© GP2 Series

Lynn wins Hockenheim GP2 sprint race, Sirotkin takes series lead

Leave a comment

Alex Lynn survived a frenetic start and several Virtual Safety Car periods to score his second victory of the 2016 GP2 Series season at Hockenheim on Sunday.

Lynn had been due to start the race from reverse grid pole, but Pierre Gasly’s exclusion from Saturday’s results meant that the Briton dropped to second behind Antonio Giovinazzi.

Lynn recovered his lead quickly at the start as Giovinazzi bogged down, pulling ahead with compatriot Oliver Rowland in tow at the front.

Rowland was unable to keep up with Lynn as the race wore on, causing him to drop back towards the recovering Giovinazzi, who needed to make progress after also being hit with a time penalty for forcing Arthur Pic off-track at the start. An attempt at Turn 5 resulted in contact, leaving Giovinazzi in the gravel and out of the race.

Rowland continued to come under pressure from the chasing pack, with Saturday winner Sergey Sirotkin managing to slip through into second place before the Briton also dropped behind Pic and Luca Ghiotto in the closing stages.

Up front, Lynn managed to remain calm before crossing the line three seconds clear of Sirotkin to pick up his second win of the season.

Second place saw Sirotkin take the lead of the championship after erstwhile leader Gasly finished the race sixth, salvaging some points from the weekend after being disqualified on Saturday when his fire extinguisher emptied during the race.

Pic completed the podium for Rapax ahead of Ghiotto, Rowland and Gasly, while Raffaele Marciello and Gustav Malja completed the top eight, all of whom were covered by just 10 seconds.

GP2 now embarks on a one-month break before returning at the Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps in support of the Belgian Grand Prix.

Toyota No. 8 car wins the 24 Hours of Le Mans for third consecutive year

24 Hours of Le Mans

LE MANS, France — Toyota Gazoo’s No. 8 car comfortably won the 24 Hours of Le Mans by five laps Sunday to secure a third straight victory in the prestigious endurance race.

It was also a third consecutive win for Swiss driver Sebastien Buemi and Japan’s Kazuki Nakajima driving. Brendon Hartley was the other driver, having replaced two-time Formula One champion Fernando Alonso.

Buemi and Hartley sat on the side of the car as Nakajima drove toward the podium. Hartley won for a second time after tasting success with the Porsche LMP Team in 2017 before an unhappy season in Formula One.

The Swiss team’s Rebellion No. 1 featured American driver Gustavo Menezes and Brazilian Bruno Senna – the nephew of late F1 great Ayrton Senna.

It finished one lap ahead of Toyota Gazoo’s No. 7, with Rebellion’s No. 3 finishing in fourth place.

For much of the race it looked like Toyota’s No. 7 would win after leading comfortably from pole position. But late into the night the car encountered an engine problem and the 30-minute stop in the stands proved costly.

The race was first held in 1923. A total of 252,500 spectators attended in 2019, but there were none this year when the race started three months late because of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.

“We miss the fans,” New Zealander Hartley said. “I look forward to seeing all the fans again.”

In other divisions:

United Autosports won the LMP2 division with the entry of Filipe Albuquerque, Paul Di Resta and Phil Hanson.

–In LMGTE Pro, the victory was claimed by Aston Martin Vantage AMR of Maxime Martin, Alex Lynn and Harry Tincknell (who drives for Mazda in the DPi division of IMSA).

–TF Sport won the LMGTE Am class.

The Toyota No. 7 took pole after former F1 driver Kamui Kobayashi narrowly edged out the Rebellion No. 1 team in qualifying.

In damp and humid conditions Mike Conway got away cleanly from the start, while Senna held off Buemi.

After nearly seven hours, Toyota’s No. 8 fell back after a 10-minute stop in the stands to fix a brake-cooling problem on Kazuki Nakajima’s car. Rebellion’s No. 1, driven by Frenchman Norman Nato, took advantage to move into second place behind Toyota’s No. 7.

Then came the decisive moment at 2:40 a.m. as the No. 7 – also featuring Argentine Jose Maria Lopez – encountered a turbo problem. When the car came back out it was back in fourth.

“We had a few problems early in the race,” Nakajima said. “Later they had a bigger issue than us.”

Rebellion’s No. 1 encountered a problem on the hood at around 9 a.m. and the change took six minutes, allowing the Rebellion No. 3 (Nathanael Berthon-Louis Deletraz-Romain Dumas) to close the gap.

It was becoming a tight battle between the two Rebellion cars behind Toyota’s No. 8.

At 12 p.m. Rebellion No. 3 with Dumas behind the wheel was only one second ahead of No. 1 driven by Menezes. Then both cars came in for a driver change with Deletraz swapping for Dumas on a lengthy stop, and Nato for Menezes as Rebellion No. 1 suddenly moved ahead of its team rival.

Dumas, a winner in 2016 with Porsche, appeared unhappy at the strategy decision to bring his car in first and the length of the stop. There were tense explanations in the team garage.

Colombian Tatiana Calderon, an F1 test driver with Alfa Romeo, was in the Richard Mille Racing Team in the LMP2 category. She was joined by German Sophia Florsch – an F3 driver – and Dutchwoman Beitske Visser. They placed ninth out of 24 in their category.