Full 2016 24 Hours of Le Mans driver lineups released

Getty Images

Most of the driver lineups for this year’s 24 Hours of Le Mans have been released, and on Wednesday the Automobile Club de l’Ouest has revealed the full list of 60 cars and 180 drivers.

There’s 27 different countries represented among the drivers, and 19 different countries represented among the teams.

Here’s the full entry list.

From an American standpoint, there are 23 American-listed drivers, including three all-American lineups (Nos. 30, 62, 89) and they’re listed below:

  • No. 30 Extreme Speed Motorsports Ligier JS P2 Nissan, Scott Sharp, Ed Brown, Johannes van Overbeek
  • No. 35 Baxi DC Racing Alpine A460 Nissan, David Cheng (Chinese-born but sharing U.S. and Hong Kong residence)
  • No. 36 Signatech Alpine A460 Nissan, Gustavo Menezes
  • No. 40 Krohn Racing Ligier JS P2 Nissan, Tracy Krohn
  • No. 48 Murphy Prototypes Oreca 03R Nissan, Ben Keating
  • No. 49 Michael Shank Racing Ligier JS P2 Honda, John Pew (Ozz Negri is Brazilian but listed as USA)
  • No. 63 Corvette Racing Corvette C7.R, Ricky Taylor
  • No. 64 Corvette Racing Corvette C7.R, Tommy Milner, Jordan Taylor
  • No. 66 Ford Chip Ganassi Racing Team UK Ford GT, Billy Johnson
  • No. 68 Ford Chip Ganassi Racing Team USA Ford GT, Joey Hand
  • No. 57 Team AAI Corvette C7.R, Johnny O’Connell (Mark Patterson is South African-born but listed as USA)
  • No. 62 Scuderia Corsa Ferrari F458 Italia, Jeff Segal, Townsend Bell, Bill Sweedler
  • No. 88 Abu Dhabi-Proton Racing Porsche 911 RSR, Patrick Long
  • No. 89 Proton Competition Porsche 911 RSR, Cooper MacNeil, Leh Keen, Marc Miller

ESM (Nos. 30 and 31), Krohn (No. 40), Shank (No. 49), Corvette (Nos. 63 and 64), Ford CGR Team UK/USA (Nos. 66, 67, 68 and 69), Risi Competizione (No. 82) and Scuderia Corsa (No. 62) also make it seven American-entered teams fielding 12 cars of the 60 cars entered into this year’s race.

Here was a look at last year’s field of American drivers at Le Mans.

Santino Ferrucci will drive No. 14 for AJ Foyt Racing full time in 2023 IndyCar season

Santino Ferrucci AJ Foyt
James Gilbert/Getty Images

Santino Ferrucci will return to full-time racing in the NTT IndyCar Series next season, joining AJ Foyt Racing.

Ferrucci had made eight IndyCar starts with three teams since his last full-time season in 2020 while also racing part time in the NASCAR Xfinity Series this year.

He will drive the storied No. 14 Dallara-Chevrolet for four-time Indy 500 winner A.J. Foyt’s team, which will field the car from its Waller, Texas headquarters.

“It’s incredibly exciting to be back in the INDYCAR Series full time,” Ferrucci said in a team release. “Being a part-time driver over the last two years has been hard for me, personally. I’m a race car driver, and I want to compete. Working with different teams has been exciting, and I’m proud that no matter which car I’ve raced, I’ve always shown speed and consistency. I couldn’t be more excited to join AJ Foyt Racing in the 14 Chevy. I can’t wait to make the best of it.”

Ferrucci, 24, had finished a career-best fourth in IndyCar four times, including the 104th Indy 500 in 2020. He was the 2019 Indy 500 rookie of the year with a sixth.

In nine Xfinity starts since 2021, Ferrucci has a career-best finish of 13th at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

“I am thrilled to welcome Santino to the team,” Larry Foyt said in a release. “He’s shown a knack for getting toward the front of the field, and I think he is a racer who moves forward on race day. A.J. sees the fire in him and has enjoyed their meetings together. I think Santino’s experience will help his rookie teammate as well, so he is a great addition to our roster.”

Ferrucci will be teamed at AJ Foyt Racing with Benjamin Pedersen, who finished fifth in the 2022 Indy Lights standings. The team has yet to specify the number for Pedersen’s entry, which will be fielded out of its Indianapolis race shop.

Foyt’s two full-time drivers last season were Dalton Kellett and Kyle Kirkwood, who is moving to Andretti Autosport.