Getty Images

100th Indianapolis 500 team preview: A.J. Foyt Enterprises

Leave a comment

A.J. Foyt’s four Indy 500 wins (1961, 1964, 1967, 1977) remain legendary and the all-time record, and he added another win as an owner with Kenny Brack in 1999. Things really haven’t been great for the Indy legend and his team at the ‘500 since the dawn of the new millennium.


Takuma Sato, No. 14 ABC Supply Co. Honda
Alex Tagliani, No. 35 Alfe Heat Treating Special Honda
Jack Hawksworth, No. 41 ABC Supply Co. Honda


It’s been a weird one. Sato’s overachieved on a couple of occasions and Hawksworth’s practice pace hasn’t translated into qualifying spots or results come race day. The team seems to have a better cohesion as a unit and is certainly further forward over the course of a weekend than it was last year, but isn’t carrying the consistency throughout the weekend.


Sato soldiered on after first-lap contact with Sage Karam last year, and only a late splash-and-dash prevented a possible top-five or likely top-10 finish in 2014. You know Sato will make things exciting for sure. Hawksworth needs a less dramatic month after last year and Tagliani, an Indy veteran, adds another set of data and will be better positioned having had the full month including the Grand Prix. It’s still hard to project too much for this group as a whole, unless their practice pace flatters.


  • 2015: 13. 14-Sato (24), 17. 48-Tagliani (20), 24. 41-Hawksworth (28)
  • 2014: 19. 14-Sato (23), 23. 41-Plowman (29)
  • 2013: 13. 14-Sato (18), 22. 41-Daly (31)
  • 2012: 29. 14-Conway (29), 31. 41-Cunningham (26)

Andretti United team names drivers for inaugural Extreme E season

Extreme E drivers Andretti
Extreme E
Leave a comment

The Extreme E team formed by Andretti Autosport and United Autosports named Catie Munnings and Timmy Hansen as its drivers Monday for the series’ inaugural 2021 season.

Munnings is a successful veteran of rally series. Hansen is a past winner and champion in the World Rallycross Championship.

They both will race in the environmentally conscious electric SUV series that will hold events in five areas around the world that are threatened by climate change. Chip Ganassi Racing and six-time Formula One champion Lewis Hamilton also are fielding cars in Extreme E, which will feature male and female co-drivers on every team.

Catie Munnings

“I’m so excited to join Andretti United Extreme E,” Munnings said in a release. ““I was really intrigued when I first heard about Extreme E, I just knew I had to be involved. The male / female racing partnership is a fantastic and exciting new concept. The season has incredible locations and the racing will be very exciting. It will be a new challenge for the teams and drivers, and I’m so thrilled to be working with such a strong team.

“The championship is a really innovative concept, it’s combining motorsport and science and will produce an important legacy in each race location. Bringing the platform that motorsport has in line with the awareness that the planet needs right now is awesome and a really important message.”

Timmy Hansen

Said Hansen: “Going into the Extreme E will be a new chapter in my career, one that I am extremely excited about. It is something brand new, not only for me, but the whole of motorsport. The format is something

we’ve never seen before. I’m also delighted to be able to carry the message of something bigger – talking about the environment and doing something good for the world – that’s something that really drives me. It’s going to be a big adventure in life to see these locations and I’m going to do my best in carrying this responsibility and hopefully making people aware of the challenges we have in the world, together with our passion for racing.”