GP2, GP3 schedules confirmed for 2016, featuring new races

© GP2 Series

The calendars for the upcoming GP2 and GP3 Series seasons have been released, featuring new events for both junior championships.

GP2 and GP3 feature on Formula 1’s undercard and are generally regarded as being the second and third highest ‘rungs’ on the motorsport ladder in Europe.

The grids for both series are most set, with GP2 poised to be particularly competitive as Sergey Sirotkin, Alex Lynn, Pierre Gasly, Raffaele Marciello and Oliver Rowland are tipped to battle for the championship.

GP2 will start later than usual in 2016 following the change in date for the Bahrain Grand Prix, making a weekend at Sakhir impossible given the timing of the final winter test at Jerez.

The first race of the year is in Spain on May 14, with round two once again taking place at Monaco. GP3 will also kick off in Spain, but will not return until the beginning of July at the Austrian Grand Prix.

In support of the inaugural F1 race in Azerbaijan, GP2 will also venture to Baku for round three of the year, and will return to Sepang, Malaysia for the first time since 2013 later in the year.

GP3 will make its first appearance in Malaysia as well, with both series wrapping up in Abu Dhabi at the end of November.

2016 GP2 Series Calendar

1. Spain 13-15 May
2. Monaco 26-28 May
3. Azerbaijan 17-19 June
4. Austria 1-3 July
5. Great Britain 8-10 July
6. Hungary 22-24 July
7. Germany 29-31 July
8. Belgium 26-28 August
9. Italy 2-4 September
10. Malaysia 31 September – 2 October
​11. Abu Dhabi 25-27 November

2016 GP3 Series Calendar

1. Spain 13-15 May
2. Austria 1-3 July
3. Great Britain 8-10 July
4. Hungary 22-24 July
5. Germany 29-31 July
6. Belgium 26-29 August
7. Italy 2-4 September
8. Malaysia 30 September – 2 October
​9. Abu Dhabi 27-29 November

IndyCar releases schedule for 2023 season

IndyCar schedule 2023
Douglas Stringer/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

The NTT IndyCar Series’ 2023 schedule will feature the same number of races and tracks as this season with some minor reshuffling of dates.

IndyCar will open the 2023 season March 5 on the streets of St. Petersburg, Florida, and will conclude Sept. 10 at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca in Monterey, California. The 107th Indy 500 will take place May 28 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

The 17-race schedule will conclude with a stretch of eight races in the final nine weeks.

“The NTT IndyCar Series is on an impactful upward trajectory, making progress at a pace that befits our thrilling style of competition,” Penske Entertainment Corp. president and CEO Mark Miles said in a release. “The 2023 season provides an opportunity to further build on this trend, bringing our sport and its stars to more markets and households and reaching new consumers across the globe.”

There will be 15 events on NBC: 13 races (including six of the final seven) plus Indy 500 qualifying May 20-21. There also are three races on USA Network and the Toronto race exclusively on Peacock. All races on NBC and USA also will have live simulstreams on Peacock.

In partnership with NBC Sports, the 2022 IndyCar season was the most-watched in six years and the most-watched across NBC Sports on record. The 2022 season also was the most streamed season on record.

“We’re very excited for our 2023 NTT IndyCar Series schedule and to build on this past season’s viewership milestones,” NBC Sports vice president of programming Mike Perman said in a release. “In providing comprehensive coverage across NBC, Peacock and USA Network, NBC Sports is once again looking forward to telling the stories of these world-class drivers and this compelling series.”

Notable elements on the 2023 schedule:

–There will be the same balance of seven road course races, five street courses and five ovals.

–St. Pete will be the season opener for the 13th time.

–The Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix will move from Belle Isle to the streets of downtown.

–The NASCAR doubleheader weekend at the IMS road course will shift to mid-August.

–The World Wide Technology Raceway event will move from Saturday to Sunday.

Start times for the 2023 events will be announced at a later date.

Here’s the 2023 IndyCar schedule:

Date Race/Track Network/Platform
Sun., March 5 Streets of St. Petersburg NBC, Peacock
Sun., April 2 Texas Motor Speedway NBC, Peacock
Sun., April 16 Streets of Long Beach NBC, Peacock
Sun., April 30 Barber Motorsports Park NBC, Peacock
Sat., May 13 Indianapolis Motor Speedway (Road Course) NBC, Peacock
Sun., May 28 The 107th Indianapolis 500 NBC, Peacock
Sun., June 4 Streets of Detroit NBC, Peacock
Sun., June 18 Road America USA Network, Peacock
Sun., July 2 Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course USA Network, Peacock
Sun., July 16 Streets of Toronto Peacock
Sat., July 22 Iowa Speedway – Race 1 NBC, Peacock
Sun., July 23 Iowa Speedway – Race 2 NBC, Peacock
Sun., Aug. 6 Streets of Nashville NBC, Peacock
Sat., Aug. 12 Indianapolis Motor Speedway (Road Course) USA Network, Peacock
Sun., Aug. 27 World Wide Technology Raceway NBC, Peacock
Sun., Sept. 3 Portland International Raceway NBC, Peacock
Sun., Sept. 10 WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca NBC, Peacock

*dates and networks/platforms are subject to change