Webber rules out future Indy 500 run for shot at Triple Crown

© Getty Images

SPA – Mark Webber has ruled out a future entry to the Indianapolis 500 for a shot at becoming just the second driver in history to complete the Triple Crown of Motorsport.

The Triple Crown is made up of the Indy 500, the 24 Hours of Le Mans and the Monaco Grand Prix, three of racing’s most prestigious and challenging events.

Graham Hill is the only driver to have won all three legs, claiming five wins at Monaco alongside victory at the Brickyard in 1966 and Le Mans in 1972.

Webber won the Monaco Grand Prix in 2010 and 2012, and will battle for his first Le Mans victory with Porsche next month after finishing second in last year’s race.

With one leg ticked off and one well within reach, might Webber enter the 500 in the future for a shot at completing the Triple Crown?

“No,” Webber said ahead of Saturday’s FIA World Endurance Championship race at Spa.

“You need to be specialized, you need to grow up on that stuff I think.

“On the ovals, I think I would enjoy the high-speed nature when I was younger, but not at 40.

“I’m too sensible now.”

The only active driver who has two legs completed is Juan Pablo Montoya, having won the Monaco Grand Prix in 2003 and the Indy 500 on two occasions.

Montoya enjoyed a successful test with Porsche in an LMP1 car at the end of last year and was receptive to a possible run at Le Mans.

However, it seems unlikely in the short-term after the German marque’s decision to stop entering a third car to the race in the wake of the Volkswagen emissions scandal.