IndyCar’s Texas race rescheduled for August 27

Getty Images

The Firestone 600 at Texas Motor Speedway, Round 9 of the Verizon IndyCar Series season, is set to continue for yet another day.

Except that day will be in another month, in August.

INDYCAR and the track confirmed late Sunday that the race will be rescheduled for August 27, rather than stretched into Monday. Poor weather and a heavy test slate coming up have prompted the decision. Tickets from this weekend’s race will be honored in August.

This will now run the Saturday after Pocono Raceway, which had been IndyCar’s only scheduled August race, on August 21.

Here’s details of the event as they’re being revealed at TMS, via track president Eddie Gossage and INDYCAR president of competition and operations, Jay Frye:

The event had been going for four days, starting with setup on Thursday, then practice and qualifying on Friday, the rainout on Saturday and then the first 71 laps completed today on Sunday, before the race was postponed once again.

The race will resume from the point of where they left off today, following a single practice session. Meanwhile Conor Daly and Josef Newgarden, who crashed out today, will be given a chance to rejoin the race but as many laps down as they were at the red flag (see above tweets from my colleague Daniel McFadin).

At a 248-lap race distance, the race needs to get to at least Lap 125 to go past the halfway mark and be declared an official race.

It was already a tight logistical time frame for the teams to begin with with the schedule what it was. Then with testing taking place at Road America on Wednesday – most teams are scheduled to test at the 4.048-mile road course – any delay only added to the strain.

Additionally of note, three full-time IndyCar drivers (Scott Dixon, Sebastien Bourdais and Mikhail Aleshin) plus NBCSN IndyCar analyst and Indianapolis 500 veteran Townsend Bell have to get to Le Mans, France where they are scheduled to compete in the 24 Hours of Le Mans. Dixon and Bourdais will be in two of the four Ford GTs for Chip Ganassi Racing, Aleshin in an SMP Racing BR01 Nissan and Bell in a Scuderia Corsa Ferrari F458 Italia.

Per Bob Pockrass of after being in touch with Ford Performance’s Dave Pericak, Dixon and Bourdais have been cleared to miss Sunday and Monday activity and still be able to compete at Le Mans owing to the extenuating circumstances. Bell, who was in the booth for both of Saturday and Sunday’s coverage on NBCSN, was due to depart for France on Sunday. All drivers for Le Mans are required to attend scrutineering (technical inspection) for their administrative checks.

Santino Ferrucci will drive No. 14 for AJ Foyt Racing full time in 2023 IndyCar season

Santino Ferrucci AJ Foyt
James Gilbert/Getty Images

Santino Ferrucci will return to full-time racing in the NTT IndyCar Series next season, joining AJ Foyt Racing.

Ferrucci had made eight IndyCar starts with three teams since his last full-time season in 2020 while also racing part time in the NASCAR Xfinity Series this year.

He will drive the storied No. 14 Dallara-Chevrolet for four-time Indy 500 winner A.J. Foyt’s team, which will field the car from its Waller, Texas headquarters.

“It’s incredibly exciting to be back in the INDYCAR Series full time,” Ferrucci said in a team release. “Being a part-time driver over the last two years has been hard for me, personally. I’m a race car driver, and I want to compete. Working with different teams has been exciting, and I’m proud that no matter which car I’ve raced, I’ve always shown speed and consistency. I couldn’t be more excited to join AJ Foyt Racing in the 14 Chevy. I can’t wait to make the best of it.”

Ferrucci, 24, had finished a career-best fourth in IndyCar four times, including the 104th Indy 500 in 2020. He was the 2019 Indy 500 rookie of the year with a sixth.

In nine Xfinity starts since 2021, Ferrucci has a career-best finish of 13th at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

“I am thrilled to welcome Santino to the team,” Larry Foyt said in a release. “He’s shown a knack for getting toward the front of the field, and I think he is a racer who moves forward on race day. A.J. sees the fire in him and has enjoyed their meetings together. I think Santino’s experience will help his rookie teammate as well, so he is a great addition to our roster.”

Ferrucci will be teamed at AJ Foyt Racing with Benjamin Pedersen, who finished fifth in the 2022 Indy Lights standings. The team has yet to specify the number for Pedersen’s entry, which will be fielded out of its Indianapolis race shop.

Foyt’s two full-time drivers last season were Dalton Kellett and Kyle Kirkwood, who is moving to Andretti Autosport.