Getty Images

100th Indianapolis 500 team preview: Chip Ganassi Racing

Leave a comment

MotorSportsTalk looks through the Verizon IndyCar Series grid ahead of the 100th Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil. Here’s Chip Ganassi Racing Teams.

Last year, Chip Ganassi Racing Teams ended Team Penske’s pole run going into the Indianapolis 500 but came up just shy of the win with first Scott Dixon, then Charlie Kimball. After winning three of five ‘500s from 2008 to 2012, Ganassi looks to end a three-year drought this year. Ganassi has four Indianapolis 500 victories (2000, 2008, 2010, 2012). 


Max Chilton-R, No. 8 Gallagher Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet
Scott Dixon-W, No. 9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet
Tony Kanaan-W, No. 10 NTT Data Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet
Charlie Kimball, No. 42 Tresiba Chevrolet


Scott Dixon’s traditional slow start hasn’t occurred; instead, the four-time and defending series champion is unlucky to have only won once, at Phoenix. A controversial runner-up result at Long Beach was frustrating, as was getting tapped by Le Mans teammate Sebastien Bourdais in Barber. Elsewhere Tony Kanaan, Max Chilton and Charlie Kimball have had similar strong moments but not yet matched Dixon in terms of contending for wins, outside of Kanaan at Phoenix. 


In a statistical oddity, Dixon hasn’t ended best of the Ganassi bunch at Indy since 2009, when he finished sixth. Yet he was back in win contention after a couple years in the wilderness last year. Kanaan is the guy who needs a bounce back at Indy – he’s been quick but he’s been in accidents the last two years since his 2013 win.

Kimball remains underrated at Indy with three top-10s his last four years here, and Chilton is a strong contender for race rookie-of-the-year, particularly if his confidence and cleanliness carries over from his first IndyCar oval race at Phoenix. 


  • 2015: 3. 83-Kimball (14), 4. 9-Dixon (1), 23. 17-Saavedra (27), 26. 10-Kanaan (4), 32. 8-Karam (21)
  • 2014: 18. 8-Briscoe (30), 26. 10-Kanaan (16), 29. 9-Dixon (11), 31. 83-Kimball (26)
  • 2013: 9. 83-Kimball (19), 12. 8-Briscoe (23), 14. 9-Dixon (16), 23. 10-Franchitti (17)
  • 2012: 1. 50-Franchitti (16), 2. 9-Dixon (15), 8. 83-Kimball (14) 13. 38-Rahal (12)

Mario Andretti says Colton Herta could be next American star in F1

Leave a comment

Mario Andretti’s last Formula One victory is also the last by an American driver in more than 42 years on the international open-wheel road racing series.

If you had told Andretti that while he was celebrating on the Grand Prix of the Netherlands podium on Aug. 27, 1978 at the Vandzoort circuit, he wouldn’t have believed it.

“Absolutely not,” Andretti told Kyle Petty during the most recent “Coffee With Kyle” episode (video above). “It’s a shame. Somehow we have so much talent here, and either there’s no invitation or something there. But I think it’s time to give some of this young talent that, in my opinion, is absolutely capable.”

The Dutch GP was the last of Andretti’s 12 victories in F1 and came during his championship season. No one since has come close to matching his success in F1.

Mario Andretti drives his Lotus-Ford to victory in the 1978 Grand Prix of the Netherlands (Bernard Cahier/Getty Images).

Andretti’s son, Michael, took a full-time ride with McLaren in 1993 but left with three races remaining in a season marred by crashes and mechanical problems.

Scott Speed was the last American to run a full F1 season in 2006, and Alexander Rossi made the most recent F1 start by a U.S. driver in 2015. Rossi has said he has no desire to return to racing in Europe after winning the 2016 Indianapolis 500 and becoming an IndyCar championship contender.

But Mario Andretti believes Andretti Autosport has another rising star with F1-caliber ability.

“Colton Herta is one that comes to mind,” Mario Andretti said. “As a young lad, his dad sent him to Europe, he was doing Formula 3, and he knows most of the circuits there. He’s trained. He’s showed in his rookie season and won some premium races at COTA (and Laguna Seca), beat two of the very best Indy has to offer (in) Will Power and Scott Dixon.

“This is one kid I’d love to see him get a break over there to fly the U.S. colors again.”

Herta, 20, seems interested in exploring an F1 leap over the next few years. After winning Sept. 13 at Mid-Ohio from the pole position (his third career victory in the NTT IndyCar Series), the No. 88 Dallara-Honda driver is ranked fourth in the standings in his sophomore year and regarded as one of the series’ top prospects.

Herta recently told “I’d love to give Formula 1 a crack” but said he also would be happy driving in IndyCar and IMSA.

A naturalized U.S. citizen who told Petty about spending several years with his family in an Italian refugee camp before coming to America, Mario Andretti said F1 brought an enormous sense of patriotic pride.

“Formula One is like the Olympics in a sense,” he said. “You’re in a different country, a different continent. When you earn that highest step of the podium, they play your national anthem. That’s when you take nothing for granted. You feel like I’m representing my country, and the proudest moments are those.

“I’d just like to see some other American drivers experience that. It’s time.”

Mario Andretti with four-time NASCAR champion Jeff Gordon and six-time Formula One champion Lewis Hamilton before the Nov. 22, 2015 season finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway (Jared C. Tilton/NASCAR via Getty Images).

During the “Coffee With Kyle” conversation, Andretti also discussed:

–His versatility as a winner in IndyCar, sports cars, NASCAR and Formula One;

–His 1967 Daytona 500 victory and how he enjoyed racing with crew chief Jake Elder at the famed Holman-Moody team;

Mario Andretti Colton Herta
Mario Andretti and Kyle Petty saluted “The King” by wearing their Richard Petty-style hats during the latest “Coffee With Kyle” (NBCSN).

–Why he delayed his entry to F1 for a few years because of his earnings power in IndyCar. “I always say I’d race for free, but at the same time, you’re thinking of family and the future,” he said. “It was in the back of your mind that you can’t give up the earning power of IndyCar. That kept me from going full time in Formula One, but I always said that sometime in my career, I’d have to devote a period to Formula One.”

–On what it was like racing in an era when driver deaths were more prevalent. “If you’re going to do this, you’re not going to dwell on those negatives,” Andretti said. “There’s no way. You knew it was present. Especially in the ‘60s at the beginning of the season at the drivers meetings, you couldn’t help but look around and say, ‘I wonder who is not going to be here at the end of the season.’ We’d lose four to five guys. In ’64, we lost six guys.

“It’s something if you dwell on that, you’re going to take on a different profession. It’s a desire and love to want to drive that overcame all that and then the confidence it’s not going to happen to me. And then you pray.”

Watch the full “Coffee With Kyle” episode in the video above or by clicking here.

Mario Andretti looks on before the 103rd Indianapolis 500 on May 26, 2019 (Chris Graythen/Getty Images).