Paul Tracy finally drinks milk in victory lane at Indy, another Unser wins too

Photo: SVRA

NBCSN IndyCar analyst and 2002 Indy 500 runner-up Paul Tracy finally earned what he’s sought his entire racing life: he drank from a bottle of celebratory and victorious milk in Victory Circle at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

During this past weekend’s Sportscar Vintage Racing Association’s Brickyard Vintage Racing Invitational, Tracy won top honors in the “B Production” class in a 1965 Ford Mustang GT 350.

“For me, it’s a joy to be here and to run here, and to finally go up on top of that podium is obviously a great feeling, and to hold a bottle of milk – that’s the one thing I didn’t get to do in my career that I felt I should have done,” Tracy said. “To be able to do it today with this group of guys, it was a hoot.”

Tracy also provided one of the event highlights when he put a winner’s wreath around legendary IMS historian Donald Davidson on the podium. Indianapolis Star photographer Matt Kryger captured the moment below.

Another highlight of the event was a fourth member of the famous Unser racing family can now proudly say he’s also an Indianapolis Motor Speedway champion.

Robby Unser, son of three-time Indianapolis 500 winner Bobby Unser, drove a 1965 Cobra CompR to victory with teammate Andre Ahrle in the Indy Legends Pro-Am, the marquee event of the four-day Sportscar Vintage Racing Association’s Brickyard Vintage Racing Invitational.

“You have no idea how much it means to be on this podium,” Robby Unser said in a media release.

Robby Unser is also the nephew of four-time Indy 500 winner Al Unser and the cousin of two-time 500 winner Al Unser Jr.

Robby Unser and Ahrle won first place overall and in the “A Production” class. Seven-time Indy 500 starter Richie Hearn and teammate Clair Schwendeman finished second, followed by Al Unser Jr. and Peter Klutt.

“This SVRA event is a fantastic event and we love it,” Unser Jr. said.

Other notables that competed in the SVRA weekend included 11-time Indy 500 starter Davey Hamilton, A.J. Foyt IV, Roberto Guerrero, Lyn St. James, Davy Jones, Willy T. Ribbs, Bill Elliott and Ray Evernham.

Follow @JerryBonkowski