Here are your Phoenix IndyCar TV times on NBCSN, Live Extra

Getty Images
1 Comment

The Verizon IndyCar Series returns to Phoenix International Raceway this weekend for the first time since 2005. It also marks our kickoff to NBCSN’s coverage for the 2016 season, as the first of 11 races between now and the season finale at Sonoma on September 18.

A breakdown of this week’s talent, coverage plans and TV times is linked below – NBCSN will air live coverage of first practice and qualifying on Friday with the race coverage on Saturday, beginning at 8:30 p.m. ET with the pre-race show. All sessions also air via NBC Sports Group’s live streaming platform, NBC Sports Live Extra, for participating cable providers.


NBCSN begins its coverage of the 2016 Verizon IndyCar Series this Saturday in the desert southwest with primetime coverage of the Phoenix Grand Prix. Two weekends ago at the Grand Prix of St. Petersburg, Juan Pablo Montoya (Penske) held off teammate Simon Pagenaud to win the first race of the 2016 campaign. NBCSN’s coverage begins Friday at 1 p.m. ET with live coverage of practice, followed by live coverage of qualifying on Friday afternoon at 5 p.m. ET.

This week’s race marks IndyCar’s first race at Phoenix International Raceway in more than a decade (2005). Current drivers Tony Kanaan (Chip Ganassi Racing) and Helio Castroneves (Penske) have won previously at Phoenix International Raceway. NBCSN IndyCar analyst Paul Tracy was a two-time winner at Phoenix (1988 and 1990) in the American Racing Series, the precursor to the current Indy Lights series.

Rick Allen, who serves as NBC Sports Group’s lead NASCAR play-by-play announcer, will handle the play-by-play duties for this week’s Phoenix Grand Prix, filling in for lead IndyCar and F1 announcer Leigh Diffey, who will call the F1 Bahrain Grand Prix. Paul Tracy, who won 31 career open-wheel races spanning IndyCar, Champ Car, and CART, and was the 2003 CART Champion, returns for his third season as race analyst. Townsend Bell, who has raced nine times at the Indianapolis 500 and won the GT Class at last year’s Rolex 24 at Daytona, is back for his fourth season in the booth.

Marty Snider, Robin Miller, Kevin Lee, and Katie Hargitt, will handle coverage in the pits in Phoenix. Click here for NBCSN’s full IndyCar schedule.

NBCSN is coming off its most-watched IndyCar season ever, averaging more than 500,000 viewers across 11 races in 2015, up 34% vs. 2014 viewership. The season finale at Sonoma averaged 841,000 viewers to become the most-watched IndyCar race on NBCSN since rights were acquired in 2009, and the most-watched IndyCar race on cable in seven years.

Click here for more information on NBCSN’s record IndyCar viewership in 2015.


Date Program Network Time (ET)
Fri., April 1 IndyCar Phoenix Grand Prix – Practice NBCSN 1 p.m.
IndyCar Chronicles – Scott Dixon NBCSN 2:30 p.m.
IndyCar Phoenix Grand Prix – Qualifying NBCSN 5 p.m.
Sat., April 2 IndyCar Phoenix Grand Prix – Pre-Race NBCSN 8:30 p.m.
IndyCar Phoenix Grand Prix NBCSN 9 p.m.
IndyCar Phoenix Grand Prix – Post-Race NBCSN 11 p.m.
Mon., April 4 IndyCar Phoenix Grand Prix (Encore) NBCSN 3 p.m.

IndyCar releases schedule for 2023 season

IndyCar schedule 2023
Douglas Stringer/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

The NTT IndyCar Series’ 2023 schedule will feature the same number of races and tracks as this season with some minor reshuffling of dates.

IndyCar will open the 2023 season March 5 on the streets of St. Petersburg, Florida, and will conclude Sept. 10 at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca in Monterey, California. The 107th Indy 500 will take place May 28 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

The 17-race schedule will conclude with a stretch of eight races in the final nine weeks.

“The NTT IndyCar Series is on an impactful upward trajectory, making progress at a pace that befits our thrilling style of competition,” Penske Entertainment Corp. president and CEO Mark Miles said in a release. “The 2023 season provides an opportunity to further build on this trend, bringing our sport and its stars to more markets and households and reaching new consumers across the globe.”

There will be 15 events on NBC: 13 races (including six of the final seven) plus Indy 500 qualifying May 20-21. There also are three races on USA Network and the Toronto race exclusively on Peacock. All races on NBC and USA also will have live simulstreams on Peacock.

In partnership with NBC Sports, the 2022 IndyCar season was the most-watched in six years and the most-watched across NBC Sports on record. The 2022 season also was the most streamed season on record.

“We’re very excited for our 2023 NTT IndyCar Series schedule and to build on this past season’s viewership milestones,” NBC Sports vice president of programming Mike Perman said in a release. “In providing comprehensive coverage across NBC, Peacock and USA Network, NBC Sports is once again looking forward to telling the stories of these world-class drivers and this compelling series.”

Notable elements on the 2023 schedule:

–There will be the same balance of seven road course races, five street courses and five ovals.

–St. Pete will be the season opener for the 13th time.

–The Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix will move from Belle Isle to the streets of downtown.

–The NASCAR doubleheader weekend at the IMS road course will shift to mid-August.

–The World Wide Technology Raceway event will move from Saturday to Sunday.

Start times for the 2023 events will be announced at a later date.

Here’s the 2023 IndyCar schedule:

Date Race/Track Network/Platform
Sun., March 5 Streets of St. Petersburg NBC, Peacock
Sun., April 2 Texas Motor Speedway NBC, Peacock
Sun., April 16 Streets of Long Beach NBC, Peacock
Sun., April 30 Barber Motorsports Park NBC, Peacock
Sat., May 13 Indianapolis Motor Speedway (Road Course) NBC, Peacock
Sun., May 28 The 107th Indianapolis 500 NBC, Peacock
Sun., June 4 Streets of Detroit NBC, Peacock
Sun., June 18 Road America USA Network, Peacock
Sun., July 2 Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course USA Network, Peacock
Sun., July 16 Streets of Toronto Peacock
Sat., July 22 Iowa Speedway – Race 1 NBC, Peacock
Sun., July 23 Iowa Speedway – Race 2 NBC, Peacock
Sun., Aug. 6 Streets of Nashville NBC, Peacock
Sat., Aug. 12 Indianapolis Motor Speedway (Road Course) USA Network, Peacock
Sun., Aug. 27 World Wide Technology Raceway NBC, Peacock
Sun., Sept. 3 Portland International Raceway NBC, Peacock
Sun., Sept. 10 WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca NBC, Peacock

*dates and networks/platforms are subject to change