages of the race, before regaining a position to finish just off the podium.

In Moto2 competition, Ai Ogura beat Augusto Fernandez to close the gap in that championship to two points. Fernandez holds the scant lead. Alonso Lopez rounded out the podium.

Both American riders, Cameron Beaubier and Joe Roberts finished just outside the top 10 in 11th and 12th respectively.