Getty Images

IndyCar’s Ganassi, Bourdais, Bell claim class wins at Le Mans

Leave a comment

Chip Ganassi Racing’s Sebastien Bourdais and Scuderia Corsa’s Townsend Bell – Bell is also an NBCSN IndyCar analyst – have won their respective classes (GTE-Pro and GTE-Am) at the 24 Hours of Le Mans, which had a crazy finish for the overall win.

This makes it two of the four IndyCar drivers who competed at the 100th Indianapolis 500 entered at Le Mans who’ve won the race, as well as the Ganassi team, in its maiden bow at Le Mans with the new Ford GTs.

Bourdais co-drove with Joey Hand and Dirk Mueller, and has claimed an emotional first win in his hometown of Le Mans.

“This is right up there with all of them. The race I always want to win is the next one. This will go in the books though,” team principal Chip Ganassi told Radio Le Mans’ Shea Adam.

Additionally, Scott Dixon has finished third in GTE-Pro in his Ford, a separate car he co-drove with Richard Westbrook and Ryan Briscoe.

That could have become a higher position if Risi Competizione was assessed a later post-race penalty after being ordered to pit from second place in class owing to a leader light issue. But it did not appear to be the case.

Meanwhile, Bell and co-drivers Bill Sweedler and Jeff Segal have gone two better in the No. 62 Scuderia Corsa Ferrari F458 Italia than they did last year, when they came third as Le Mans rookies for Giacomo Mattioli’s Los Angeles-based squad.

“Amazing. What a terrific race, my teammates, and this guy… it’s amazing,” Townsend Bell told Justin Bell of FOX Sports. “The car was a rocketship out there. Not only did we win, we won with a margin.”

Sweedler added to Justin Bell, “The only way this would have been better if my teammate would have won the Indianapolis 500.”

There’s a lot of team and congratulatory tweets out there. Here’s a small sampling:

Andretti United team names drivers for inaugural Extreme E season

Extreme E drivers Andretti
Extreme E
Leave a comment

The Extreme E team formed by Andretti Autosport and United Autosports named Catie Munnings and Timmy Hansen as its drivers Monday for the series’ inaugural 2021 season.

Munnings is a successful veteran of rally series. Hansen is a past winner and champion in the World Rallycross Championship.

They both will race in the environmentally conscious electric SUV series that will hold events in five areas around the world that are threatened by climate change. Chip Ganassi Racing and six-time Formula One champion Lewis Hamilton also are fielding cars in Extreme E, which will feature male and female co-drivers on every team.

Catie Munnings

“I’m so excited to join Andretti United Extreme E,” Munnings said in a release. ““I was really intrigued when I first heard about Extreme E, I just knew I had to be involved. The male / female racing partnership is a fantastic and exciting new concept. The season has incredible locations and the racing will be very exciting. It will be a new challenge for the teams and drivers, and I’m so thrilled to be working with such a strong team.

“The championship is a really innovative concept, it’s combining motorsport and science and will produce an important legacy in each race location. Bringing the platform that motorsport has in line with the awareness that the planet needs right now is awesome and a really important message.”

Timmy Hansen

Said Hansen: “Going into the Extreme E will be a new chapter in my career, one that I am extremely excited about. It is something brand new, not only for me, but the whole of motorsport. The format is something

we’ve never seen before. I’m also delighted to be able to carry the message of something bigger – talking about the environment and doing something good for the world – that’s something that really drives me. It’s going to be a big adventure in life to see these locations and I’m going to do my best in carrying this responsibility and hopefully making people aware of the challenges we have in the world, together with our passion for racing.”