21 cars on entry list for this weekend’s IndyCar test at Phoenix

Getty Images
1 Comment

Teams from the Verizon IndyCar Series will take to historic Phoenix International Raceway for the first time in more than a decade for this Friday and Saturday’s first open test of the season.

PIR previously hosted Indy Cars from 1964 through 2005. The series returns to PIR for its first race since then on April 2, a Saturday night event under the lights.

Indy Cars actually inaugurated the opening of PIR on March 1, 1964. A.J. Foyt won that day, his first of four wins on the flat one-mile oval between 1964 and 1975.

Here’s the entry list for this weekend’s test. Of note, Alexander Rossi is not present as was expected and neither is Spencer Pigot from Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, who will run three races but not Phoenix.

Ed Carpenter is the lone partial season driver confirmed to test, while Luca Filippi has been listed in the second Dale Coyne Racing Honda.

The track will be closed to fans on Friday, but will be open to fans on Saturday from 11:30 a.m. MST through 8 p.m. MST. It will be the first chance for fans to see the updated aerodynamic bodywork for both Honda and Chevrolet teams.

On-track testing for both days will run from Noon to 3 pm MST and again from 5 to 8 pm MST.

PIR Test Entry List 2-22



Follow @JerryBonkowski

Max Verstappen is PointsBet favorite to score sixth staight in 2022 Singapore Grand Prix

PointsBet 2022 Singapore odds
Mark Thompson / Getty Images

Max Verstappen is the PointsBet Sportsbook odds favorite to win the 2022 Singapore Grand Prix on the Marina Bay Street course to stretch his current win streak to six consecutive. He shows odds of -200 this week.

Formula 1 did not compete in Singapore in 2020 or 2021 due to the COVID-19 pandemic, but Verstappen has podium finishes in his last two attempts on this track. he was second in 2018 and third in 2019. In the first 15 races of this season, he has failed to stand on the podium only twice and has an average finish of 2.73.

With minus odds, the way to determine a payout is by subtraction. In order for a bettor to earn $100, he must wager $200 this week; with that wager, he will get back his initial stake and winnings of $100.

For bettors more comfortable with fractional odds, a bet of +300 is the same as 3/1.

Charles Leclerc is ranked second this week with +400 odds. He has two previous Singapore GP starts to his credit with a best of second in 2019. He is coming off back-to-back podium finishes with a third in the Dutch GP and a second at Monza.

Ranked third is Carlos Sainz, Jr. with a line of +1100. He has top-five finishes in four of his last five starts, but only one of these, a third in the Belgian GP, was on the podium. Sainz is one of four winners other than Verstappen this season. His victory came in the British GP.

Lewis Hamilton shows a line of +1200. His last win came last fall in the Saudi Arabian GP and the Mercedes team has struggled to contend for victory in 2022. They are improving, however, with eight top-fives in the last nine races. Hamilton has two wins in his last three Singapore starts, which came in 2017 and 2018.

Rounding out the top five is Hamilton’s teammate George Russell at +1800. He has not won, but has shown remarkable consistency with top-fives in all but one race. Notably, his only bad finish came in his home GP in England. Russell has one previous start at Marina Bay; he finished last in the 2019 race. He finished fourth in 2019 as part of a four-race streak of top-fives.

The most recent Singapore GP winner from 2019, Sebastian Vettel is a longshot at +50000.

PointsBet is our Official Sports Betting Partner, and we may receive compensation if you place a bet on PointsBet for the first time after clicking our links.

Italian GP Odds
Dutch GP Odds
Belgium GP Odds
French GP Odds
Austrian GP Odds
Canadian GP Odds
Azerbaijan GP Odds
Monaco GP Odds
Spanish GP Odds
Miami GP Odds
Saudi Arabian GP odds
Australian GP odds
Romagna GP Odds