Derrick Walker, Lisa Noble both resign from SCCA


Two key individuals within the SCCA have resigned separately in the last two weeks: overall SCCA President/CEO Lisa Noble, and SCCA Pro Racing President Derrick Walker.

Here’s the respective statements.

Noble tendered her resignation with the SCCA Board of Directors announcing the move on August 10. Walker announced his resignation today.

TOPEKA, Kan. (August 10, 2016) – Lisa Noble has resigned as President and CEO of the Sports Car Club of America to pursue other challenges, the SCCA Board of Directors announced today.

Noble had previously served on the Board of Directors, including as Chairman of the Board, for six years before transitioning to the President’s role in October of 2013. An SCCA member since a teenager, Noble will continue to compete in the Club’s road racing and U.S. Majors Tour program in her Formula Vee.

Hired as an agent of change, under Noble’s watch, the SCCA saw a resurgence in membership and launched a series of experiential initiatives to introduce new participants to motorsports, including the Tire Rack Starting Line autocross school and Track Night in America driven by Tire Rack. A rebranding of National road racing, the U.S. Majors Tour, also evolved under her leadership.

“While the Board and I had philosophical differences, I know the Club is now positioned for growth and have confidence that the staff and Board will keep our programs alive and well,” Noble said. “SCCA will forever be a part of my life and I will contribute in every way I can to the success of our Club.”

“We want to sincerely thank Lisa for the time and energy she has put into the SCCA, first as a member, and then with the Board of Directors, and finally piloting the staff as President,” John Walsh, Chairman of the SCCA Board of Directors, said. “We look forward to seeing her at the race track again as a friend, Club member and competitor.”

A nation-wide search for the next SCCA President and CEO will begin immediately. There is no hard deadline set for the hire.

TOPEKA, Kan. (August 17, 2016) – A search is on for a new president at SCCA Pro Racing after Derrick Walker announced his resignation from the Sports Car Club of America’s for-profit subsidiary today. Walker will remain at the helm while a replacement is found.

Walker came on board to pilot the F4 United States Championship powered by Honda through its launch and opening season, in addition to overseeing the sanctioning of Pirelli World Challenge, Trans-Am Series, the Battery Tender Global Mazda MX-5 Cup presented by BFGoodrich Tires, as well as the Atlantic, F2000 and F1600 Championship Series.

“I have enjoyed my time with the SCCA Pro Racing, and in particular the launch of the F4 Championship here in the United States,” Walker said. “After two successful race event weekends, it’s clear that the series has a great deal of potential. As for my future, I fully intend to continue on in racing.”

SCCA Pro Racing is moving rapidly to fill the open president’s position.

Ken Roczen signs with HEP Progressive Ecstar Suzuki for 2023

Roczen Progressive Ecstar Suzuki
Align Media

ANAHEIM, California – Ken Roczen will make the move from HRC Honda to H.E.P. Motorsports with the Progressive Ecstar Suzuki team, ending a long and eventful offseason that saw his split from his longstanding team after he committed to running World Supercross (WSX).

“H.E.P. Motorsports is thrilled to announce that the team has signed Ken Roczen as its premier rider for the 2023 season,” the team announced on Instagram. “Former AMA Motocross champion Roczen will be aboard a Suzuki RM-Z450. Roczen, who won his most recent championship on a Suzuki, will be reunited with the brand and bring his exciting style, determination, and grit back to the RM Army.

“Ken Roczen will compete in the upcoming 2023 Supercross and Motocross Championship series which is set to start on January 7 at Anaheim Stadium in Southern California.”

For Roczen, it is a return to the bike of his youth and on which he had some of his greatest professional success.

“This thing has been going on for weeks and weeks and weeks in the making, but there was so much uncertainty,” Roczen told NBC Sports during Monster Energy Supercross Media Sessions. “It was a very unique situation. I just finally signed two nights ago, so it’s really only legit once the ink hits the paper. It’s been in the works for a long time, but there were just a lot of questions and a lot of input from a lot of other teams too.

“Good things take time, and I’m okay with that. I grew up riding Suzuki. Ot’s like a homecoming. It’s a special feeling”

Roczen won the 2016 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship on a Suzuki before making the move to Honda. That year he won nine of 12 Nationals and finished no worse than second as he easily outpaced Eli Tomac by 86 points. He finished third in his next Pro Motocross outing in 2018 after sitting out the outdoor season in 2017.

“I am beyond excited to reconnect with Suzuki for the 3rd time in my career. We’ve had a lot of success in the past and I’m looking forward to seeing what we can accomplish together in our future.” Roczen said in the Instagram post.