Brad Keselowski glad Helio Castroneves is ok after scary pit road crash


Shortly after Team Penske teammate Helio Castroneves was involved in a scary crash on pit road in Monday’s ABC Supply 500 Verizon IndyCar Series race at Pocono Raceway, NASCAR Sprint Cup driver Brad Keselowski took to Twitter.

Not only did Keselowski express gratitude that his friend and teammate was okay, Keselowski tweeted “Halos please” — a reference that essentially urged IndyCar to require halo devices that surround the driver cockpit, similar to those that were tested earlier this year in Formula One. Halo devices are among safety additions that IndyCar officials have considered since the tragic death of driver Justin Wilson a year ago at Pocono.

The accident on Lap 64 occurred when Indianapolis 500 winner Alexander Rossi and his No. 98 Castrol Edge/Curb Honda pulled out of his pit box, was released into the “slow lane” Inside lane) and made contact with Charlie Kimball, who was slowing to take his No. 83 Tresiba Chevrolet from the “fast lane” (outside lane) into his pit stall.

The impact sent Rossi’s car airborne, sailing on top and over Castroneves’ in his No. 3 Hitachi Team Penske Chevrolet before returning to the racing surface on the other side of Castroneves’ car. Tire marks from Rossi’s car on the top and side of Castroneves’ cockpit were clearly visible when shown after the incident on NBCSN.

“Very glad that nobody got hurt,” Castroneves said. “It’s just a shame. The Hitachi Chevy was really having a good day and we just had another good pit stop when I was coming out of the pits. All of a sudden there was a car on top of me. It was a little strange to be honest.

“It’s certainly unfortunate because this will hurt us in the championship battle but our team will never give up. We’ll move on to Texas where, fortunately, we’ve had a lot of success.”

Castroneves said Rossi’s car struck his hand as it sailed over the cockpit, but that he was alright. A few hours after the race, Castroneves also took to social media to further assure his fans he was fine.

View this post on Instagram

Thanks everyone, let's go to Texas!!

A post shared by Helio Castroneves (@heliocastroneves) on

Follow @JerryBonkowski


X44 Racing win 2022 Extreme E championship as Abt Cupra score first race victory

2022 Extreme E Uruguay
Extreme E

Abt Cupra Racing’s Nasser Al-Attiyah and Klara Andersson scored their first win in the Extreme E Energy X Prix in the 2022 finale in Uruguay as Lewis Hamilton’s X44 Vida Carbon Racing drivers Sebastien Loeb and Cristina Gutierrez survived a chaotic finale to edge the 2021 champion Rosberg X Prix team of Johan Kristoffersson and Mikhaela Ahlin-Kottulinsky, by two points.

“There are so many emotions,” Andersson said in Extreme E’s coverage. “I’ve been waiting for this for so long. In my second race, first full weekend to be at the top of the podium: it’s big.”

Andersson was behind the wheel at the finish.

Rosberg Racing entered the event with a 17-point advantage over X44, but the standings were close enough that four teams remained in contention in Round 5.

“It’s a crucial weekend for us,” Loeb said in Extreme E’s coverage prior to the race. “We are not in the best position to win the championship, but the only thing we can do is try to win the race and score as many points as possible.”

The top two title contenders each crashed in qualification and were relegated to the Crazy Race, Extreme E’s version of the Last Chance Qualifier (LCQ). For the moment, they had the steepest hill to climb, but then the other two championship contending teams, Chip Ganassi Racing and Acciona Sainz Racing failed to advance from their heats.

Only one team advances from the Crazy Race, so the X44 drivers were in a must-win situation to simply keep hope alive.

More: Extreme E 2023 schedule

Ahlin-Kottulinsky and Gutierrez ran wheel to wheel into the first turn at the start of the LCQ.

The Rosberg racer experienced crash damage in that turn that damaged her front steering, but managed to limp back to the pits at the end of her two-lap stint. The team attempted to fix the steering, but incurred a penalty for having too many mechanics in the pit area.

Meanwhile, Gutierrez took the early lead, but knew she would need to sit through a five-second penalty for an incident earlier in the weekend. The female half of the gender equal pair erased the penalty by entering the Switch Zone with a five-second lead before turning the car over to Loeb.

That was all the nine-time World Rally Championship titlist needed to give him the advantage needed to win the Crazy Race.

But the championship was not over yet. X44 Racing needed to finish third or better in the five-car finale to earn enough points for the title and after advancing from the LCQ, they were forced to take the worst grid position.

A chaotic start to the Finale saw Loeb run as high the lead and low as fourth after getting pushed off course during his first lap. And that is how he entered to Switch Zone.

On her first lap, Gutierrez slammed into Molly Taylor. With one lap remaining, X44 and Gutierrez were still in fourth and the title hope was quickly evaporating, but it was announced halfway through the lap that the third-running Andretti United team would suffer a penalty for a Switch Zone infraction. The seven-second deduction for Timmy Hansen braking too late in the zone made the difference in the title.

Coming off a disappointing Copper X Prix when Tanner Foust and Emma Gilmour crossed under the checkers first, but were relegated to fifth by penalty, the McLaren pair scored their first podium of the season in second.