Getty Images

IndyCar 2016 team preview: KVSH Racing

Leave a comment

NBC Sports takes a look through the teams competing in the 2016 Verizon IndyCar Series. KVSH Racing has been a solid mid-level force for more than a decade and an Indianapolis 500-winning outfit; could this be the year they follow through on the hopes of two of its co-owners and actually contend for a title?

Team: KVSH Racing (No. 11), PIRTEK Team Murray (No. 61)
Engine/aero kits: Chevrolet
Sponsors: HYDROXYCUT, Mouser, Geico, American Racing Wheels (No. 11), PIRTEK, Chris Kyle Frog Foundation (No. 61)

2015 STATS

Races: 16
Wins: 2 (Bourdais 2)
Podiums: 2 (Bourdais 2)
Pole Positions: 0
Fastest Laps: 2 (Bourdais 1, Coletti 1)
Points: 619 (Bourdais 406, Coletti 203, Clauson 10)
Laps Led: 145 (Bourdais 145)
Championship Position: 10th (Bourdais), 19th (Coletti), 39th (Clauson)

2016 LINEUP (Engineer in parentheses)

11 Sebastien Bourdais (Olivier Boisson)
61 Matthew Brabham (TBC)

2015 RECAP (Bourdais, Coletti driver recaps)

Sebastien Bourdais enjoyed another typical season since he’s been back in North America, where he frequently overachieved on occasion but lacked the week-to-week consistency to mount a serious title challenge. His win at Milwaukee was one of the most impressive oval victories in recent years, while a strategy gamble at Detroit race two paid dividends. The second car was again a disappointment, with rookie Stefano Coletti finding the wall seemingly more often than the finishing line in a highly underwhelming season.


The KVSH team led by Kevin Kalkhoven, Jimmy Vasser and James “Sulli” Sullivan has the potential to deliver an RLL-in-2015 type season, where with a reduced, single-car focus there could be better overall consistency. Bourdais and engineer Olivier Boisson work well together and will seek to deliver results up against the mights of the four-car powerhouse organizations, although Bourdais admitted the team was inadvertently hampered as the commercial deals for the year got finalized late. Still, wins are likely, and a top-five championship finish is a realistic target. The only second car planned at the moment is the PIRTEK Team Murray entry for Matthew Brabham in the month of May.

IndyCar entry lists for Harvest GP at Indianapolis Motor Speedway

IndyCar entry lists Indianapolis
Chris Graythen/Getty Images
Leave a comment

There are 25 drivers on the NTT IndyCar Series entry lists at Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course with a few new yet familiar faces for the Oct. 2-3 race weekend.

Four-time champion Sebastien Bourdais will make his season debut in the No. 14 Dallara-Chevrolet (shifting Dalton Kellett to the No. 41) with AJ Foyt Racing, which he is joining full time next season. James Hinchcliffe, who had run three races with Andretti Autosport, will return in place of Zach Veach in the No. 26 Dallara-Honda. Helio Castroneves will drive Arrow McLaren SP’s No. 7 Dallara-Chevy for Oliver Askew, who is out with concussion-like symptoms.

Sage Karam, who has two IndyCar starts this year at IMS (the road course on July 4 and the Indy 500 on Aug. 23), also will return to the series in Dreyer & Reinbold’s No. 24 Dallara-Chevrolet.


Friday and Saturday of the Harvest GP presented by GMR will mark the second and third races this season on Indianapolis Motor Speedway’s 14-turn, 2.439-mile road course. While the July 4 race on the circuit was 80 laps, Friday’s distance is 85 laps, and Saturday will be a 75-lap event.

Championship leader Scott Dixon led 26 of 80 laps to win the July 4 race at the IMS road course. With three races remaining in the series, the five-time series champion enters with a 72-point lead on Josef Newgarden.

Click here to see who’s on the IndyCar entry lists in Race 1 and in Race 2 for the Harvest GP presented by GMR at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course.



IndyCar NTT Series practice: 2:25-3:40 p.m., NBC Sports Gold

IndyCar qualifying, Race 1: 6:20 p.m. (two groups/12 minutes apiece), NBC Sports Gold


—IndyCar Harvest Grand Prix, Race 1: 3:30 p.m. (green flag, 5 p.m.), USA Network, NBC Sports Gold


—IndyCar qualifying: 10:20 a.m. (two groups/12 minutes apiece), NBC Sports Gold

—IndyCar Harvest Grand Prix, Race 2: 2:30 p.m (green flag, 2:31 p.m.)., NBC, NBC Sports Gold