© Getty Images

Full 2016 Formula 1 on NBC grand prix race schedule, air times and networks

1 Comment

NBC Sports Group has today announced its schedule for the 2016 Formula 1 season including air times and networks ahead of the opening race in Australia this weekend.

NBC Sports Group will air a record-breaking 21 F1 races live in 2016, split across NBCSN (14), NBC (4) and CNBC (3) as well as offering comprehensive coverage on the NBC Sports Live Extra streaming app.

This weekend’s Australian Grand Prix will act as the curtain-raiser for the new season, with both Friday practice sessions being shown live along with qualifying on Saturday and Sunday’s race.

More than 200 hours of F1 coverage will be shown across the NBC Sports Group networks this year, with the opening five races of the year being broadcast on NBCSN.

The first NBC race will be the famous Monaco Grand Prix on May 29, with the first North American race of the year in Canada also being shown on NBC on June 12.

The inaugural European Grand Prix in Azerbaijan will be shown on NBCSN one week later before a run of three races on CNBC in Austria, Britain and Hungary.

Following its recent confirmation, the United States Grand Prix in Austin, Texas will be shown live on NBC on October 23. The Mexican Grand Prix will also be shown on NBC one week later.

The 2016 season will come to a close under the lights in Abu Dhabi on November 27 on NBCSN, capping off a record-breaking calendar.

In addition to the extensive live coverage, Live Extra streaming will also enhance race coverage with dedicated feeds including:

  • On-Board Feed –  Live Extra’s dedicated channel for live on-board cameras
  • Pit Lane Feed – Live Extra’s dedicated channel on pit lane featuring all pit stops and team communication
  • Driver Tracker – real-time data showing where all 22 cars are on track

Here is the full schedule for Formula 1 on NBC this year. All times are ET.

Date Grand Prix Time Network
Sun., March 20 Australian Grand Prix 12:30 a.m. NBCSN
Sun., April 3 Bahrain Grand Prix 10:30 a.m. NBCSN
Sun., April 16 Chinese Grand Prix 1:30 a.m. NBCSN
Sun., May 1 Russian Grand Prix 7:30 a.m. NBCSN
Sun., May 15 Spanish Grand Prix 7:30 a.m. NBCSN
Sun., May 29 Monaco Grand Prix 7:30 a.m. NBC
Sun., June 12 Canadian Grand Prix 1:30 p.m. NBC
Sun., June 19 European Grand Prix 8:30 a.m. NBCSN
Sun., July 3 Austrian Grand Prix 7:30 a.m. CNBC
Sun., July 10 British Grand Prix 7:30 a.m. CNBC
Sun., July 24 Hungarian Grand Prix 7:30 a.m. CNBC
Sun., July 31 German Grand Prix 7:30 a.m. NBCSN
Sun., August 28 Belgian Grand Prix 7:30 a.m. NBCSN
Sun., September 4 Italian Grand Prix 7:30 a.m. NBCSN
Sun., September 18 Singapore Grand Prix 7:30 a.m. NBCSN
Sun., October 1 Malaysian Grand Prix 2:30 a.m. NBCSN
Sun., October 8 Japanese Grand Prix 12:30 a.m. NBCSN
Sun., October 23 United States Grand Prix 2:30 p.m. NBC
Sun., October 30 Mexican Grand Prix 2:30 p.m. NBC
Sun., November 13 Brazilian Grand Prix 10:30 a.m. NBCSN
Sun., November 27 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix 7:30 a.m. NBCSN

Zach Veach splits with Andretti Autosport for rest of IndyCar season

Gregory Shamus/Getty Images
1 Comment

Zach Veach will be leaving his Andretti Autosport ride with three races remaining in the season, choosing to explore options after the decision was made he wouldn’t return for 2021.

In a Wednesday release, Andretti Autosport said a replacement driver for the No. 26 Dallara-Honda would be named in the coming days. The NTT IndyCar Series will race Oct. 2-3 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course and then conclude the season Oct. 25 on the streets of St. Petersburg, Florida.

Veach was ranked 11th in the points standings through 11 races of his third season with Andretti. Since a fourth in the June 6 season opener at Texas Motor Speedway, he hadn’t finished higher than 14th.

“The decision was made that I will not be returning in 2021 with Andretti Autosport in the No. 26 Gainbridge car,” Veach said in the Andretti release. “This, along with knowing that limited testing exists for teams due to COVID, have led me to the decision to step out of the car for the remainder of the 2020 IndyCar season. I am doing this to allow the team to have time with other drivers as they prepare for 2021, and so that I can also explore my own 2021 options.

“This is the hardest decision I have ever made, but to me, racing is about family, and it is my belief that you take care of your family. Andretti Autosport is my family and I feel this is what is best to help us all reach the next step. I will forever be grateful to Michael and the team for all of their support over the years. I would not be where I am today if it wasn’t for a relationship that started many years ago with Road to Indy. I will also be forever grateful to Dan Towriss for his friendship and for the opportunity he and Gainbridge have given me.

“My love for this sport and the people involved is unmeasurable, and I look forward to continuing to be amongst the racing world and fans in 2021.”

Said team owner Michael Andretti: “We first welcomed Zach to the Andretti team back in his USF2000 days and have enjoyed watching him grow and evolve as a racer, and a person. His decision to allow us to use the last few races to explore our 2021 options shows the measure of his character.

“Zach has always placed team and family first, and we’re very happy to have had him as part of ours for so many years. We wish him the best in whatever 2021 may bring and will always consider him a friend.”

Andretti fields five full-time cars for Veach, Alexander Rossi, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Marco Andretti and Colton Herta.

It also has fielded James Hinchcliffe in three races this season.