Photo: IndyCar

100th Indianapolis 500 team preview: All teams


MotorSportsTalk looks through the Verizon IndyCar Series grid ahead of the 100th Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil.

Here’s links to all full-season team previews, below, which comprise 31 of the projected 33 cars:

Here’s final previews for the two single-car teams in the field, Dreyer & Reinbold-Kingdom Racing and Lazier Burns Racing.

Photo: DRR-Kingdom Racing
Photo: DRR-Kingdom Racing

Dreyer & Reinbold Racing-Kingdom Racing

The Dennis Reinbold-led team has soldiered on as an Indianapolis 500-only entrant, and a competitive one, since leaving IndyCar full-time after the 2013 race. Three top-15 finishes in the last three years speak volumes of their ability level, and in truth, they’re probably disappointed their results haven’t been better.


Sage Karam, No. 24 Gas Monkey Energy Chevrolet


Lots to prove here for one of only two single-car teams, which unlike in 2014 for Karam’s debut is not running as part of a technical partnership with Chip Ganassi Racing. Karam, in his first race since Pocono last year, will be hungry and motivated to rebound from the tragic circumstances since he was last on the track. The DRR crew is among the best, even in a one-off basis, and has a way of keeping its driver in the game all 500 miles. A top-15 is a realistic goal and a top-10 far from impossible; given Karam’s determination, he’ll want even more than that.


  • 2015: 14. 24-Bell (23)
  • 2014: 9. 22-Karam (31)
  • 2013: 11. 22-Servia (13)
  • 2012 (as Panther DRR): 4. 22-Servia (27)

Photo: Tony DiZinno
Photo: Tony DiZinno

Lazier Burns Racing

A throwback in many ways, but it shows the challenge of modern-day IndyCar that Lazier’s small, family-run team faces to even make the field. That being said, new investment from Tom Burns appears to have helped and the team is here preparing for the week of practice.


Buddy Lazier-W, No. 4 Lazier Burns Racing Chevrolet


Two early retirements and a DNQ have occurred his last three years. If the 1996 Indianapolis 500 champion can finish, that would be a good result. 


  • 2015: NQ. 91-Lazier
  • 2014: 32. 91-Lazier (33)
  • 2013: 31. 91-Lazier (32)

Robert Wickens shares more positive strides toward recovery in new video

Joe Skibinski/IndyCar
Leave a comment

Robert Wickens has made massive steps since sustaining a spinal cord injury in an Aug. 19, 2018 crash at Pocono Raceway.

Since the accident, Wickens publicly has shared his recovery, often uploading videos of his physical rehabilitation on Twitter.

In his most recent update on Wednesday, Wickens shared a video of him walking on a treadmill. Fellow NTT IndyCar Series competitor Tony Kannan, who competes in triathlons during his spare time, also was visible running on the treadmill behind Wickens.

“When I am @TonyKannan [sic] age, I hope to run as fast as him…” Wickens tweeted. “Today was a good day!”

Wickens, who will turn 31 on March 13, first made his return to the IndyCar paddock in last year’s season opener in St. Petersburg. Since then, he’s made a return to the driver’s seat, piloting a specialized Acura NSX prior to the start of last year’s IndyCar race in his hometown of Toronto.

In September, Wickens fulfilled a vow to his wife Karli, by standing with her during their wedding. The new husband and wife also danced together during their reception.

Should Wickens fully recover to resume racing, Arrow McLaren SP co-owner Sam Schmidt has stated that the team’s No. 6 entry will be available for him to drive. Wickens continues to remain as a “driver coach and consultant” for the team.

Follow Michael Eubanks on Twitter