2016 Australian GP: All posts, one place

© Getty Images

The opening weekend of the 2016 Formula 1 season was certainly a memorable one. From the rain on Friday to the dramatic race on Sunday – and the failure of qualifying in-between – there were plenty of talking points coming away from Australia.

Nico Rosberg stole an early march in the championship race by taking his fourth consecutive grand prix victory, leading home Mercedes teammate Lewis Hamilton.

Sebastian Vettel and Ferrari had the early advantage in Melbourne, but Mercedes acted like true champions to dig out of a hole and come away with a one-two.

Recapping our online coverage of the Australian Grand Prix, here’s our ‘all posts, one place’ run-down.


Red Bull
Force India
Toro Rosso


Red Bull announces new partnership with Aston Martin
F1 Preview: 2016 Australian Grand Prix
F1 Paddock Pass: 2016 Australian Grand Prix (VIDEO)
Matchett: Mercedes may be keen to let their drivers race more in 2016
Hamilton: Ferrari has something up its sleeve in Melbourne
MotorSportsTalk’s Predictions: 2016 Australian GP
Daniel Ricciardo focused on Red Bull amid Ferrari link
Gutierrez: Team integration the biggest challenge for Haas on debut
Hamilton quickest in damp opening Australian GP practice


Hamilton leads, Rosberg crashes in second Australian GP practice
Alonso would regret leaving Ferrari if it wins 2016 F1 title
Ferrari spends most F1 engine tokens ahead of new season
Rosberg apologizes to Mercedes after Australia practice crash (VIDEO)
F1 officials confident teams won’t dodge radio silence rules
F1 team bosses welcome Haas, offer advice ahead of debut
Maurizio Arrivabene brands Ecclestone’s cartel comments “ridiculous”
Gene Haas admits to nerves ahead of his team’s F1 debut
F1 ‘Halo’ cockpit protection progressing well, 2017 debut possible


Hamilton heads up Mercedes one-two in final Australian GP practice
Red Bull offers preview of proposed F1 canopy design
Hamilton claims 50th F1 pole as new qualifying format debuts in Australia
How long will F1’s new qualifying format last? (VIDEO)
Hamilton pleased with ‘sexy laps’ en route to Australia pole
Vettel not surprised by criticism of new F1 qualifying format
Wolff calls new qualifying format “pretty rubbish”
If F1 wants to shake up qualifying, it should look to IndyCar
Grosjean, Gutierrez frustrated as Haas struggles in Australia qualifying
Horner: F1 should apologize to fans for qualifying farce
Alonso, Button upbeat after reaching Q2 in Australia
Haryanto handed grid penalty after pit lane run-in with Grosjean
F1 team bosses agree to revert to 2015 qualifying format for Bahrain


What to watch for: Australian Grand Prix
Alonso, Gutierrez walk away from terrifying Australia crash (VIDEO)
Rosberg takes fourth straight win in Australia as Haas finishes sixth on debut
Haas makes history in Australia, enjoys stunning debut run to P6
Alonso happy to be alive after horror crash in Australia
Grosjean: Sixth place on debut like a win for Haas
Brake issue almost forced Rosberg to retire in Australia
Vettel: Mercedes caught Ferrari out with tire call
Hamilton takes second in Australia as a ‘bonus’ after fightback
F1 Paddock Pass: 2016 Australian Grand Prix post-race (VIDEO)
Verstappen frustrated by Toro Rosso miscommunication in Australia
Palmer enjoys strong F1 debut in Australia, narrowly missing points
Massa quietly impresses en route to fifth in Australian GP
Rosberg hails Mercedes strategy call after Australian GP victory
Daniel Ricciardo: Red Bull not far off Mercedes, Ferrari


FIA stewards take no action over Alonso/Gutierrez crash
Gene Haas: Debut F1 points justify taking an extra year to prepare
Steiner not getting carried away with Haas’ debut points
Romain Grosjean wins first F1 Driver of the Day in Australia