Photo: IndyCar

Dixon, Power trade surreally fast times at Watkins Glen

Leave a comment

WATKINS GLEN, N.Y. – Scott Dixon led nearly all of the two-hour second Verizon IndyCar Series practice of the weekend at Watkins Glen International, until the final 10 minutes, when Will Power supplanted him.

But Dixon provided the final act to end on top for the last track action of the day for the IndyCar Grand Prix at The Glen.

Power, in the No. 12 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet, uncorked a 1:23.0717 lap at the 3.37-mile road course, which equates to an average speed of 146.043 mph.

That stood on top before Dixon supplanted it in the No. 9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet, at 1:22.8740, and an average speed of 146.391 mph.

Helio Castroneves popped up to second at the end of the session in the No. 3 Hitachi Team Penske Chevrolet at 1:23.0327 (146.111 mph). Power was third, with Tony Kanaan and Juan Pablo Montoya completing an all-Chevrolet top-five. Jack Hawksworth was best Honda in the No. 41 ABC Supply Co. Honda in sixth.

Separate incidents for Simon Pagenaud at Turn 7 and Kanaan at Turn 6 occurred at the end of the session.

Pagenaud appeared to overcorrect at the uphill, right-hand Turn 7 – a.k.a. the “Toe of the Boot” – and hit the barriers in his No. 22 Hewlett Packard Enterprise Chevrolet for Team Penske. There appeared to be a bit of damage to the left side of the car.

Kanaan, meanwhile, had a lazy spin in the No. 10 NTT Data Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet exiting Turn 6. His car was unharmed.

Times are below. Third practice follows Saturday morning from 11 to 11:45 a.m.


IndyCar at IMS Friday: How to watch, start times, live streaming info

IndyCar Indianapolis start times
Jamie Squire/Getty Images
Leave a comment

With three races remaining in the NTT IndyCar Series season, Scott Dixon has a commanding lead and history on his side entering Friday’s opener of the Harvest GP at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

The five-time series champion leads defending champ Josef Newgarden by 72 points.

Since 2014, the points leader with three races left has won the championship in five of the past six years, including Dixon in ’18.

The Chip Ganassi Racing driver has led the championship standings following every round after opening 2020 with three consecutive victories. Dixon also led the points by 78 points with three races remaining when he won the title in 2008.

Dixon, Newgarden, Pato O’Ward, Colton Herta, Will Power, Graham Rahal and Takuma Sato are championship eligible.

Anyone outside 108 points of the lead after Indy will be eliminated heading into the Oct. 25 season finale at St. Petersburg, Florida.

Here is the IndyCar Harvest GP at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course schedule for Friday (all times are ET), including details and start times:

Indianapolis Motor Speedway TV schedule for Friday

IndyCar Harvest GP Race 1: 3:30 p.m., USA Network, NBC Sports Gold and streaming on the NBC Sports App and; Leigh Diffey is the lead announcer for IndyCar on NBCSN this weekend with analysts Townsend Bell and Paul Tracy.

IndyCar Harvest GP, Race 1 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway start times, information


GREEN FLAG: 4 p.m.

DISTANCE: The race is 85 laps (207.35 miles) around Indianapolis Motor Speedway’s a 2.439-mile, 14-turn road course in Indianapolis.

TIRE ALLOTMENT: Nine sets primary, five sets alternate (A 10th set of primary tires is available to any car fielding a rookie.) Teams must use one set of primary and one set of alternate tires in the race.

PUSH TO PASS: 200 seconds of total time with a maximum time of 20 seconds per activation.

FORECAST: According to, it’s expected to be 57 degrees with a 0% chance of rain at the green flag.

QUALIFYING: 6:20 p.m. Thursday (NBC Sports Gold)

ENTRY LIST: Click here for the 25 drivers racing this weekend at Indianapolis