Rosberg ‘was sure’ he’d be on pole, tips cap to Hamilton

Leave a comment

Nico Rosberg did all he could under the lights in Q3 to secure the pole position for Sunday’s Bahrain Grand Prix, but came up just short.

Still, a 1:29.570 lap time was nothing for the Mercedes AMG Petronas driver and Australian Grand Prix winner to scoff at as he dipped under the 1:30s barrier, narrowly falling short of both pole and the previous fastest lap at Bahrain International Circuit set by Mark Webber in 2005.

“I think Lewis just did a great lap in the end!” Rosberg said post-qualifying, in tipping his cap to teammate and pole winner Lewis Hamilton, who clocked a 1:29.493 to beat him.

“My lap felt good, and I was actually sure I’d be on pole. But that wasn’t the case, so there we go, that’s the way it is.”

Rosberg, who won from second in Melbourne, wasn’t too downbeat afterwards. He thinks he can take the fight to Hamilton.

“This is a track I think where pole counts least because a lot of things can happen in the race, and strategy and everything tomorrow is quite messy maybe. There’s still a lot of opportunities,” he explained.

Rosberg’s traditionally done well in Bahrain, although he’s yet to win.

Past results there include a seventh (with fastest lap) on his debut in 2006 with Williams, then 10th, eighth, ninth, fifth, fifth, ninth, second and third.

IndyCar entry lists for Harvest GP at Indianapolis Motor Speedway

IndyCar entry lists Indianapolis
Chris Graythen/Getty Images
Leave a comment

There are 25 drivers on the NTT IndyCar Series entry lists at Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course with a few new yet familiar faces for the Oct. 2-3 race weekend.

Four-time champion Sebastien Bourdais will make his season debut in the No. 14 Dallara-Chevrolet (shifting Dalton Kellett to the No. 41) with AJ Foyt Racing, which he is joining full time next season. James Hinchcliffe, who had run three races with Andretti Autosport, will return in place of Zach Veach in the No. 26 Dallara-Honda. Helio Castroneves will drive Arrow McLaren SP’s No. 7 Dallara-Chevy for Oliver Askew, who is out with concussion-like symptoms.

Sage Karam, who has two IndyCar starts this year at IMS (the road course on July 4 and the Indy 500 on Aug. 23), also will return to the series in Dreyer & Reinbold’s No. 24 Dallara-Chevrolet.


Friday and Saturday of the Harvest GP presented by GMR will mark the second and third races this season on Indianapolis Motor Speedway’s 14-turn, 2.439-mile road course. While the July 4 race on the circuit was 80 laps, Friday’s distance is 85 laps, and Saturday will be a 75-lap event.

Championship leader Scott Dixon led 26 of 80 laps to win the July 4 race at the IMS road course. With three races remaining in the series, the five-time series champion enters with a 72-point lead on Josef Newgarden.

Click here to see who’s on the IndyCar entry lists in Race 1 and in Race 2 for the Harvest GP presented by GMR at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course.



IndyCar NTT Series practice: 2:25-3:40 p.m., NBC Sports Gold

IndyCar qualifying, Race 1: 6:20 p.m. (two groups/12 minutes apiece), NBC Sports Gold


—IndyCar Harvest Grand Prix, Race 1: 3:30 p.m. (green flag, 5 p.m.), USA Network, NBC Sports Gold


—IndyCar qualifying: 10:20 a.m. (two groups/12 minutes apiece), NBC Sports Gold

—IndyCar Harvest Grand Prix, Race 2: 2:30 p.m (green flag, 2:31 p.m.)., NBC, NBC Sports Gold