FIA issues official entry list for 2016 F1 season

© AP

The FIA has issued the final entry list for the 2016 Formula 1 season, confirming the grid ahead of the first test of the year in Barcelona next week.

Following Manor’s announcement of Rio Haryanto earlier this week, the field is now set with three rookie drivers and two returnees.

Haryanto will be joined in making his grand prix debut by Pascal Wehrlein and Jolyon Palmer in Australia, while Kevin Magnussen and Esteban Gutierrez will make their first starts since the 2014 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.

The entry list also features one new team in the form of Haas F1 Team, headed up by NASCAR team co-owner Gene Haas.

The only other news of note is that Manor’s new official name is Manor Racing MRT, while the Renault-owned Lotus operation will race as Renault Sport Formula 1 Team.


Mercedes AMG Petronas Formula One Team
#6 Nico Rosberg
#44 Lewis Hamilton

Scuderia Ferrari
#5 Sebastian Vettel
#7 Kimi Raikkonen

Williams Martini Racing
#19 Felipe Massa
#77 Valtteri Bottas

Red Bull Racing
#3 Daniel Ricciardo
#26 Daniil Kvyat

Sahara Force India F1 Team
#11 Sergio Perez
#27 Nico Hulkenberg

Renault Sport Formula 1 Team
#20 Kevin Magnussen
#30 Jolyon Palmer

Scuderia Toro Rosso
#33 Max Verstappen
#55 Carlos Sainz Jr.

Sauber F1 Team
#9 Marcus Ericsson
#12 Felipe Nasr

McLaren Honda Formula 1 Team
#14 Fernando Alonso
#22 Jenson Button

Manor Racing MRT
#88 Rio Haryanto
#94 Pascal Wehrlein

Haas F1 Team
#8 Romain Grosjean
#21 Esteban Gutierrez