Bell, Andretti lead through first run of Indy qualification attempts

Photo: IndyCar

INDIANAPOLIS – The first run through of qualifying is complete, with 30 of the 33 drivers taking times before drivers and teams opt to run to try to get into the Fast Nine Shootout.

NBCSN IndyCar analyst Townsend Bell leads the session as it goes, with a best four-lap average of 230.452 mph in the No. 29 California Pizza Kitchen/Robert Graham Honda for Andretti Autosport.

While Bell was pleased, he was still frustrated that he didn’t extract the maximum from his car over the stint.

“All I could think about is what I could have done better,” Bell told Kevin Lee of IndyCar Radio (both are on NBCSN’s IndyCar telecasts).

“With the way the wind is blowing, it made Turns 1 and 3 a lot different. I wasn’t expecting how much I had to adjust the car. We’ll be prepared to (go again). If the wind dies down later. I wish I could have pieced things together better on Lap 3 and 4.”

Bell’s time pipped Josef Newgarden in the No. 21 Preferred Freezer Chevrolet, who qualified for the first time in a higher downforce setting with extra winglets on both the left and right rear wheel pod. Newgarden’s average was 230.229 mph.

Three others – Carlos Munoz, Simon Pagenaud and rookie Alexander Rossi – also clocked over 230 mph on their first attempts.

The remainder of the Fast Nine before the final two hours are Oriol Servia, Helio Castroneves, Will Power and Marco Andretti.

This means Andretti has got four of its five cars in – Ryan Hunter-Reay, currently 14th – is the only exception. That’s compared to two Penske, one Schmidt Peterson and one Ed Carpenter car.

An accident for Pippa Mann – with a rear wing failure – sent the driver of the No. 63 Susan G. Komen Honda for Dale Coyne Racing into the Turn 2 wall. Mann actually did a very good job to limit the damage, with only slight damage to the nose and left front suspension assembly.

However it has meant that Conor Daly’s scheduled qualifying attempt was postponed, with Daly telling the ABC broadcast that the decision was made by Coyne team manager Darren Crouser.

Mann told Lee: “That could have been a lot worse going through there. We’ve been so good all month, so this is a very tough break.

“Unfortunately we had a rear wing end fence failure. That pitched the car into a kind of oversteer that wasn’t catchable. Managed to minimize the damage. Now I have my answer.

“I feel like we have a good chance of rebuilding the car. The Dale Coyne Racing crew is fantastic. But we’ll have to look at these end fences. I was very lucky, and glad to get away with that.”

With Max Chilton having crashed in pre-qualifying practice and the team preparing a backup car, he, Mann and Daly are the three drivers yet to complete a qualification attempt to round out the field of 33 at the moment.

The track will be opened for practice.

Here is the order as it stands before any further qualifying attempts:


Meyer Shank Racing wins Petit Le Mans to take final DPi championship in dramatic finale


Meyer Shank Racing outdueled Wayne Taylor Racing to win the Petit Le Mans and clinch the championship in a thrilling final race for the DPi division.

Tom Blomqvist, who started from the pole position, drove the No. 60 Acura ARX-05 to a 4.369-second victory over Pipo Derani in the No. 31 Action Express Cadillac.

“That was incredible,” Blomqvist told NBC Sports’ Matt Yocum. “I’ve never dug so deep in my life. The adrenaline. I did that for the guys. I was so motivated to win this thing this weekend. But I’ve got to thank everyone on the whole team.”

With co-drivers Oliver Jarvis and Helio Castroneves, Blomqvist helped MSR bookend its season-opening victory in the Rolex 24 at Daytona by winning Saturday’s IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship season finale at Michelin Road Atlanta.

In between those two victories, the No. 60 earned five runner-up finishes to stay in the thick of the championship hunt and trail WTR’s No. 10 Acura by 14 points entering Saturday’s race.

WTR’s Filipe Albuquerque had a lead of more than 10 seconds over Blomqvist with less than 50 minutes remaining in the 10-hour race.

But a Turn 1 crash between the Chip Ganassi Racing Cadillacs brought out a yellow that sent both Acuras into the pits from the top two positions.

Though he entered in second, Blomqvist barely beat Albuquerque out of the pits, and he held the lead for the final 45 minutes.

Blomqvist said he gained the lead because of a shorter fuel fill after he had worked on being efficient in the second-to-last stint.

“The team asked a big job of me with the fuel; I had a big fuel number to hit,” Blomqvist said. “We knew that was probably our only chance. The yellow came at the right time and obviously we had a bit less fuel to fill up, so I was able to jump him and then it was just a matter of going gung-ho and not leaving anything on the line. And obviously, the opposition had to try too hard to make it work. I’m so thankful.”

Albuquerque closed within a few car lengths of Blomqvist with 14 minutes remaining, but he damaged his suspension because of contact with a GT car in Turn 1.

It’s the first prototype championship for Meyer Shank Racing, which also won the 2021 Indy 500 with Castroneves.

“We’ve had in the last four years, three championships for Acura, the Indy 500 win and the Rolex 24, it doesn’t get any better,” team co-owner Mike Shank told NBC Sports’ Kevin Lee.

It’s the third consecutive runner-up finish in the points standings for Wayne Taylor Racing, which won the first Daytona Prototype international championship in 2017. The premier category will be rebranded as the Grand Touring Prototype (GTP) class with the LMDh cars that will establish a bridge to racing in the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

Kamui Kobayashi finished third in the No. 48 Cadillac of Action Express that also includes Jimmie Johnson and Mike Rockenfeller.

The podium showing marked Johnson’s last scheduled race in IMSA’s top prototype division. The seven-time NASCAR Cup Series champion has raced in the No. 48 Ally Cadillac lineup as the Action Express entry has run the Endurance Cup races.

Johnson said a lack of inventory will preclude him having a 2023 ride in the top category. But he still is hopeful of racing the Garage 56 Next Gen Camaro in next year’s 24 Hours of Le Mans and possibly running in a lower class for the Rolex 24 at Daytona.

“I’d love to be at Le Mans next year,” Johnson told NBC Sports’ Dillon Welch after his final stint Saturday. “I’d love to be at the Rolex 24. The series is going through a shake-up with the reconfiguration of the rules and classes, so I don’t have anything locked down yet, but I’m so thankful for this experience with Action. The support Ally has given us, Mr. Hendrick, Chad Knaus, all of Hendrick Motorsports. It’s been a fun two years, and I certainly hope I’m on the grid again next year.”