PWC: Heitkotter, Nissan’s sweep leads winners in Utah

Photos: PWC

One of the stories going into the weekend for Pirelli World Challenge at Utah Motorsports Campus was the looming suspension of Always Evolving Nissan GT-R NISMO GT3 driver James Davison for one race, following an on-track incident at Mid-Ohio.

In truth, the Mid-Ohio incident with Colin Thompson was not Davison’s most egregious mistake this year – far from it – but the decision by WC Vision officials to enforce a suspension was much a legacy act as anything else stemming from other incidents occurring earlier this season.

Luckily for both Always Evolving and Nissan, coming out of the weekend at Utah the story and headlines were much happier as past Nissan GT Academy winner Bryan Heitkotter completed a weekend sweep at the track formerly known as Miller Motorsports Park.

Heitkotter's Double UtahHeitkotter, driving the N0. 05 Nissan GT-R NISMO GT3, took command in both races of the weekend en route to his first two overall wins in the series. Heitkotter won several GTA category races in 2015 before being promoted into the GT class.

He seized the momentum on Saturday following a clash between Alvaro Parente (K-PAX Racing McLaren 650S GT3) and Michael Cooper (Cadillac Racing Cadillac ATS-V.R), with Parente knocked out of the race and the Portuguese driver taking a significant hit in the championship.

Sunday’s win was far more straightforward, as Heitkotter got the launch around polesitter Michael Lewis in the Calvert Dynamics Porsche 911 GT3 R and never looking back from there.

Heitkotter’s weekend sweep is the fifth of the year for a GT driver in World Challenge in nine race weekends (17 races) this year. Others were turned in by Lewis, then of EFFORT Racing, at St. Petersburg, Patrick Long (Wright Motorsports Porsche) at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park, Parente in Lime Rock Park and Ryan Eversley (RealTime Racing Acura) at Road America.

“This weekend is what I’ve dreamed for my whole life,” said the 35-year-old native of Fresno, Calif. “Since I was a little kid I always dreamed of being a racing driver and winning races. It took a while but here I am now and I’m racing with some of the best in the world. It’s a world class racing series with a lot of top teams and drivers, so to be up front in both races, get P1 and close the deal, two in a row – it feels really good.”

Heitkotter beat Adderly Fong (Bentley Team Absolute Bentley Continental GT3) and Long for the podium in both races; the Hong Kong driver secured his third and fourth podium finishes this season, while Long has now moved into the points lead over Parente with just three races remaining this season.

Of note, Parente only finished 11th in the second race at Utah – progress stalled out after gaining six spots in the opening lap. Craig Dolby, who filled in for Davison in the No. 33 Nissan, finished 10th and eighth, respectively.


Frankie Montecalvo (DIME Racing Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG GT3) and Martin Fuentes (Scuderia Corsa Ferrari 458 Italia GT3) split the GTA class wins, Fuentes setting a class win record with his ninth of the season but first since Lime Rock in May after winning the first seven in a row to open the year.

Sloan Urry and Alec Udell meanwhile split the GT Cup class wins, with Udell delivering an impressive pass in the second race of the weekend to pass erstwhile leader McKay Snow, who had an impressive debut weekend in the series.

Anthony Mantella scored his first professional win in the first of two GTS races in his Mantella Autosport KTM X-BOW GT4, with Scott Heckert adding another win for a new GT4 car in the Racers Edge Motorsports SIN R1 GT4 in the second GTS race. This was Heckert’s first win.

Calvert Dynamics won both of the SprintX races with Preston Calvert and Michael Lewis, a feat made more remarkable following the team’s primary car for SprintX sustaining a fire earlier in the weekend. Lewis’ Sprint car was pressed into action and courtesy of a last-lap pass in the first 60-minute race Saturday, the pair had their first win together. Calvert then finished the second race. TRG-AMR won GTS in both SprintX races, splitting the wins between Derek DeBoer/Jason Alexandridis (Saturday) and Max Riddle/Kris Wilson (Sunday).

The Touring Car classes also had their latest pair of races. Adam Poland (Mazda, TC), Jason Wolfe (Kia, TCA) and Tom O’Gorman (Honda, TCB) won the first race with John Weisberg (Mazda, TC), Wolfe (TCA) and O’Gorman (TCB) winning the second race.

The GT and GTS classes resume at Sonoma Raceway with the Verizon IndyCar Series season finale in September, while the TC classes are off until the overall Pirelli World Challenge season finale weekend at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca in October.

Three-time W Series champ Jamie Chadwick joining Andretti in Indy NXT Series for 2023


Jamie Chadwick, the three-time W Series champion, will drive for Andretti Autosport in the Indy NXT Series next season.

Chadwick will make her debut in an American racing series in March, driving the No. 28 for Andretti Autosport with sponsorship from DHL. The 24-year-old will become the first female driver in 13 years to compete full time in the Indy NXT championship.

Chadwick joined the female free-to-enter W Series in its inaugural 2019 season, winning two races and the first of three consecutive championships. She has been a reserve driver for the Williams Formula One team and will continue in that role in 2023. She also has driven in the Extreme E Series.

Despite her success, Chadwick hasn’t landed a bigger ride in F3 or F2, and her break didn’t come until Michael Andretti contacted her and offered a test in an Indy NXT car.

The final three races of this year’s W Series schedule were canceled when funding fell through, but Chadwick still believes the all-female series was the right path for her.

“W Series has always been and will continue to be an opportunity to be racing for every female driver, so for my side, I looked at it while perhaps I would have liked to step up maybe earlier, at the same time being able to have that chance to race, get that experience, have that development, seat time… I was constantly learning,” Chadwick told The Associated Press.

“In that sense, I wasn’t frustrated at all. But on the flip side of it, now I’ve had that experience testing in the United States in Indy NXT and this is something I’m really excited about.”

Chadwick also is expected to have an enhanced role as a development driver next season with Williams, which chose American driver Logan Sargeant to fill its open seat on next year’s F1 grid.

“Andretti Autosport is proud to be supporting Jamie alongside DHL,” said Michael Andretti. “Jamie’s successful career speaks for itself, but Indy NXT gives Jamie the opportunity to continue her development in a new type of racing.

“We’ve turned out five Indy NXT champions over the years and look forward to continuing our role in developing new talent.”

Indy NXT is the new name of the rebranded Indy Lights Series, the final step on the ladder system before IndyCar.

Andretti will field two drivers next season in IndyCar that were developed in Indy NXT: Kyle Kirkwood, the 2021 champion, will return to Andretti after one season in IndyCar driving for A.J. Foyt Racing, and Devlin DeFrancesco is back for a second season.

Chadwick will be teammates in Indy NXT with Hunter McElrea and Louis Foster. She becomes Andretti’s second full-time female driver alongside Catie Munnings, who competes for Andretti United in the Extreme E Series.