Indy 500 car count up to 28 with several more deals yet to get finalized

Getty Images

Recent confirmations of Alex Tagliani and JR Hildebrand back with A.J. Foyt Enterprises and Ed Carpenter Racing, respectively, for the Angie’s List Grand Prix of Indianapolis and 100th Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil have broken a recent quiet spell in terms of additional entries being announced.

They take the number of confirmed team/car combinations up to 28, with a couple others close if not formally announced.

Here’s the 21 full-season cars:

  • Chip Ganassi Racing (4): Scott Dixon, Tony Kanaan, Charlie Kimball, Max Chilton
  • Team Penske (4): Juan Pablo Montoya, Helio Castroneves, Will Power, Simon Pagenaud
  • Andretti Autosport (4): Ryan Hunter-Reay, Marco Andretti, Carlos Munoz, Alexander Rossi
  • Schmidt Peterson Motorsports (2): James Hinchcliffe, Mikhail Aleshin
  • A.J. Foyt Enterprises (2): Takuma Sato, Jack Hawksworth
  • Dale Coyne Racing (2): Conor Daly, Luca Filippi (not confirmed for full-season yet, but projected)
  • KVSH Racing (1): Sebastien Bourdais
  • Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing (1): Graham Rahal
  • Ed Carpenter Racing (1): Josef Newgarden

Here are then the seven confirmed additional entries:

  • Ed Carpenter Racing (2): Ed Carpenter, JR Hildebrand
  • Dale Coyne Racing (1): Bryan Clauson
  • PIRTEK Team Murray (KVRT technical alliance) (1): Matthew Brabham
  • Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing (1): Spencer Pigot
  • A.J. Foyt Enterprises (1): Alex Tagliani
  • Dreyer & Reinbold Racing (1): Sage Karam

Additionally, here is the engine breakdown:

  • Honda (14): Andretti 4, Coyne 3, Foyt 3, SPM 2, RLL 2
  • Chevrolet (14): Ganassi 4, Penske 4, Carpenter 3, KVSH 1, PIRTEK 1, DRR 1

Hildebrand, Brabham, Pigot and Tagliani will also race at the Angie’s List Grand Prix of Indianapolis, which brings that race’s car count up to 25 cars.

Dale Coyne Racing has all but officially confirmed its fourth car for Pippa Mann for the ‘500, and Buddy Lazier told Trackside Online at Phoenix he expects to return as well.

Grace Autosport has also announced a program for Katherine Legge, but is yet to align with a team or engine partner.

Projected additional entries are expected to come from Andretti Autosport (fifth car), Schmidt/Peterson Motorsports (third car) and KVSH Racing (third car, either as KVSH or KVRT).

All three team principals have told NBC Sports of their intention to add an extra car for the month of May.

Chip Ganassi Racing Teams is doubtful to add a fifth car given its other programs, with its four Ford GTs set for the 24 Hours of Le Mans and cars/crew being needed for that, plus the Red Bull Global Rallycross season opening on May 21 and 22 at Phoenix. Ganassi is yet to formally announce its 2016 Red Bull GRC program, but the team indicated last year its plan to continue.

Travis Pastrana leads flag-to-flag in Nitro Rallycross as the series returns to America

Pastrana Nitro Rallycross
Barry Chin / Getty Images

Travis Pastrana waited until the final trip around ERX Motor Park to take his Joker Lap – a longer way around the course that all drivers must do at least once in a race – and came out cleanly to win his first Nitro Rallycross race of 2022. With this win, Pastrana is the third driver to visit Victory Lane in the first three rounds of the 2022-23 season.

“This is the closest to a motocross track,” Pastrana told Katie Osborne on Peacock. “Thank you so much for a beautiful facility. It’s been a rough start to the season and I’m so thankful to be back out here. We had a good run in the side-by-side and now for this. This is much needed.”

Another thing needed was the sense of improvement. And Pastrana earned that affirmation each time he completed a lap around the course.

“I get my lap times read out and they said ‘fastest time of the week,’ ‘fastest time of the week’ (each time around) ” Pastrana said. “This is really special. We’re a long way behind in the championship, but welcome to America.”

In a pre-race press conference, Pastrana said that as Nitro Rallycross heads back to America, it was time for an American to win and he made good on his promise. Pastrana took the early lead over Robin Larsson and let the back of his Subaru hang out, taking risks he might not otherwise take if not for his need to win.

How to Watch Nitro Rallycross

Larsson’s second-place finish completed a perfect sweep of the podium in three rounds. In fact, he has not yet finished worse than second after winning the opening round at Lydden Hill in the United Kingdom and finishing second at Strangnas in Sweeden.

Fraser McConnel rounded out the podium for his best result of the season. He finished fourth in each of the first two rounds.

Last year, Pastrana finished second in this race to Scott Speed before narrowly edging his teammate for the championship.

Andreas Bakkerud crashed in prelims, but rebounded to finish just off the block in fourth. Bakkerud won the second round ahead of his teammate Larsson.

Oliver Bennett completed the top five.

Minneapolis is the first of three rounds scheduled in the United States. Next on the schedule is Glen Helen, Calif. on Octo 30 and then Phoenix at Wild Horse Pass on November 12th. Nitro Rallycross will then head to Saudi Arabia in December to continue their 2022-23 season.