Rain shower dampens activity for Road America warmup

Getty Images
0 Comments

ELKHART LAKE, Wis. – All but two of the 22 drivers set to start today’s KOHLER Grand Prix opted to sit out the Verizon IndyCar Series morning warmup, which was delayed 20 minutes and then truncated to 20 minutes from 30 owing to rain.

Sebastien Bourdais ran a 2:11.3498 after completing two laps in the wet in the No. 11 Team Hydroxycut KVSH Racing Chevrolet, and Graham Rahal ran a systems check in his No. 15 Gehl/D-A Lubricant Honda for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, but otherwise there were no takers.

The IndyCar race itself should be in dry conditions with rain moving East and out of the area. Coverage begins at 12:30 p.m. ET (11:30 a.m. CT and local time) on NBCSN and the NBC Sports app, with the Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires races set to follow at 3:30 p.m. ET (2:30 p.m. CT/local).