FIA confirms Formula E season three calendar including New York

© Getty Images

LONDON, UK – The calendar for the third FIA Formula E season has been announced, featuring five new events including races in Montreal and New York City.

A draft calendar circulated the paddock after being given to teams at a meeting over the Berlin ePrix weekend, but it has now been confirmed by FIA officials and Formula E CEO Alejandro Agag.

Agag announced that the race in Las Vegas on January 7 will be an e-race on rFactor 2, pitting 10 gamers against the 20-strong Formula E grid in a scheme called “Road to Las Vegas”. It will be a non-championship event with a sizeable financial bounty for the winner.

The event on April 22 remains unconfirmed, with Singapore being listed around that date on the draft schedule.

The calendar does not feature Long Beach, which previously appeared on the calendars for the first two seasons. When asked by NBC Sports about the race, Agag said that it had been cut due to the number of events on the calendar and the number of rounds in the United States with Las Vegas and New York joining.

Monaco returns as part of the rotation agreement with the historic grand prix there, while a gap has been left on June 24 for a race in Europe. Agag said that discussions regarding a new venue for the London ePrix are ongoing, but said he wants a more central location than Battersea Park or the Olympic Stadium in Stratford.

The event in New York is still pending final confirmation from local authorities, but Agag said that he is “very optimistic” about it going ahead.






9 October

Hong Kong

Hong Kong ePrix


12 November

Marrakech (Morocco)

Marrakech ePrix


7 January

Las Vegas (USA)

FIA Electric Mobility Forum


18 February

Buenos Aires (Argentina)

Buenos Aires ePrix


1 April

Mexico City (Mexico)

Mexico City ePrix


22 April




13 May


Monaco ePrix


20 May

Paris (France)

Paris ePrix


10 June

Berlin (Germany)

Berlin ePrix


24 June




1 July

Brussels (Belgium)

Brussels ePrix

11, 12

15-16 July

Montreal (Canada)

Montreal ePrix

13, 14

29-30 July

New York (USA)

New York ePrix

Justin Grant prevails over Kyle Larson in the Turkey Night Grand Prix

Grant Larson Turkey Night / DB3 Inc.

On the heels of his Hangtown 100 victory, Justin Grant worked his way from 13th in the Turkey Night Grand Prix to beat three-time event winner Kyle Larson by 1.367 seconds. The 81st annual event was run at Ventura (Calif.) Raceway for the sixth time.

“My dad used to take me to Irwindale Speedway, and we’d watch Turkey Night there every year,” Grant said in a series press release. “This is one of the races I fell in love with. I didn’t think I’d ever get a chance to run in it, never thought I’d make a show and certainly never thought I’d be able to win one.”

With its genesis in 1934 at Gilmore Stadium, a quarter-mile dirt track in Los Angeles, the race is steeped in history with winners that include AJ Foyt, Parnelli Jones, Gary Bettenhausen and Johnnie Parsons. Tony Stewart won it in 2000. Kyle Larson won his first of three Turkey Night Grands Prix in 2012. Christopher Bell earned his first of three in 2014, so Grant’s enthusiasm was well deserved.

So was the skepticism that he would win. He failed to crack the top five in three previous attempts, although he came close last year with a sixth-place result. When he lined up for the feature 13th in the crowded 28-car field, winning seemed like a longshot.

Grant watched as serious challengers fell by the wayside. Mitchel Moles flipped on Lap 10 of the feature. Michael “Buddy” Kofoid took a tumble on Lap 68 and World of Outlaws Sprint car driver Carson Macedo flipped on Lap 79. Grant saw the carnage ahead of him and held a steady wheel as he passed Tanner Thorson for the lead with 15 laps remaining and stayed out of trouble for the remainder of the event.

“It’s a dream come true to win the Turkey Night Grand Prix,” Grant said.

Kyle Larson follows Justin Grant to the front on Turkey Night

The 2012, 2016 and 2019 winner, Larson was not scheduled to run the event. His wife Katelyn is expecting their third child shortly, but after a couple of glasses of wine with Thanksgiving dinner and while watching some replays of the event, Larson texted car owner Chad Boat to see if he had a spare car lying around. He did.

“We weren’t great but just hung around and it seemed like anybody who got to the lead crashed and collected some people,” Larson said. “We made some passes throughout; in the mid-portion, we weren’t very good but then we got better at the end.

“I just ran really, really hard there, and knew I was running out of time, so I had to go. I made some pretty crazy and dumb moves, but I got to second and was hoping we could get a caution to get racing with Justin there. He was sliding himself at both ends and thought that maybe we could get a run and just out-angle him into [Turn] 1 and get clear off [Turn] 2 if we got a caution, but it just didn’t work out.”

Larson padded one of the most impressive stats in the history of this race, however. In 10 starts, he’s won three times, finished second four times, was third once and fourth twice.

Bryant Wiedeman took the final spot on the podium.

As Grant and Larson began to pick their way through the field, Kofoid took the lead early from the outside of the front row and led the first 44 laps of the race before handing it over to Cannon McIntosh, who bicycled on Lap 71 before landing on all fours. While Macedo and Thorson tussled for the lead with McIntosh, Grant closed in.

Thorson finished 19th with McIntosh 20th. Macedo recovered from his incident to finish ninth. Kofoid’s hard tumble relegated him to 23rd.

Jake Andreotti in fourth and Kevin Thomas, Jr. rounded out the top five.

1. Justin Grant (started 13)
2. Kyle Larson (22)
3. Bryant Wiedeman (4)
4. Jake Andreotti (9)
5. Kevin Thomas Jr. (1)
6. Logan Seavey (8)
7. Alex Bright (27)
8. Emerson Axsom (24)
9. Carson Macedo (7)
10. Jason McDougal (18)
11. Jake Swanson (16)
12. Chase Johnson (6)
13. Jacob Denney (26)
14. Ryan Timms (23)
15. Chance Crum (28)
16. Brenham Crouch (17)
17. Jonathan Beason (19)
18. Cade Lewis (14)
19. Tanner Thorson (11)
20. Cannon McIntosh (3)
21. Thomas Meseraull (15)
22. Tyler Courtney (21)
23. Buddy Kofoid (2)
24. Brody Fuson (5)
25. Mitchel Moles (20)
26. Daniel Whitley (10)
27. Kaylee Bryson (12)
28. Spencer Bayston (25)