Red Bull GRC opener highlights NBCSN motors coverage this weekend


While both Formula 1 and Verizon IndyCar Series don’t have races this weekend – F1 is off and IndyCar has qualifying from the Indianapolis 500 Saturday and Sunday – there’s still no shortage of racing and automotive content this weekend on NBCSN.

The Red Bull Global Rallycross season opener from Arizona – a doubleheader event at the Wild Horse Pass Motorsports Park outside of Phoenix – kicks off NBC and NBCSN’s coverage of the championship this year. Coverage of both races air Sunday, 2 p.m. ET, on NBCSN.

Toby Moody and Anders Krohn will have the coverage in the booth, with Kristen Kenney reporting in the pits.

NBC and NBCSN’s planned coverage of the Red Bull Global Rallycross season is linked below. NBC and NBCSN will air 25 hours of coverage of the 2016 Red Bull Global RallyCross series, with most events premiering on NBC, and encore presentations airing on NBCSN.

Date Event Network Time (ET)
Sun., May 22 Phoenix NBCSN 2 p.m.
Sat., June 4 Dallas NBC 2:30 p.m.
Sun., June 19 Daytona Beach NBC 2:30 p.m.
Sat., July 2 The Base (I) NBC 5 p.m.
Sun., July 3 The Base (II) NBC 5 p.m.
Sat., July 30 Washington D.C. NBC 5 p.m.
Sun., August 28 Atlantic City NBC 4 p.m.
Sun., September 18 Seattle NBC 1:30 p.m.
Sun., October 9 Los Angeles NBC 3 p.m.

Here’s a highlight package and video of last year.

The Lucas Oil Pro Motocross schedule also kicks off this weekend, there’s Mecum Auctions coverage from Indianapolis, and there’s also the airing of the Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires races from the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

All those times and details are linked here, via the NBC Sports Group Press Box website.

Starting lineup grid for IMSA Petit Le Mans: Tom Blomqvist puts MSR on pole position

Petit Le Mans lineup

IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar championship contender Tom Blomqvist put the Meyer Shank Racing Acura at the front of the starting lineup for the Motul Petit Le Mans at Michelin Road Atlanta.

Blomqvist turned a 1-minute, 8.55-second lap on the 2.54-mile circuit Friday to capture his third pole position for MSR this season. Earl Bamber qualified second in the No. 02 Cadillac for Chip Ganassi Racing.

Ricky Taylor was third in the No. 10 Acura of Wayne Taylor Racing, which enters Saturday’s season finale with a 19-point lead over the No. 60 of Blomqvist and Oliver Jarvis (who will be joined by Helio Castroneves) for the 10-hour race.

PETIT LE MANS STARTING GRID: Click here for the starting lineup l Lineup by car number

PETIT LE MANS: Info on how to watch

With the pole, MSR sliced the deficit to 14 points behind WTR, which will field the trio of Taylor, Filipe Albuquerque and Brendon Hartley in Saturday’s race.

“We really needed to put the car in this kind of position,” Blomqvist said. “It makes our life a little less stressful tomorrow. It would have given the No. 10 a bit more breathing space. It’s going to be a proper dogfight tomorrow. The guys gave me such a great car. It’s been fantastic this week so far, and it really came alive. I’m hugely thankful to the boys and girls at MSR for giving me the wagon today to execute my job.

“That was a big effort from me. I knew how important it was. It’s just awesome for the guys to give them some sort of reward as well. It’s always nice to be quick. If you do the pole, you know you’ve got a quick car.”

Though WTR has a series-leading four victories with the No. 10, MSR won the Rolex 24 at Daytona and has five runner-up finishes along with its three poles.

The strong performances of the ARX-05s ensure that an Acura will win the final championship in IMSA’s premier Daytona Prototype international (DPi) division, which is being rebranded as Grand Touring Prototype in the move to LMDh cars next season.

Taylor qualified third despite sliding into the Turn 5 gravel during the closing minutes of qualifying while pushing to gain points.

“Qualifying was important for points,” Taylor said. “Going into it, if we outqualified the No. 60 Meyer Shank Acura, they had a lot to lose in terms of championship points. So, we were trying to increase the gap over 20 points which would’ve made a big difference for tomorrow. We would have loved to get the pole and qualify ahead of the No. 60, but in the scheme of the points, it didn’t change a whole lot. I’m feeling good since it’s such a long race, and the No. 10 Konica Minolta Acura team does such a good job strategizing and putting us in a good position.

“I’m very confident in our lineup and our team compared to them over the course of 10 hours. I’d put my two teammates up against those guys any day. I think we are all feeling optimistic and strong for tomorrow.”

In other divisions, PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports (LMP2), Riley Motorsports (LMP3), VasserSullivan (GTD Pro) and Paul Miller Racing (GTD) captured pole positions.

The broadcast of the 10-hour race will begin Saturday at 12:10-3 p.m. ET on NBC, moving at 7 p.m. to USA Network. Peacock will have flag-to-flag coverage.



Results by class

Fastest lap by driver

Fastest lap by driver after qualifying

Fastest lap by driver and class after qualifying

Fastest lap sequence in qualifying

Best sector times in qualifying

Time cards in qualifying

PRACTICE RESULTS: Session I l Session II l Session III