PWC reveals new GTS rules, with GT4-spec the future direction

Parker Chase's Ginetta GT4. Photo: PWC

GT4-spec cars have made their way into the Pirelli World Challenge GTS class this year and over the next two years, the class is expected evolve solely into the GT4 platform.

SRO founder Stephane Ratel, who joined WC Vision’s Board of Directors at Long Beach, told NBC Sports at Long Beach he could see GTS moving to a solely GT4 platform, which this release confirms.

Here’s the full release from the series:

Coming off another exciting Pirelli World Challenge GTS race weekend at Barber Motorsports Park, WC Vision LLC, producers of the Pirelli World Challenge, today announced the series’ future plans for the Grand Touring Sedan class.

In 2017, the GTS category will include all applicable SRO-homologated GT4 cars and the Pirelli World Challenge series will grandfather in current 2016 GTS classified vehicles. Full SRO GT4 compliance is expected for the PWC series in 2018.

In 2016, the GTS division has already enlisted ten different auto manufacturers competing in the first six rounds and four of the auto makers have reached victory lane. The ten models include Chevrolet Camaro Z-28, KTM XBow GT4, Ford Boss 302, SIN Car R1 GT4, Ginetta GT4, Lotus Evora GT4, Aston Martin Vantage GT4, Maserati Gran Turismo MC, Audi TT RS and Porsche Cayman.

“The PWC series was the first in this country to adopt the global GT3 platform with our Competition Director Marcus Haselgrove leading that charge,” said Greg Gill, WC Vision President and CEO. “Now, as the series reviewed the data from its first six rounds of GTS racing, we are ready to confirm the full addition of GT4 to GTS in 2017, with a year transition time for adoption of the SRO GT4 homologation globally by 2018. We anticipate hearing about more OEM entries into the GTS class in the coming weeks. This is a very exciting time for GTS racing and its drivers, teams and sponsors. We see a great future for GTS.”

Beginning in the third and fourth quarters of 2015, the Pirelli World Challenge established a testing program for GT4 cars as the North American GT production series worked closely with the SRO, the series’ technical partner, to examine GT4 cars homologated by the worldwide sports car organization.

“The PWC series supported the homologated GT3 concept in North America, attracting many new manufacturers,” said Haselgrove, “The goal in the competition department has been to assist all manufacturers with their motorsport ladder systems. I proposed in January, 2015 that GT4 was a logical step for the series. We took a bold move allowing manufacturers to test in public on race weekends. Through transparency other manufacturers looked at the GT4 platform developed by Stephane Ratel and technical director Claude Surmont (SRO) for their North America customers. Already five new manufacturers have joined since last season’s final race at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca. This also answers to feedback from the fans for more manufacturers.”

Two-time GTS champion Lawson Aschenbach (548 points) currently leads the GTS point standings as the series heads to Canadian Tire Motorsport Park on May 19-22 for Rounds 7-8.  Fifteen-year-old racer Parker Chase (518) holds the second position in GTS points followed by Brent Sandberg (504), Nate Stacy (440), Jack Roush Jr. (420), Scott Dollahite (361) and Tony Gaples (326).

Max Verstappen is PointsBet favorite to score sixth staight in 2022 Singapore Grand Prix

PointsBet 2022 Singapore odds
Mark Thompson / Getty Images

Max Verstappen is the PointsBet Sportsbook odds favorite to win the 2022 Singapore Grand Prix on the Marina Bay Street course to stretch his current win streak to six consecutive. He shows odds of -200 this week.

Formula 1 did not compete in Singapore in 2020 or 2021 due to the COVID-19 pandemic, but Verstappen has podium finishes in his last two attempts on this track. he was second in 2018 and third in 2019. In the first 15 races of this season, he has failed to stand on the podium only twice and has an average finish of 2.73.

With minus odds, the way to determine a payout is by subtraction. In order for a bettor to earn $100, he must wager $200 this week; with that wager, he will get back his initial stake and winnings of $100.

For bettors more comfortable with fractional odds, a bet of +300 is the same as 3/1.

Charles Leclerc is ranked second this week with +400 odds. He has two previous Singapore GP starts to his credit with a best of second in 2019. He is coming off back-to-back podium finishes with a third in the Dutch GP and a second at Monza.

Ranked third is Carlos Sainz, Jr. with a line of +1100. He has top-five finishes in four of his last five starts, but only one of these, a third in the Belgian GP, was on the podium. Sainz is one of four winners other than Verstappen this season. His victory came in the British GP.

Lewis Hamilton shows a line of +1200. His last win came last fall in the Saudi Arabian GP and the Mercedes team has struggled to contend for victory in 2022. They are improving, however, with eight top-fives in the last nine races. Hamilton has two wins in his last three Singapore starts, which came in 2017 and 2018.

Rounding out the top five is Hamilton’s teammate George Russell at +1800. He has not won, but has shown remarkable consistency with top-fives in all but one race. Notably, his only bad finish came in his home GP in England. Russell has one previous start at Marina Bay; he finished last in the 2019 race. He finished fourth in 2019 as part of a four-race streak of top-fives.

The most recent Singapore GP winner from 2019, Sebastian Vettel is a longshot at +50000.

PointsBet is our Official Sports Betting Partner, and we may receive compensation if you place a bet on PointsBet for the first time after clicking our links.

Italian GP Odds
Dutch GP Odds
Belgium GP Odds
French GP Odds
Austrian GP Odds
Canadian GP Odds
Azerbaijan GP Odds
Monaco GP Odds
Spanish GP Odds
Miami GP Odds
Saudi Arabian GP odds
Australian GP odds
Romagna GP Odds