St. Pete results year-on-year: Penske rolls on; Dixon moves up

Photo: IndyCar

With the opening round of the 2016 Verizon IndyCar Series in the books, it’s worth doing a quick look at where each driver finished to kick off their new campaign in comparison to last year.

The Team Penske domination on the streets of St. Petersburg rolls on, and that’s the single biggest takeaway.

Last year, they got all four of their cars in the top five. This year, they got the three full-season drivers again in – so that’s seven top-fives of a possible eight in the last two years for “The Captain’s” quartet. Juan Pablo Montoya, of course, has gone back-to-back.

Of course, that comes with a slight asterisk since Will Power was ruled out due to his mild concussion and didn’t race. Oriol Servia did fine under the circumstances and would have had a better result if he wasn’t caught up in the Turn 4 pileup on Lap 57.

Elsewhere, Takuma Sato, Scott Dixon and Carlos Munoz led the movers forward from year to year. Charlie Kimball had an 11-spot increase year-to-year. For Dixon, who ended 15th last year, seventh was a better result than what he’s generally used to here.

Big drop-offs were felt for Tony Kanaan, down six spots but still in the top 10, Marco Andretti and Graham Rahal who lost five spots apiece compared to last year, and notably, the two official retirements in Sebastien Bourdais and Josef Newgarden.

Drivers with an asterisk listed are rookies. Last year Gabby Chaves was the top rookie in 17th; this year, interestingly, it’s the driver that replaced him in the No. 98 Andretti Herta Autosport with Curb-Agajanian Honda in Alexander Rossi who’s ended top of the first-timers in 12th.

It’s a small sample size for sure, but interesting to note as the year is about to kick off and to see who moves where in the points standings.

2016 2015
1 Juan Pablo Montoya 1 1
2 Simon Pagenaud 2 5
3 Ryan Hunter-Reay 3 7
4 Helio Castroneves 4 4
5 Mikhail Aleshin 5
6 Takuma Sato 6 13
7 Scott Dixon 7 15
8 Carlos Munoz 8 14
9 Tony Kanaan 9 3
10 Charlie Kimball 10 21
11 Jack Hawksworth 11 8
12 Alexander Rossi* 12
13 Conor Daly* 13
14 Spencer Pigot* 14
15 Marco Andretti 15 10
16 Graham Rahal 16 11
17 Max Chilton* 17
18 Oriol Servia 18
19 James Hinchcliffe 19 16
20 Luca Filippi 20 9
21 Sebastien Bourdais 21 6
22 Josef Newgarden 22 12
23 Will Power WD 2
24 Gabby Chaves* 17
25 Simona de Silvestro 18
26 Sage Karam* 19
27 Stefano Coletti* 20
28 Francesco Dracone 23
29 Carlos Huertas 24

Saturday’s Supercross Round 5 in Houston: How to watch, start times, streaming info


The championship race has tightened up as the Monster Energy AMA Supercross Series heads to NRG Stadium in Houston, Texas, for Round 5 of the 2023 season.

With his 450 victory in the Anaheim Triple Crown, Chase Sexton has moved within four points of two-time and defending series champion Eli Tomac.

Jason Anderson is coming off a second place in Anaheim after crashing out of the first two rounds while racing in the top five. Ken Roczen earned his first podium last week since the 2022 season opener and the first for Suzuki since Chad Reed at Detroit in 2019.

Here are the pertinent details for watching Round 5 of the 2023 Supercross schedule at NRG Stadium in Houston on Saturday, Feb. 4, 2023:

(All times are ET)

BROADCAST/STREAMING SCHEDULE: TV coverage of Round 5 will begin Saturday at 8 p.m. ET streaming on Peacock and will re-air Monday, Feb. 6 at 1 a.m. on CNBC. The Race Day Live show (including qualifying) will begin on Peacock at 2:30 p.m. ET.

NBC Sports will have exclusive live coverage of races, qualifiers and heats for the record 31 events in SuperMotocross. The main events will be presented on Peacock, NBC, USA Network, CNBC, and NBC Sports digital platforms.

Peacock will become the home of the SuperMotocross World Championship series in 2023 with live coverage of all races, qualifying, and heats from January to October. There will be 23 races livestreamed exclusively on Peacock, including a SuperMotocross World Championship Playoff event. The platform also will provide on-demand replays of every race.

ENTRY LISTS: 450 division l 250 division

EVENT SCHEDULE (all times ET):

Here are the start times for Saturday, according to the Monster Energy Supercross schedule from the AMA:

2:05-2:15 p.m.: 250SX Group C Qualifying 1
2:20-2:30 p.m.: 250SX Group B Qualifying 1
2:35-2:45 p.m.: 250SX Group A Qualifying 1
2:50-3 p.m.: 450SX Group A Qualifying 1
3:05-3:15 p.m.: 450SX Group B Qualifying 1
3:20-3:30 p.m.: 450SX Group C Qualifying 1
4:20-4:30 p.m.: 250SX Group C Qualifying 2
4:35-4:45 p.m.: 250SX Group B Qualifying 2
4:50-5 p.m.: 250SX Group A Qualifying 2
5:05-5:15 p.m.: 450SX Group A Qualifying 2
5:20-5:30 p.m.: 450SX Group B Qualifying 2
5:35-5:45 p.m.: 450SX Group C Qualifying 2
8:06 p.m.: 250SX Heat 1
8:20 p.m.: 250SX Heat 2
8:34 p.m.: 450SX Heat 1
8:48 p.m.: 450SX Heat 2
9:22 p.m.: 250SX Last Chance Qualifier
9:33 p.m.: 450SX Last Chance Qualifier
9:53 p.m.: 250SX Main Event
10:27 p.m.: 450SX Main Event


Click here to view the track map


FINAL 2022 STANDINGS: 450 points standings | 250 East points standings250 West points standings


ROUND 1: Eli Tomac opens title defense with victory

ROUND 2: Oakland postponed by storms

ROUND 3: Tomac holds off Cooper Webb again

ROUND 4: Chase Sexton wins Anaheim Triple Crown


Five things to watch in the 2023 Supercross season

Austin Forkner out for 2023 Supercross season

Malcolm Stewart aims for 450 breakthrough

A new attitude for Adam Cianciarulo in 2023

Ken Roczen signs with Suzuki

Hunter and Jett Lawrence walk a fine line with competition and fans

Three talented rookies move up to 450

Jett Lawrence wants to run 450 division for SMX playoffs