Photo: Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross

Foust’s third win of Red Bull GRC season huge for VW Andretti team

1 Comment

Tanner Foust’s win in Round 5 of the Red Bull Global Rallycross season at Daytona International Speedway was big enough for him, but probably even bigger for his Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross team.

The driver of the No. 34 Rockstar Energy Drink Volkswagen Beetle GRC’s Saturday race was compromised when he hit a hole on the track, which pitched him into the perpetually luckless Patrik Sandell of Bryan Herta Rallysport. A fire for Scott Speed’s second Beetle then followed and suddenly Steve Arpin secured his first GRC win.

Foust, meanwhile, rebounded with a vengeance on Sunday after his Andretti crew completed repairs on his car and also got Speed out and rolling in a backup car. A 1-2 finish was the perfect reward for the team.

“It was obviously nice to win after an unfortunate race on Saturday. But really, the vindication and the greatest part about winning on Sunday was for the team,” Foust told NBC Sports.

“These mechanics were working the entire weekend overnight, piecing cars together, replacing items on a time crunch, it was hot, and just not ideal conditions to be cranking like that.

“When we got to Sunday, everyone was basically getting together and said, ‘This is like doing the Daytona 24-hour race!’ You recognize that you’re tired, but you press on. For Scott and I to deliver the 1-2 finish was amazing.”

The win for Foust was his third this year, after sweeping the season opener in Phoenix in mid-May. He’s also won a number of preliminary races, either heats or semifinals, from the opening three weekends.

While it’s been a dream start for Foust, who won three races in total in 2015, he’s not taking anything for granted thus far.

“You like to be confident, optimistic and hope your team has worked harder, had better night’s rest and breakfast than others. But the fact is, even with qualifying pole on Saturday, and winning all the heats doesn’t necessarily mean there’s that great a chance of winning the race,” he explained.

“The devil is in the details. You have to make sure you haven’t overlooked anything. On Saturday, the heat and semifinals, I don’t think I finished the first corner in first position, even starting on pole. That first turn, was quite a bit of carnage going on. So you have to keep the car together, then make some passes if you could in the first lap.”

Foust said he loved the enhancements and track changes to Daytona, particularly after the road course hairpin portion of the circuit.

“Going into the dirt at such a high speed, then onto the base of the jump, braking just enough to not smash the car on the landing, it was a complicated sequence of turns. But that was awesome to have that sequence to work out every single lap,” he said.

“That turn happened, and then you had a really tricky turn leading onto the straightaway.

“The strange thing about those sequences, is that the more brave you were and the harder you pushed, the harder you get through there. The exercise is one of discipline at most tracks and you don’t want to push too hard. I think the rally guys like Sandell and myself liked the fact you could throw it in there, survive and be rewarded.”

Foust heads to MCAS New River this weekend (Saturday and Sunday, 5 p.m. ET, NBC) with a 32-point lead over Arpin (265-233). Speed sits third in points on 226.

Dean Wilson out for rest of Supercross season
Leave a comment

“Such a massive gut punch on Saturday,” Dean Wilson wrote on Instagram on Tuesday. “Just as I was gaining good momentum riding well, feeling good and chasing my first win things turned in the blink of an eye.”

With that post, Wilson announced that he will be out for the remainder of the Supercross season, which includes races at East Rutherford, N.J. and Las Vegas, Nev. An MRI earlier in the week revealed a shoulder injury. He also sustained damage to his kidney in a Lap 8 accident while he was running in the top 10.

Wilson’s injuries will not require surgery.

Wilson’s season began with a lot of promise. Earning the holeshot in the season-opening race at Anaheim, Wilson led for a time before narrowly missing the podium in fourth.

Two weeks later, Wilson finished fifth overall in the Triple Crown event of Anaheim II. Those are his only top-fives of the season.

“The tough part of this is I have been trying so hard this year to be back where I need to be trying to get a job for next year,” Wilson continued.

View this post on Instagram

Such a massive gut punch on Saturday. Just as I was gaining good momentum riding well, feeling good and chasing my first win things turned in the blink of an eye. Started off Denver topping free practice then went on to qualify P1 in qualifier 1. Qualifier 2 didn’t get the cleanest laps but ended with a 4th. On to the main event I was running around 7th on lap 7 moving forward and as I came around for the rhythm section I tripled in and something freak happened causing the bike to nose dive after I tripled in and pile driving me into the ground. The tough part of this is I have been trying so hard this year to be back where I need to be trying to get a job for next year. It’s tough just hoping to have a ride each year. 2nd part is people saying “wilson’s hurt again, big surprise there” when it was something that wasn’t my fault. It’s a tough pill To swallow.. I injured my shoulder and got a contusion on my kidneys. Got MRI and good news is I dodged a bullet on my shoulder and I am just going to give it a few weeks of rest and therapy and see where we are at. Huge disappointment to end my SX season like this. Thanks to my whole team for everything and everybody checking in on me. I really appreciate it. I will be back.

A post shared by D E A N O (@deanwilson15) on

Next Race: East Rutherford April. 27, on NBCSN and on NBC Sports Gold

Follow Dan Beaver on Twitter