FIA Formula E reveals season three teams, entry list

Getty Images

The FIA Formula E Championship has revealed the teams and entry list for season three, with a couple changes from season two.

Jaguar, as it announced late last year, will make its entry as a fully fledged manufacturer into the series.

Then we have the change for what was the Team Aguri entry, with Aguri having announced a sale earlier this week to new investors.

Techeetah, a Chinese team, has taken over Team Aguri’s entry and is owned by China Media Capital, a public equity and venture capital firm based in Shanghai.

Additionally the confirmation of Faraday Future as a partner with Dragon Racing will see that team rebranded and the car entered as a Penske 701-EV.

Here’s the entry list of teams and cars for season three, below:


ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport
Andretti Formula E
Faraday Future Dragon Racing
DS Virgin Racing
Jaguar Racing
Mahindra Racing
Renault e.Dams
Venturi Formula E

Also announced today are the names of the nine constructors whose powertrains have been homologated for season three.

Manufacturer           Car model
ABT Schaeffler         ABT Schaeffler FE02
Andretti Technologies  ATEC-02
DS-Virgin              DSV-02
Jaguar                 Jaguar I-Type 1
Mahindra               M3 ELECTRO
NextEV TCR             NextEV TCR Formula 002
Penske                 701-EV
Renault                Z.E. 16
Venturi                VM200-FE-02

IndyCar disappointed by delay of video game but aiming to launch at start of 2024

IndyCar video game 2024

An IndyCar executive said there is “absolutely” disappointment that its long-awaited video game recently was delayed beyond its target date, but the series remains optimistic about the new title.

“Well, I don’t know how quick it will be, but the whole situation is important to us,” Penske Entertainment president and CEO Mark Miles said during a news conference Monday morning to announce IndyCar’s NTT title sponsorship. “Motorsport Games has spent a lot of money, a lot of effort to create an IndyCar title. What we’ve seen of that effort, which is not completely obvious, is very reassuring.

“I think it’s going to be outstanding. That’s our shared objective, that when it is released, it’s just widely accepted. A great credit both to IndyCar racing, the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, something that our fans love.”

In June 2021, IndyCar announced a new partnership with Motorsport Games to create and distribute an IndyCar video game for the PC and Xbox and PlayStation consoles in 2023.

But during an earnings call last week, Motorsport Games said the IndyCar game had been delayed to 2024 to ensure high quality.

Somewhat compounding the delay is that IndyCar’s license for iRacing expired after the end of the 2022 season because of its exclusive agreement with Motorsport Games.

That’s resulted in significant changes for IndyCar on iRacing, which had provided a high-profile way for the series to stay visible during its 2020 shutdown from the pandemic. (Players still can race an unbranded car but don’t race on current IndyCar tracks, nor can they stream).

That’s helped ratchet up the attention on having a video game outlet for IndyCar.

“I wish we had an IndyCar title 10 years ago,” said Miles, who has been working with the organization since 2013. “We’ve been close, but we’ve had these I think speed bumps.”

IndyCar is hopeful the Motorsports Game edition will be ready at the start of 2024. Miles hinted that beta versions could be unveiled to reporters ahead of the time “to begin to show the progress in a narrow way to make sure we’ve got it right, to test the progress so that we’re ready when they’re ready.”

It’s been nearly 18 years since the release of the most recent IndyCar video game for console or PC.

“(We) better get it right,” Miles said. “It’s something we’re very close to and continue to think about what it is to make sure we get it over the line in due course.”