Getty Images

F1 Paddock Pass: German Grand Prix post-race (VIDEO)

Leave a comment

Following Sunday’s German Grand Prix – Lewis Hamilton’s fourth successive race win to cap off the month of July – our NBCSN team of Will Buxton and Jason Swales are back with the latest new episode of the NBC Sports Group original digital series, Paddock Pass.

As per usual the show is in two parts to digest.

In part one, Buxton checks in with the podium finishers – race winner Hamilton of Mercedes AMG Petronas and then the Red Bull Racing duo of Daniel Ricciardo and Max Verstappen.

In part two, Buxton speaks with Ferrari drivers Kimi Raikkonen and Sebastian Vettel on their recent struggles. Meanwhile Jenson Button of McLaren talks about the progress made by his team this year.

F1 is now on the summer break until the Belgian Grand Prix at the end of the month of August.

Follow @TonyDiZinno

Conor Daly honors friend killed Saturday amid Indianapolis unrest

Chris Graythen/Getty Images
Leave a comment

IndyCar driver Conor Daly posted a poignant tribute to Chris Beaty, a former Indiana University football player and Indianapolis business owner who was killed Saturday amid protests and rioting in the city.

Daly said he got to know Beaty, who owned an event and marketing promotions company, five years ago when he was organizing Indianapolis 500 afterparties.

Daly annually had been involved in Beaty’s parties since then and said Beaty helped get him home earlier this year when Daly’s blood sugar crashed while at an event.

TAKING A STAND: Lewis Hamilton speaks out on racial strife

“The world lost a tremendous person. RIP Chris Beaty,” wrote Daly, who also tweeted “The violence has to stop.”

According to the Indianapolis Star, Beaty died after suffering multiple gunshot wounds during Saturday night’s unrest in downtown Indianapolis. It’s unclear if the shooting was tied to the protests.

Graham Rahal also posted about his interaction with Beaty.

Daly, Rahal and the rest of the IndyCar Series will return to action Saturday night at Texas Motor Speedway (8 p.m. ET, NBC).