IndyCar 2016 team preview: Dale Coyne Racing

Photo: IndyCar

NBC Sports takes a look through the teams competing in the 2016 Verizon IndyCar Series. IndyCar lifer Dale Coyne presses on once again, and probably has his best two-car lineup in close to a decade.

Team: Dale Coyne Racing
Engines/aero kits: Honda
Sponsors: Jonathan Byrd’s Hospitality & Restaurant Group/Cancer Treatment Centers of America (No. 18), Boy Scouts of America/Sonny’s BBQ (No. 19)

2015 STATS

Races: 16
Wins: 0
Podiums: 0
Pole Positions: 0
Fastest Laps: 0
Points: 434 (Vautier 172, Gonzalez 94, Mann 76, Dracone 38, Huertas 31, Daly 13, Davison 10, Moran Jr. 0)
Laps Led: 15 (Vautier 10, Gonzalez 5)
Championship Position: 22nd (Vautier), 26th (Gonzalez), 28th (Daly), 29th (Mann), 34th (Dracone), 36th (Huertas), 38th (Davison), 40th (Moran Jr.) 

2016 LINEUP (Engineers in parentheses)

18 Conor Daly (Michael Cannon)
19 Luca Filippi (Kyle Brannan)

2015 RECAP (Vautier, Gonzalez, DalyMann, Dracone driver recaps)

Eight drivers, zero podiums, multiple crew members being hit on pit road and a highest finishing driver of 22nd in points means 2015 was a tough year for Dale Coyne Racing. There were highlights, though: Tristan Vautier had standout drives in Detroit race two and Mid-Ohio; Vautier and Rodolfo Gonzalez brought second half stability after all eight of the drivers were in Coyne’s two cars in the opening six races through May; Pippa Mann finished all three 500-mile races with the car in one piece and brought positive attention to the program through her work with Susan G. Komen; and Conor Daly delivered arguably the best 17th place finish in recent memory on extremely short notice in Long Beach.


The old college basketball tournament saying “survive and advance” applies to teams that don’t have their best games but manage to win anyway and move onto the next round. That’s the term that best applies to Coyne, which after 30 years in the sport keeps on ticking and has survived a year with eight different drivers and advanced into what should be a significantly better 2016. Although losing Vautier costs them continuity, Daly and Filippi will be fine provided they’re in for the full season. Additionally, Bryan Clauson is already confirmed and Mann all-but-officially confirmed to join them at the Indianapolis 500.

In Daly, they have a determined young charger who’s been waiting his whole life for a full-season IndyCar opportunity. He gets it thanks to Jonathan Byrd’s stepping up to the plate, and he’s got a perfect tutor in Cannon. In Filippi, who as of this writing still wasn’t officially confirmed for the full season (it is the second Coyne car, after all), they have a road course ace high on speed and even higher on setup feedback. In the last decade, the only real Coyne full-season lineups with this much potential were Bruno Junqueira/Katherine Legge in 2007 in Champ Car and the late Justin Wilson and James Jakes in 2012 in IndyCar. A win courtesy of a trademark Coyne strategic masterstroke would not be a surprise, with podiums possible on merit and a top-15 finish in points a realistic target for either driver.

Max Verstappen is PointsBet favorite to score sixth staight in 2022 Singapore Grand Prix

PointsBet 2022 Singapore odds
Mark Thompson / Getty Images

Max Verstappen is the PointsBet Sportsbook odds favorite to win the 2022 Singapore Grand Prix on the Marina Bay Street course to stretch his current win streak to six consecutive. He shows odds of -200 this week.

Formula 1 did not compete in Singapore in 2020 or 2021 due to the COVID-19 pandemic, but Verstappen has podium finishes in his last two attempts on this track. he was second in 2018 and third in 2019. In the first 15 races of this season, he has failed to stand on the podium only twice and has an average finish of 2.73.

With minus odds, the way to determine a payout is by subtraction. In order for a bettor to earn $100, he must wager $200 this week; with that wager, he will get back his initial stake and winnings of $100.

For bettors more comfortable with fractional odds, a bet of +300 is the same as 3/1.

Charles Leclerc is ranked second this week with +400 odds. He has two previous Singapore GP starts to his credit with a best of second in 2019. He is coming off back-to-back podium finishes with a third in the Dutch GP and a second at Monza.

Ranked third is Carlos Sainz, Jr. with a line of +1100. He has top-five finishes in four of his last five starts, but only one of these, a third in the Belgian GP, was on the podium. Sainz is one of four winners other than Verstappen this season. His victory came in the British GP.

Lewis Hamilton shows a line of +1200. His last win came last fall in the Saudi Arabian GP and the Mercedes team has struggled to contend for victory in 2022. They are improving, however, with eight top-fives in the last nine races. Hamilton has two wins in his last three Singapore starts, which came in 2017 and 2018.

Rounding out the top five is Hamilton’s teammate George Russell at +1800. He has not won, but has shown remarkable consistency with top-fives in all but one race. Notably, his only bad finish came in his home GP in England. Russell has one previous start at Marina Bay; he finished last in the 2019 race. He finished fourth in 2019 as part of a four-race streak of top-fives.

The most recent Singapore GP winner from 2019, Sebastian Vettel is a longshot at +50000.

PointsBet is our Official Sports Betting Partner, and we may receive compensation if you place a bet on PointsBet for the first time after clicking our links.

Italian GP Odds
Dutch GP Odds
Belgium GP Odds
French GP Odds
Austrian GP Odds
Canadian GP Odds
Azerbaijan GP Odds
Monaco GP Odds
Spanish GP Odds
Miami GP Odds
Saudi Arabian GP odds
Australian GP odds
Romagna GP Odds