courtesy of Indianapolis Motor Speedway LLC

Paul Goldsmith and Pat Patrick to be inducted in IMS Museum

Leave a comment

Paul Goldsmith and Pat Patrick will be the 151st and 152nd inductees to the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Auto Racing Hall of Fame.

Founded in 1952, the museum will induct Goldsmith and Patrick in conjunction with an annual meeting of the Indianapolis 500 Oldtimers.

No matter what form of racing a fan enjoys, Goldsmith is likely to be relevant. In 1954, he won the American Motorcyclist Association championship and followed a path already blazed blazed by another motorcycle superstar Joe Weatherly. Goldsmith joined Smokey Yunick in NASCAR in 1956 and the finished fourth in their second race together. Goldsmith won his first Cup race at Langhorne Speedway in his eighth start later that season.

Goldsmith was also a United States Auto Club (USAC) stock car championship in 1961 and 1962.

His open wheel achievements were rare, but Goldsmith entered six Indy 500s and finished third in the 1960 Indy 500.

E. “Pat” Patrick was more successful at Indy, but not as a driver. His fame came as an owner with three winning cars in the Indianapolis 500.

As an owner, Patrick scored 45 victories in USAC’s open wheel division and in Championship Auto Racing Teams (CART) competition.

Patrick’s drivers won the 1973 and 1982 Indy 500s with Gordon Johncock behind the week. In 1989, he found his way to Victory Lane again with Emerson Fittipaldi.

Patrick’s eye for talent was great and two of the five winningest drivers in the series history were included in his stable. Mario Andretti and Al Unser Sr. were joined by other notable greats Johnny Rutherford, Wally Dallenbach Sr., Chip Ganassi, and Jimmy Vasser.

Goldsmith and Patrick will be honored on May 26, 2016.

Follow: @FantasyRace


Andretti United team names drivers for inaugural Extreme E season

Extreme E drivers Andretti
Extreme E
Leave a comment

The Extreme E team formed by Andretti Autosport and United Autosports named Catie Munnings and Timmy Hansen as its drivers Monday for the series’ inaugural 2021 season.

Munnings is a successful veteran of rally series. Hansen is a past winner and champion in the World Rallycross Championship.

They both will race in the environmentally conscious electric SUV series that will hold events in five areas around the world that are threatened by climate change. Chip Ganassi Racing and six-time Formula One champion Lewis Hamilton also are fielding cars in Extreme E, which will feature male and female co-drivers on every team.

Catie Munnings

“I’m so excited to join Andretti United Extreme E,” Munnings said in a release. ““I was really intrigued when I first heard about Extreme E, I just knew I had to be involved. The male / female racing partnership is a fantastic and exciting new concept. The season has incredible locations and the racing will be very exciting. It will be a new challenge for the teams and drivers, and I’m so thrilled to be working with such a strong team.

“The championship is a really innovative concept, it’s combining motorsport and science and will produce an important legacy in each race location. Bringing the platform that motorsport has in line with the awareness that the planet needs right now is awesome and a really important message.”

Timmy Hansen

Said Hansen: “Going into the Extreme E will be a new chapter in my career, one that I am extremely excited about. It is something brand new, not only for me, but the whole of motorsport. The format is something

we’ve never seen before. I’m also delighted to be able to carry the message of something bigger – talking about the environment and doing something good for the world – that’s something that really drives me. It’s going to be a big adventure in life to see these locations and I’m going to do my best in carrying this responsibility and hopefully making people aware of the challenges we have in the world, together with our passion for racing.”