WATCH LIVE: IndyCar’s Texas race at 2 p.m. ET on CNBC

Getty Images

It’s been a strange weekend for the Verizon IndyCar Series at Texas Motor Speedway, but the Firestone 600 is due to launch shortly after 2 p.m. ET on CNBC.

It is still available at the same live stream link via NBC Sports Live Extra, at for participating cable providers.

The race was postponed from last night owing to persistent rain and the 1.5-mile oval not fully drying.

Today’s race has since been rescheduled for 2 p.m. ET, with an estimated 2:06 p.m. ET green flag time (1:06 p.m. CT and local time).

While originally set to air on NBCSN, the race has shifted to CNBC owing to the Orlando shooting tragedy taking precedence on NBC network, which moves the Canadian Grand Prix (which runs concurrently) from NBC to NBCSN.

Carlos Munoz starts from his first career pole position in the No. 26 Andretti Autosport Honda, ahead of Scott Dixon, Helio Castroneves, Takuma Sato and Josef Newgarden. The grid is here.

Commentators include Brian Till, Townsend Bell and Paul Tracy, although Bell – like drivers Dixon, Mikhail Aleshin and Sebastien Bourdais – were due to go to France immediately after Texas for race commitments and scrutineering at the 24 Hours of Le Mans. Till fills in for Leigh Diffey, who’s in Montreal for the Canadian Grand Prix.

NEOM McLaren Formula E announces Jake Hughes will join Rene Rast for 2023 season

McLaren Formula E Hughes
McLaren Racing

Doubling down on their commitment to electric auto sports, McLaren Racing announced Jake Hughes will join Rene Rast to compete in the 2023 Formula E Series (FE), which completes their driver lineup.

The NEOM McLaren FE team was formed by the acquisition of the Mercedes-EQ Formula E team that won the 2021 and 2022 championships with Stoffel Vandoorne and Nyck de Vries behind the wheel.

“Today’s announcement feels like a long time coming,” said Ian James, managing director of NEOM McLaren Electric Racing in a release. “Since May this year, when we first announced McLaren Racing’s entry into Formula E, we have been working tirelessly to get in place the best possible team and structure for sustainable success.

“On the one hand, we have been working on the retention of the amazing talent that already was in place before going into the transitional phase. I’m proud to say I think we’ve done a great job on that front.

“On the other hand, we have been focusing on putting in place new processes and new talent – and the latter includes the drivers.”

The driver lineup clasps the two hands together.

Hughes brings 10 years racing experience in single seater cars, including a role with the acquired Mercedes-EQ team as a reserve and development driver for the past two seasons. He is the 2013 BRDC Formula 4 champion and has multiple wins in Formula 2, including two in 2020.

Announced in August, Rast joins the team after earning two podium finishes and six top-fives in 22 career Formula E starts for Audi Sport ABT before returning to the DTM Series last year. Rast’s best finish in Formula E came in the Puebla E Prix when he finished second to teammate Lucas di Grassi by less than a half second.

McLaren’s commitment to Formula E comes one year after they entered the Extreme E rally series in 2022 with Tanner Foust and Emma Gilmour in the driver lineup. After a modest start to the season, the McLaren XE drivers crossed the finish line first in Round 4 in Chile, but were assessed a time penalty that dropped them to fifth. Last week in the season finale in Uruguay, they held onto a hard-earned second place finish.