Mahindra, DS Virgin launch fan design competitions ahead of third Formula E season

© Getty Images

Two Formula E teams have launched competitions that will see fan designs be part of their entries for the electric racing series’ third season.

Mahindra Racing and DS Virgin Racing both announced initiatives this week that give budding designers the chance to get their work on the grid.

Mahindra previously welcomed fan designs for a street circuit in New Delhi before submitting a selection to the FIA as part of an evaluation for an ePrix.

Now, fans have the opportunity to design the livery for the M3Electro car that Mahindra will race with in season three in collaboration with renowned Italian design house Pininfarina.

Fans can download the kit to design the livery from Mahindra’s Facebook page, with entries being reviewed by Pininfarina’s automotive team.

The designer of the winning livery will get the honor of seeing their work grace Mahindra’s car from Hong Kong to New York, as well as receiving a trip to the Pininfarina headquarters in Italy.

“We want to help Mahindra Racing fans from all over the world to feel part of the team,” Mahindra team principal Dilbagh Gill said.

“It is not just our immediate team that has ingenuity, passion and relentless drive when it comes to our motorsport activities, Mahindra fans have it in plentiful supply as well.

“I am pleased to be able to partner with Pininfarina to offer such an exciting, once-in-a-lifetime prize for this competition.”

For more information on Mahindra’s ‘Driven by Design’ competition, click here.

DS Virgin’s competition offers fans the opportunity to design part of three-time ePrix winner Sam Bird’s helmet for the forthcoming season.

Bird has established himself as one of Formula E’s leading drivers over the past two seasons, leading DS Virgin’s charge across season two, and will pick his favorite design.

“This is a really exciting opportunity for fans of the sport,” Bird said.

“It’s great that I am able to connect with the fans in more ways. I can’t wait to see what everyone comes up with.”

Fans can submit their designs on social media using the hashtag #HelmetDIY or via email, with more details being found here.

The third Formula E season kicks off in Hong Kong on October 9, with pre-season testing starting at the end of August.

NEOM McLaren Formula E announces Jake Hughes will join Rene Rast for 2023 season

McLaren Formula E Hughes
McLaren Racing

Doubling down on their commitment to electric auto sports, McLaren Racing announced Jake Hughes will join Rene Rast to compete in the 2023 Formula E Series (FE), which completes their driver lineup.

The NEOM McLaren FE team was formed by the acquisition of the Mercedes-EQ Formula E team that won the 2021 and 2022 championships with Stoffel Vandoorne and Nyck de Vries behind the wheel.

“Today’s announcement feels like a long time coming,” said Ian James, managing director of NEOM McLaren Electric Racing in a release. “Since May this year, when we first announced McLaren Racing’s entry into Formula E, we have been working tirelessly to get in place the best possible team and structure for sustainable success.

“On the one hand, we have been working on the retention of the amazing talent that already was in place before going into the transitional phase. I’m proud to say I think we’ve done a great job on that front.

“On the other hand, we have been focusing on putting in place new processes and new talent – and the latter includes the drivers.”

The driver lineup clasps the two hands together.

Hughes brings 10 years racing experience in single seater cars, including a role with the acquired Mercedes-EQ team as a reserve and development driver for the past two seasons. He is the 2013 BRDC Formula 4 champion and has multiple wins in Formula 2, including two in 2020.

Announced in August, Rast joins the team after earning two podium finishes and six top-fives in 22 career Formula E starts for Audi Sport ABT before returning to the DTM Series last year. Rast’s best finish in Formula E came in the Puebla E Prix when he finished second to teammate Lucas di Grassi by less than a half second.

McLaren’s commitment to Formula E comes one year after they entered the Extreme E rally series in 2022 with Tanner Foust and Emma Gilmour in the driver lineup. After a modest start to the season, the McLaren XE drivers crossed the finish line first in Round 4 in Chile, but were assessed a time penalty that dropped them to fifth. Last week in the season finale in Uruguay, they held onto a hard-earned second place finish.